We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Amadeus30...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice boat, extremely nice staff. Especially our guide Tien and the Cruise Manager Mr. T were very nice, forthcoming, engaging and funny. Beautiful, elegant meals with generous portions. My wife is a vegetarian and they created vegetarian versions of all the meat dishes served just for her - an extremely considerate and highly appreciated gesture! It was one person's birthday (they noticed it when registering by passport) and they surprised him with a beautiful cake and flowers, which was extremely thoughtful. Cabin was nicer than most hotel rooms we've stayed in. Tastefully decorated with a great bathroom and hot (!) water. Tours were fun. Only about 20 people on board, which made it comfortable enough and allowed you to connect with most people. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel in Hanoi. Halong Bay is stunning and definitely a must when visiting northern Vietnam.

Keep in mind: You do share the area and the tours with lots of other boats and people, so it can be quite crowded at times. Watch out for boat traffic when kayaking! Make sure to bring enough water!The schedule is quite rigid and specific, but it seems like it has to be, so that everything can be fit into the program. Wifi is very slow (but you're on a boat, so it's amazing it even exists). I'd recommend maybe doing a longer tour than just one night, so that you (might) venture out further into the bay (not sure).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Halong Bay
Liked least: Very crowded
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magistros
Glyfada, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“We had a great time with plenty of food”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a great time with plenty of food, there was a problem with WiFi but it was solved after 2 hours. Our guide Mr. Rocky was great offering us plenty information to was we were seeing.

Travelling group: Με φίλους
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyeletBS
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice but too expensive”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The boat is very nice. Rooms are pretty but there is no bathroom door, only a curtain to separate it from the room.
Ask for the rooms on the second floor.
The biggest problem was with the food. They serve a variety but very little food and not tasty. It is not very pleasent to share such a small amount with people you don't know. For example, 1 small fish for 5 people.
In the winter the views are not so good and it's too cold.

Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah A
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of most memorable experiences of a lifetime”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Tonkin Cruises arranged a package for us while in Hanoi :
• Collection from airport and transfer to Hanoi Graceful Hotel for one night 2 Dec
• Collection from hotel and transfer to Halong Bay 3 Dec
• 2 night cruise 3&4 Dec on Marguerite Junk
• Transfer back to Hanoi and two nights at Hanoi Graceful Hotel 5&6 Dec
• Transfer to airport 7 Dec

All transfers were professional – arrived on time, great vehicles, great drivers

Hanoi Graceful Hotel – we were treated like family! We had a truly fantastic 3 nights and can honestly say that during our 5 week trip in Vietnam this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. All the staff were truly welcoming and could not do enough for us. The hotel restaurant is fantastic and we recommend anyone staying at this hotel in Hanoi not bother to go out looking for a restaurant when the chef in the hotel restaurant will make you anything you want even if not on the menu!

As far as the cruise in Halong Bay – impossible to write down into words how incredible this was - without a doubt one of the most memorable experiences of our lives. Our tour-guide Mr. T was awesome! His English was excellent, he was informative and really looked after us and all aboard. His humour and smiling face was great. He is a true asset to Tonkin Cruises. All the staff on the cruise were fantastic, and we were astonished to come back from a day trip to see the staff on deck waving and welcoming us back as if we were missed all day! We would also like to mention the gentleman who did the Thai Chi classes (Mr Van - unfortunately not 100% sure of his name), but he added to making our trip so special. The staff on the day trip were truly fantastic, and the tour guide on board was informative and made our day very special. The food on board - oh my! out of this world! Nothing less than 6 courses, delicious, best in Vietnam! The accommodation was excellent and comfy. Thai Chi on the deck at 6h30 in the morning was mind-blowing - wow! wow! Also wifi on board - who would have thought possible?

We can honestly say that we were very sorry not to have booked a longer cruise – next time we will do at least 5-7 nights and there is no question that we will book it through Tonkin!!!!! Don't waste your time doing a one night cruise - it is a 4 hour bus trip to get there and 4 hours back - stay on board for at least two nights and appreciate the splendour of one of the 6 Wonders of the World.

Thank you so much!!!!!!!! We will back back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The day trip (only applicable if you stay more than 2 nights) to distant coves and bays - canoeing around the shallow water looking a brightly coloured coral.
Liked least: The beach we were taken to on the first day was a little grubby and we would rather have been on board the boat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyma...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Totally inappropriate behavior ruins an otherwise ok experience”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled as part of a tour - not a private charter but this is the only listing I can find for Marguerite Junk.

The boat is fine. The rooms are comfortable for a boat. The food is plentiful and tasty. Pick up and drop off are well managed. Staff a little pushy towards selling the more expensive wine & cocktail options rather than beers.

Ruined by the inappropriate and completely unacceptable behavior of one member of staff who asked me, as I was a man travelling alone, if I wanted 'a princess for the night from Halong City'. I will leave it to your imagination what that really meant and I flatly refused. This offer was made in plain sight and hearing of a number of other crew members including the ship manager.

A few minutes later the same crew member enquired if I was single and then suggested perhaps I would meet a Vietnamese woman to whom I could get married.

Furious does not come close to describing my mood with this experience!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36_WM36
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Cruise for Great Value”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was recommended this boat by our hotel In Hanoi (FINNEGANS). Based on the reviews, we thought it would be a great experience and it was, indeed.

Great service, beautiful cabin and very comfortable.

The food was great too!

There are actually 3 Marguerite boats. We have stayed at Marguerite 2, the smaller one with 9 cabins.

Try to book through your hotel desk, and maybe you can get a better deal.

If you can, ask for a cabin in the second floor, so you be more far from the engines.

Great value for money!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilBeema...
Bellingen, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful, relaxing time”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My wife and I, and my brother enjoyed the one night/two day cruise and would do it again. The staff were friendly and helpful, our guide had good English and was very informative. The trip to the caves was incredible as was the kayaking around the floating fishing families. The boat was great, the rooms clean and the food very very good. I would definitely recommend Halong Bay and the Marguerite Junk to any visitor to Vietnam as a relaxing and peaceful part of your trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very relaxing
Liked least: Customers should be advised of the many stairs up into the caves, but well worth it if you are able.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing