We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paranormal activity!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paranormal activity!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you're a film scout looking for the location of your next horror flick then by gollie you've hit the jackpot but if you are a simple holiday maker then trust all the reviews on here regarding its isolation and eeriness, this place is in the middle of nowhere and so far away from any kind of activity that it freaks you out.

No one was in this hotel apart from us, it's quite clear it's not the place to be.

The so called amusement park that is nearby is a 'carnival of rust' so don't let this feature entice you. It's not worth it. The hotel management did at least allow us to cancel and only pay for the nights we stayed but we all had wished we never did in the first place.

Long story short, if you plan on staying in Halong Bay area then a couple days max is all you need, and stay at the Novotel, it's worth the extra cost and it's where we ended up after leaving this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Incrdible-ski_lift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    11
    11
    8
See reviews for
15
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We planned to stay here for 2 nights, we thought there will be a nice beach and a nice island. Unfortunately the weather was bad and the island was pretty empty. Just a couple of tourist, and there is nothing to do on that island. There is an adventure park, the entrance is about 12 usd, but we didn't go there... The hotel itself was nice. It consists of many different villas, spread over the island. The pool is quite small, but ok. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. As the hotel was very empty it seemed very soulless. The breakfast was alright. They had a choice of fresh fruits, cheese, bread, cold cuts, noodles, eggs, sausages, bacon,... A good basic buffet breakfast. The restaurant for dinner is far too expensive, we didn't even tried it... I would never come back, just because it is an artificial island and it has nothing to do with the Vietnamese culture. The hotel is pretty and offers good service, even if it is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Pine Hill Villas are a Few steps and more away from the beach but you have a nice view from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonyma007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for one evening due to our cruise not being able to sail because of a tropical storm. Our travel agent booked us in ... it wasn't through choice!

We found the rooms to be tidy but tired and smelling of damp. Showers were freezing cold. The whole resort was souless and the staff were miserable and pretty unhelpful. The breakfast was dreadful and my fiancé had an awful omelette which made her poorly approx 3 hours after!!!

Do not go there unless absolutely necessary!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Royston1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

rooms were great, very large and clean. staff were nice and helpful. My boyfriend and I were the only guests st the hotel which was a bit strange as its so big. Food was good and well priced. Room service was good.
Pool area and beach nice and clean but we did go in january which is out of season.
We did pre book an airport transfer weeks before and confirmed it just before we left. We were assured someone would be there for the 3 and a half hr joyrney to halong bay from hanoi. but nobody ever came for us. They did not appear bothered when I mentioned this so book your airpoort transfers elsewhere.

Room Tip: top loor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisacorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked an ocean view room via Agoda. At first, when we received our room, we were amazed with the room's size and its beautiful view and landscape. The room has a veranda with a table and chairs which is very nice. Short after that, guests were checked in to the room next door and the disaster began. It was very noisy as it looked like a big family with a couple of young kids. They opened the hotel room's door all time when they were in there and consequently, they stared at us when we were out or back from swimming. The most ridicules thing was that instead of walking on the foot steps outside the room, they freely walked through our room’s veranda, even sat on the chairs to smoke and chat on mobile phones while looking at our room!!!

The beach was very low tide so we couldn’t swim at all, and had to spend time at the pool. Breakfast was full with locals and coffee was terrible. At night, we tried the restaurant, even though food was OK but very pricey. When we checked out, staff asked us to pay extra money for our daughter. We showed them the Agoda hotel voucher stating clearly how the room was booked and paid in full for 2 adults and a child, but they kept saying that the rate was for 2 adults only. We didn’t pay of course, but it was very annoyed.

We won’t come back again for either this hotel or for this island, there is nothing there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vietnam-experience11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viet Nam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Spend your money elsewhere but NOISY, staff were TERRIBLE, Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was an unplanned stay as our cruise on Halong Bay was cancelled due to weather. This hotel is a lovely property with gorgeous gardens, a fabulous view and warm and friendly staff, most of whom speak pretty good English.
The rooms are spacious but musty. AC is good.
Food prices are reasonable but food quality is OK at best. Breakfast is a buffet with most of the food being Asian although there is an egg station and the omellette was pretty good.
The biggest negative is the bed. The mattress is like a boxspring---rather hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tuan Chau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#22 of 61 in Halong Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#9 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.9 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay

Property: Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Address: Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay 84 33, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay is set in a nice natural setting, with a sea view and scenic surrounding. It is the only beachfront resort with private villas on the island. Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay is built on the most beautiful area of the island with a combination of traditional Vietnamese and French architectural design. The resort offers an enchanting view of Halong Bay and you will be assured to enjoy a great holiday, relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuan Chau Island Holiday Villa Halong Bay Hotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing