We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not much around it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ha Long DC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ha Long DC Hotel
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not much around it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We got a super deal on this hotel and after a bit of research decided to give it a go. The hotel is very clean and comfortable but situated in an area with not much going on. We were prepared for this though and had a great stay there.

Positives - lovely room, well kept so everything worked. Great views of the bay, spacious bathroom, plenty of space in the cheapest rooms, slippers and gowns provided, fridge, safe, decent TV, hairdryers, toiletries.
Breakfast was excellent - full range of Asian food, bread, small baguettes, cereals, fruit, juices, cakes, preserves, salads, tea and coffee, plus eggs cooked to your liking.
Friendly and helpful staff. We were given a voucher for a free beer or soft drink on arrival and used this in the bar on the 21st floor.

Negatives - part of our reason for staying here for three nights was so we could just relax and use the gym and pool. But the gym only has four pieces of equipment and each is more of a home gym item rather than a proper fitness centre. For example, there's no markings on the weights so you have no idea what you're lifting. The pool is also tiny and far too cold to use in winter - though it could be nice in hotter weather. It's indoors.
Plus, being Christmas, there was constant poor quality (as in not original artists, bad copies) music playing through the corridors from about 7.00 a.m until about 10.00 p.m and after heading three days' worth of this we were completely over it! Christmas stuff mixed with old stuff.

Location - as stated on other reviews, this hotel is not in the tourist area. But there are cafes all around as long as you're happy with rice or pho. We walked along part of the bay and over the bridge towards Ban Chay, the touristy bit (though we didn't see much there really, we might've not gone far enough). It was pleasant enough to walk round and locals were friendly - if you just want to chill or take some time out in a nice hotel then this one is fine. We were quite happy to be away from the tourist scene for a while.

Room Tip: The higher the better, rooms are on floors 15-21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hogn Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We rely heavily on the feedbacks on this site and was cursing myself for trusting those who written the below reviews. 5star reviews for a spacious room and all that are total bull, if you build a hotel in the middle of no where of course you have tonnes of space. Every single hotels in ha long is facing the bay so those comments that you can have a great view is just moot point.

They barely speak any English, no sense of services. And there really is nothing nearby so you try to communicate yourself out of the hotel is a challenge. It's far from everywhere else and you also get scammed by taxi drivers. The only restaurant nearby is 20mins walk and the menu has no price on it, good luck arguing once the bill hit your face.

A trip to boat station or the buzz is around 100-120k vnd which is usd5-6, it may seem nothing when you read this but the time you need to find the taxi, to drive you there, to explain where u want to go, to argue you are indeed not heading in the opposite direction, to have them not overcharge you etc...why you want all this stress?

Apart from us only Vietnamese stay here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 2 nights..the rooms are huge, neat n clean..v had booked 6 rooms and all of them had good views of da bay..2 of da rooms had balconys also..the staffs are very courteous and helpful..breakfast is the regular nothing very special..do visit da bar on da 21st floor good place 4 a drink or 2..there is a drawback 2 this hotel its away from the city which is not even walkable distance..so you hv 2 depend on taxis beware of getting scammed for more money..nobody in the street speaks english..so it will get difficult getting around..all in all its definetly a good stay hotel..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is located in commercial and government office areas, about 15 minutes from tourist area and cruise ports. Location good for business traveller. Can take a morning walk in local area and Halong market or even along the bay. Good bay view.

Strongly recommended to update for Family Suite room, for 200k dong more with one more single bed and extra space. The room is large and spacey (compare with Vietnam standard) and quite typical decoration. Free unlimited wifi with good speed throughout the hotel. The pillow is too flat and I cannot use it. Need to use sofa pillow for my sleep. Breakfast serves until 9am and nothing excellent there.

Overall, the hotel serves it purpose for comfortable stay in good location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Family Suite for just $10 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We ended up spending one night at Halong DC after our cruise got cut short due to bad weather. Location is conveniently nearby the pier and the views were amazing from the 18th floor. Our room was spaceous and comfortable. Overall the hotel was a positive surprise.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as possible for excellent views on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Halong DC Hotel offers a panoramic view of the city and Halong Bay. The rooms are spacious and quiet. Service is good and staff are attentive to your requirements. Other than its location about 5 minutes drive from the cruise jetty area, there is not much shopping and restuarants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankokbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We took the bus from Nanning in China to ha long bay in Vietnam. And our first three nights were at the ha long DC hotel.
Upon arrival we were greeted with super friendly staff who explained all about the hotel, brekki, swimming pool etc. Our bags were then taken up to our room which was the delux double room on the 21st floor.
The room was HUUUUGE Comfy bed, large TV and seating area with an absolutely stunning view overlooking the bay! Can't get much better than that.
Bathroom was lovely too with bath/shower combo. And toiletries were replenished each day.

Cleanliness:overall the room was clean and beautifully made up. However we did find cigarettes and ash in the draw which we found out had been there for a awhile as the guest before us had left a comment on the desk in the room saying he found it in there too from the people before him.
There was also a problem with the water at one point it came out merky when I was running a bath. Both these problems were swiftly rectified when they were made aware and they apologised.

Brekki: great range of western and Vietnamese food. Eggs(cooked fresh for your liking, omelettes,scrambled,fried etc) bacon, sausages, beans, fresh fruit, rice, noodles, cold meat platters and tea and coffees.


Pool:me and my partner seemed to be the only ones to utilise this so it was lovely and peaceful. Water was ever so slightly chilly for my liking but once you got going it was fine.

There is free bike rental for the first four hours so we spent the day cycling along the bay which was beautiful. I reccomend this.

Yes it is out of the tourist area and 3 days is more than enough as apart from the bay there isn't a lot to do, but I prefer these hotels as you get to see a glimpse of the real town. If you walk down to the bay there are plenty of locals in there little rowing boats offering to take you out(note these are not the junk boats just little hand made rowing boats). So don't think you have to go through a tour company to book a day trip out on a boat just go for a walk and they will offer to row you around for awhile

Overall I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others who are looking for luxury and away from tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzyboo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
6.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tuan Chau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#8 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#13 of 61 in Halong Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long DC Hotel

Property: Ha Long DC Hotel
Address: No 08 ,Road 25/4, Hong Gai, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ha Long DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing