We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and peaceful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Halong Bay city is small a beautiful town. This tall hotel has beautiful views over the mountain and over the bay. The rooms are huge and spacious and the french windows allowed us to enjoy the beautiful views. The rooms are modern and clean. We enjoyed the spacious clean room.
Unfortunately you could easily tell that there were a lot of bad finishes of poor craftsmanship after decorations. Shower taps were poorly fitted and window sealers was not done properly. Electric sockets were in a user-unfriendly positions. Nevertheless, the management must have known about the issues but it will be challenging for them to rectify the initial badly installations and fittings.
The buffet breakfast is outstanding. There are lots of choices such kimchi, miso soup, vietnamese pho, freshly bake breads, cereals, fresh fruits. They are all good. If you can avoid the peak hour ( before 8 am) in the restaurant, it is very enjoyable experience in a nicely decorated dinning room!
Lifts are very fast. I had to disagree with some previous reviews or the hotel has already rectified the problem.
By and large, it is a beauitful hotel in Halong Bay and about 20 Min. walk to the wharf or VND 22,000 by taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongkamcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear wongkamcheong,

We appreciate your time for giving us your feedback.
So glad you enjoyed our breakfast during your stay. We will continue to make those fresh baked bread coming .
We have listened to our guest feedback and have corrected some of the issues so that we may deliver a better guest experience.
We are continuing to monitor and upgrade our facilities to give the international standard our guest expects from us.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong .

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our room had a fantastic view, even with the fog. It was delightful to enter and feel like you were part of the area. Even though there was construction, It did not bother us, and I am sure once that elevator is finished it will be a definite plus for this hotel. If we weren't so tired, I am sure we would have explored the area, as I heard there were interesting places in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Msmith,

We thank you for taking time in leaving us your feedback.

The views in our rooms are indeed one of the reasons our guest appreciate their stay here at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong . We take great lengths to ensure our ongoing improvement of our facilities would never be a inconvenience to our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong and to enjoy our upgraded facilities in the near future .

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After the 5 hour drive from the airport we were hungry and exhausted. The Royal Lotus was just what the doctor ordered. We dropped our bags in a very large, modern bedroom with floor to ceiling windows and headed off to see Veronica in the Spa. After 60 minutes we were totally refreshed and ready to begin exploring Halong. the front desk ordered a cab and we took a night tour of the city and the Bay. Upon returning we went to the 16 floor bar and had wonderfully prepared drinks and enjoyed the view. Later we went to the Interenational restuarant and had a wonderful meal. When we finally
got to our bedroom we fell asleep on a very comfortable bed. IThe hotel was as quiet as a church.In the morning, as the bathroom was large, it easily accomodated the taking of a shower and a bath. The bathroom as was the room was very spacious. In fact, the bathroom was almost as large as hotel rooms in boutique hotels in Rome. The buffet breakfast was among the best we have enjoyed anywhere in the world. The food, preparation and presentation was exceptional and the staff very attentive. What a wonderful place to stay when visiting Halong. The Royal Lotus is a great value for
the money. I look forward to my next stay as Halong is unbelievably beautiful and requires a second visit.

Room Tip: Upper floors for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Gregg H,

Thank you for taking time for leaving your feedback. We appreciate the fact you enjoyed our facilities and the service our team during your stay.

I will ensure that your comments reach the team.

We hope on your next visit to us that it would be another memorable one.


Sincerely,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Can't fault this hotel, staff were friendly and helped us with any requests. They always had a smile. The room was terrifically spacious, modern and spotless great value for Vietnamese standards. Its large, delightfully furnished and extremely well appointed. The shower & bathroom were fine & the indoor pool looked good. We were so impressed with the breakfast buffet. The selection and quality of the food was good. While many people opt to stay on a boat during their stay at Halong bay, we were happy to be in this hotel. We were surprised at the overall quality of the hotel. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher flr for a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marivic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear marivic D,

It was such a pleasure welcoming you and your group. Your positive comments make us here at Royal Lotus Halong Hotel look forward to welcoming our guest with a warm smile and gracious hospitality.
We hope your journey onward was as pleasant as your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

At first glance this hotel looks fairly new and very modern. I was given a very large suite with a living room seating area and lots of storage, but the room could have been much cleaner and everything was not in good repair. I had dinner in the 4th floor restaurant with two other people and we all thought the food was ok, but not great.

My room had free WIFI and a safe, and it was quiet at night and had a good mattress. The hotel was fairly full when I was there and the wait time for the elevator was terribly long. They had construction going during the day while they added another elevator. Hopefully, the new elevator will be in by the time you arrive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westgalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Westgalady

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us.
We also look forward to our new lift that will offer great views to its passengers aside from improving our guest comfort in going to our rooms. Our team will assess our facilities to ensure that your feedback is taken cared off.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong.

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

An unplanned stay due to bad weather on Halong bay. We got a suite room which was bare and sparse, nice view and bathroom unfinished. Rooms were not sound proofed. Elevator took forever however they are in the process if adding a third, which created a cold draft throughout the building.
On the plus side, the staff were nice and menu needs some work. we had a good chat to the manager when checking out who was very interested in our feedback, so here's hoping it may improve!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nate_perth_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Nate Perth,

It was a pleasure talking to you. We appreciate your feedback.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Rest assured that the team is working hard to address these concerns so that we may deliver exceptional service and international standard facilities to our guest.

We are indeed building a new elevator that will offer a panoramic ride; this is a part of upgrading the property in order to improve guest experience. Likewise your other comments are being address such as adding more items to our menu selection.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong.

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were at Royal Lotus as part of a tour group in September 2013. Check in was fairly quick and painless. Rooms and bathrooms are extremely spacious and views are spectacular. We found the beds very comfortable but quite firm. The closets had full length mirrors and plenty of room for handling clothes.
I tried the spa at night for a 'tranquility massage' (spa is open until 11pm) but it was more like a deep tissue massage. I had to ask the lady a few times to be more gentle but I'm pretty sure I still had bruises by the end. At one point during the massage, another spa staff member (lady) had entered the room and kept the door open while speaking with my masseuse. That generally doesn't happen in western spas so I found it a bit odd. Otherwise, the spa was gorgeous.
The rooftop patio/bar was fabulous with awesome views and gentle breezes. The staff was friendly and the drinks were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Creemore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
884 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#29 of 71 in Halong Bay
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#4 of 71 in Halong Bay
163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#5 of 71 in Halong Bay
291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#5 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lotus Hotel Halong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lotus Hotel Halong

Address: A 13, Block1, East of Hung Thang 2, | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay 80175, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: £33 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Lotus Hotel Halong 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong offers a touch of Vietnamese hospitality where the cozy of Halong meets the sunrise with the panoramic bay vista and calming sea breeze makes your holiday experience a glorious one. 147 Rooms with international standard of room amenities and facilities. Experience yourself with local and international cuisine at Lotus Wine Dine or Japanese one at Hana Hana Japanese Restaurant. Relax at swimming pool to enjoy the view of Halong Bay or visit Bai Bua Thai Spa for beauty and health treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lotus Hotel Halong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing