We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cruise - probably best suited to younger or middle-aged people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Star Ha Long Hotel
Ranked #3 of 79 Halong Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good cruise - probably best suited to younger or middle-aged people”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Judging by the traffic on the water, there is a plethora of overnight cruise boats, and the Elizabeth Sails is a pretty good one. We had 3 days/2 nights on board with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The room was about 14m2, which was a bit cramped but then again, you only use it to sleep. The bathroom was pretty well equipped.
The 2 night cruise starts at midday and ends after breakfast on thee 3rd day, like most cruises here. You don't actually travel very far on the boat before anchoring to visit Surprising Cave, which is pretty spectacular despite the hordes. On day 2, you jump on a day tour boat to visit Dark Cave and Bright Cave, both of which are karst features with lagoons in the centre, accessible via the aforementioned caves. You can either take a kayak or hire a rowing boat to take you.
All activities were well organized by very friendly staff.
Food throughout the cruise was very good.
In the evening after diner, they fire up the karaoke. If that's your thing (it was for us) it's very enjoyable when other guests and staff take turns at the mike. If you don't like it, this might not be the cruise for you, as I guess it can go on a bit late.
Overall, great fun with lovely friendly staff, including a very knowledgeable tour guide (separate from the boat company). Very good value for money for the rates we were charged - worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Firstly I would like to point out I would recommend to stay at this hotel but unfortunately Halong Bay is not the best location.

After some issues with our Visas to get into Vietnam my partner and I were going to arrive 2 days late for the reservation. I attempted to contact the Hotel the day before check in via email stated on their official website to notify them but received 'undelivered status' from Outlook. I phoned the hotel direct only to be told by a staff member (who spoke next to no English) "Sunday no reservation" and then she hung up. In disgust I wrote to 'Booking.com' to which my issue was resolved after a few emails. The hotel redeemed themselves in my opinion, they waivered the 'no show' charge, changed my reservation from 5 nights to 3 and upon arrival they ugraded us to a suite room all for no additional charge.

The room was spacious, clean, modern with a big comfy bed and clean bathroom. We spent a fair bit of time in the hotel due to illness and found the staff very helpful even though they only spoke limited English.

Overall if your going to stay in Halong Bay I would recommend this hotel as its good value for money. Their is plenty of construction within Halong Bay and once completed this will ensure many things to do and see but at this point it was limited unless you head for the water.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was the first night of a 3 night tour around the Ha Long Bay area. A pretty new Hotel in an area that is set for much more growth. It was almost empty and certainly we were the only ones for the evening meal, which was well presented and tasty. Room was very spacious and comfortable although the shower in the bath tub was set a little too low for comfort, had to kneel to use both hands to wash my hair !.
More guest arrived late evening because at the buffet breakfast it was very busy. Buffet had a good selection.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthAussieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here for only 1 nite, but I found this hotel comfortable, clean and everything was good. Its building and furnishings look new.
Probably a bit far from the famous halong bay or halong night market, but most hotels are located in nearby area to this hotel, and as I travel on an arranged tour, so transportation was not issue for me.
I didn't know if there are any taxi in Halong, because I think the location is a bit quite, so probably if you don't go an an arranged travel, transportation might be a bit challenging in Halong.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoisKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
260 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 64 in Halong Bay
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#7 of 64 in Halong Bay
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 64 in Halong Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Star Ha Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Star Ha Long Hotel

Property: New Star Ha Long Hotel
Address: Hung Thang Tourist Area, Cai Dam, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Star Ha Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Star Ha Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing