We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big nice rooms with a view”
Review of Ha Long DC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ha Long DC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is nicely situated, we'll maintained, friendly people, indoor pool small, fitness close to the bay, breakfast is sufficient till good. Welcome drink on the 21st floor, lots of servants and fast

Room Tip: Big rooms with view, not at halong bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1962Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Definitely worth 4 stars! We had just taken a overnight cruise and decided to stay overnight in Ha Long Bay instead of making the long trek back to Hanoi and we are glad we did as it gave us time to walk around Ha Long city. We booked a Family Suite as there were three of us (a couple, and one single) The Family Suite comprised of a stunning two bedroom apartment with a comfortable lounge area. We were amazed at the space (like a small apartment) with stunning views of the city and Hal Long Bay from all windows in all rooms.
The rooms were all spacious and clean, the bathroom spotless and large. The lounge area had the most comfortable lounge as well.
The reception staff had limited English but nothing we could not get around with the universal hand signals so that they knew what we wanted in the end. The information desk lady spoke very good English though so we had no problems organising transport back to Hanoi the next day. The hotel has a restaurant on the top floor which had panoramic views all around, which was beautiful at night as well.
Would recommend this hotel. Although it was not in the more popular tourist area, it was right in the middle of the bay town where the huge markets are, so we were glad we could just walk outside and be amongst it instead of having to catch a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

When we arrive reception staff treat us well. We get 3 rooms, my room was not ready and after 25 min l get in it smell so much cigaret smell and l need to chance it for les smelly room. Rooms were big and clean, beautiful view to HalonBay. It is big hotel and it has big hotels feeling. Upstairs nice bar and nightclub, good music and live entertainment . Breakfast was good average.

Room Tip: We had all room types, even the standard was ok, ask view to Halong bay, it's just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattitii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

my friends booked this hotel without looking at its location. It is very far from the bus stop, we took a taxi 150 000 VND from the Ha Long bus stop to get to the hotel. In the evening, it is too difficult to find a restaurant nearby. We had to walk 20 mins and saw some hot pot and seafood restaurant without menu. The hotel price is quite expensive, I paid 55 usd for a single room, very small, but the buffet breakfast was quite good and the service is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vuthithuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We got a super deal on this hotel and after a bit of research decided to give it a go. The hotel is very clean and comfortable but situated in an area with not much going on. We were prepared for this though and had a great stay there.

Positives - lovely room, well kept so everything worked. Great views of the bay, spacious bathroom, plenty of space in the cheapest rooms, slippers and gowns provided, fridge, safe, decent TV, hairdryers, toiletries.
Breakfast was excellent - full range of Asian food, bread, small baguettes, cereals, fruit, juices, cakes, preserves, salads, tea and coffee, plus eggs cooked to your liking.
Friendly and helpful staff. We were given a voucher for a free beer or soft drink on arrival and used this in the bar on the 21st floor.

Negatives - part of our reason for staying here for three nights was so we could just relax and use the gym and pool. But the gym only has four pieces of equipment and each is more of a home gym item rather than a proper fitness centre. For example, there's no markings on the weights so you have no idea what you're lifting. The pool is also tiny and far too cold to use in winter - though it could be nice in hotter weather. It's indoors.
Plus, being Christmas, there was constant poor quality (as in not original artists, bad copies) music playing through the corridors from about 7.00 a.m until about 10.00 p.m and after heading three days' worth of this we were completely over it! Christmas stuff mixed with old stuff.

Location - as stated on other reviews, this hotel is not in the tourist area. But there are cafes all around as long as you're happy with rice or pho. We walked along part of the bay and over the bridge towards Ban Chay, the touristy bit (though we didn't see much there really, we might've not gone far enough). It was pleasant enough to walk round and locals were friendly - if you just want to chill or take some time out in a nice hotel then this one is fine. We were quite happy to be away from the tourist scene for a while.

Room Tip: The higher the better, rooms are on floors 15-21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We rely heavily on the feedbacks on this site and was cursing myself for trusting those who written the below reviews. 5star reviews for a spacious room and all that are total bull, if you build a hotel in the middle of no where of course you have tonnes of space. Every single hotels in ha long is facing the bay so those comments that you can have a great view is just moot point.

They barely speak any English, no sense of services. And there really is nothing nearby so you try to communicate yourself out of the hotel is a challenge. It's far from everywhere else and you also get scammed by taxi drivers. The only restaurant nearby is 20mins walk and the menu has no price on it, good luck arguing once the bill hit your face.

A trip to boat station or the buzz is around 100-120k vnd which is usd5-6, it may seem nothing when you read this but the time you need to find the taxi, to drive you there, to explain where u want to go, to argue you are indeed not heading in the opposite direction, to have them not overcharge you etc...why you want all this stress?

Apart from us only Vietnamese stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 2 nights..the rooms are huge, neat n clean..v had booked 6 rooms and all of them had good views of da bay..2 of da rooms had balconys also..the staffs are very courteous and helpful..breakfast is the regular nothing very special..do visit da bar on da 21st floor good place 4 a drink or 2..there is a drawback 2 this hotel its away from the city which is not even walkable distance..so you hv 2 depend on taxis beware of getting scammed for more money..nobody in the street speaks english..so it will get difficult getting around..all in all its definetly a good stay hotel..

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Suraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#7 of 71 in Halong Bay
308 reviews
6.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#6 of 71 in Halong Bay
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#17 of 71 in Halong Bay
59 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#21 of 71 in Halong Bay
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long DC Hotel

Address: No 08 ,Road 25/4, Hong Gai, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: £28 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ha Long DC Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ha Long DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing