We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, good service, but not sure I'd stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, good service, but not sure I'd stay again”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here due to a mixup with an original booking at another hotel in Halong Bay. The rooms were huge and the bed was comfortable, but the room stank of cigarettes, which was very offputting. I understand that it's a norm for people to smoke inside, but it's unpleasant for non-smokers who are used to smoke-free rooms. The hotel itself was huge, and they have a number of restaurants, but when I wandered down for dinner, I was ushered away from one, and ignored in the other, which put an awkward mark on their service. It seemed like it was good for families, since there were kids running around everywhere, and a good pool. The breakfast was great - a large buffet selection, and a number of things made to order.
It was a decent hotel, but I'm not so sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Janine C,

We truly thank you for taking the opportunity in sharing your recent stay at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong. .

Your positive comments on our facilities and services is appreciated.

Likewise comments on the areas we need to improve , We have taken note and shall find out ways to improved them .


We hope you can see the improvements we have done on your next stay with us at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong so we can give you a better impression of us.


Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    99
    43
    18
    6
See reviews for
52
97
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I was there for few days of my business trip. The hotel is very nice and modern. However, wifi is unable to connect and sometimes it is not stable, always on and off. I will recommend this hotel for others who loves hotel with modern style and and need high quality of service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMelTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear MelMelTran,

We truly appreciate your time sharing your experience at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong as your preferred accommodation during your business trip. .

I have taken note of your concern in regards to our complimentary internet connection and will discuss with my technical team , Rest assured we will ensure a stable and fast access to all our guest.

My team will be delighted to hear about the positive comments regrading the hotel and it's service. Such comments bring smiles to us.

We look forward to giving you the warm hospitality again on your return to Royal Lotus Hotel Halong.


Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courgevaux
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very large, nice hotel, staff friendly, rooms super and spacious, top view. The only thing who bothered me and my wife: we felt absolutely alone in this vast hotel. We eat there because you have no other choice (other restaurants fairly far away). The restaurant was top, our meal was very good but we were absolutely alone.
I don't know if we were really out of season but it's strange to feel alone in a such big place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear anliker,

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your experience at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, we appreciate your taking time.

We are glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and everything was to your satisfaction.
April has been known to be a slow period for most of the hotels in our area and it’s was just a coincidence that during your stay we were not as busy as the previous days before.

Compared to Hanoi or HCMC, The area where the hotel is maybe sparse, however we believe it to be a refreshing change from the other destinations. We are located in area that is walking distance to Halong Bay boat docks ,to the Night Market area , and just across to a world class cinema.

We hope that you could be back to rediscover Royal Lotus Hotel Halong and its surrounding areas.

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel with Gate 1 tour group. The hotel is new and clean, but far removed from the town itself (close to boat dock however). There is much new development around the hotel area - in five years it will be booming with plenty of choice. Breakfast buffet was typical business style hotel (Asian and western choices). Good wifi in room and very, very spacious rooms. Only curiosity was a window in the shower that faced out into room - with mini blinds on inside of shower (so the blinds got quite wet). Only wished the weather had cooperated for the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the water - if the weather is good you'll have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear oregongirl2005

We appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experience with us.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you for highlighting, that we are nearby the pier where majority of the cruise depart from and that our breakfast selection, room and complementary Wi-Fi was to your expectation.
We hope to see you again in our hotel soon.

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our recent stay at the Royal Lotus Hotel in Halong was enjoyable and comfortable. Check in and check out was super efficient, staff are very pleasant and professional, although some have limited English. The manager is hands on, very personable and genuinely interested in his guests. Rooms were comfortable with beds especially lovely. We ate at the Japanese restaurant which was adequate but nothing special, bar staff need some more practice on how yo make a good gin and tonic. With the elevated price of this drink in the restaurant, one would expect the drink to taste like it had gin in it and to at least be a full glass not just over half full. Breakfast however was excellent with a huge choice. The swimming pool is beautiful, clean and huge but so cold. I would suspect limited use of the pool due to the cold temperature which makes it such a waste having the facility there. Also you have to walk through the foyer to get to the lift that services the pool area, not a good look for the other guests as you walk through in wet bathers. Unfortunately not a convenient location for restaurants and night life but very close to boat departure site.

Room Tip: Initially disappointed that we did not have rooms on the Halong bay side but as it turned out the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Nunngo,

Thank you for time for sharing your experience with us.

To hear that you enjoyed your stay with us is very much appreciated by your Royal Lotus Hotel Halong Team.
It was my pleasure to had the opportunity to have talked to you and your families during your stay at our property.

That the room and its view was up to your discerning taste, we are happy to hear that too.
We have diligently noted your concerns from your ordered beverage, dining experience and our facilities. Rest assured we are creating ways to ensure your next stay with us would be even memorable.

Our new additional panoramic elevator will be opening soon and will give our guest a beautiful view of city. Likewise our upgraded Roof top bar shall be ready in the near future to offer a unique dining &lounge experience to our guest.

We hope to see you back soon to our hotel.


Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I can't tell you anything about the hotel because I din't stay here but I used the spa facilities a couple of times during my stay in Halong and it's one of the best I've experienced so far.
While sipping a cup of fresh gingertea you can choose on of the treatments from their menu. They offer hot oil, feet, thai, herbal and many other types of massages and all that I've tried were good! The ladies really know what they are doing and even speak some english so you can easily explain your wishes.

Really reccomended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 915Alexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear 915Alexo,

Greetings from Halong Bay.

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your experience at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong.
Our spa team is delighted to know that we have been a memorable part of your holidays.

Hopefully your positive experience would bring you to stay with us next time you find yourself in Halong.

Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was by far the best hotel we stayed throughout our tour in Vietnam. Room was modern and spacious and WiFi worked perfect. Everything looked new and clean and huge. The King size bed and pillows were super comfortable. It was foggy when we arrived. We assumed the view from the window must be superb if it is clear. The international restaurant in the hotel has very good food and the service was excellent and quick to response to any inquires. The buffet breakfast had lots of varieties to satisfy all nationalities. Although it was a little crowded as there were so many tourists stayed in the hotel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stayed here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Lotus GM H, General Manager at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear AlKo33

Your feedback on your recent stay at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong is valued by us.
The team appreciates the fact that your stay was everything you have expected in an international 4 star hotel.
Your positive comments will continue to inspire our team to deliver a beyond the expected service and facilities to our guest.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Cordially,
Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 64 in Halong Bay
818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#23 of 64 in Halong Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#2 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
51 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lotus Hotel Halong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lotus Hotel Halong

Property: Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Address: A 13, Block1, East of Hung Thang 2, | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay 80175, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Lotus Hotel Halong 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong offers a touch of Vietnamese hospitality where the cozy of Halong meets the sunrise with the panoramic bay vista and calming sea breeze makes your holiday experience a glorious one. 147 Rooms with international standard of room amenities and facilities. Experience yourself with local and international cuisine at Lotus Wine Dine or Japanese one at Hana Hana Japanese Restaurant. Relax at swimming pool to enjoy the view of Halong Bay or visit Bai Bua Thai Spa for beauty and health treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lotus Hotel Halong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing