We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caves”
Review of Dau Go Cave

Dau Go Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.00*
and up
Full Day Halong Bay Islands and Cave Tour from Hanoi
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Private Halong Bay Sailing Cruise from Hanoi
Ranked #6 of 53 things to do in Halong Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Caves”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I really looked forward to this part of the tour in Halong Bay, the cave was much larger than we expected which was just as well as there were hundreds and hundreds of tourists walking the same paths, getting pushed along when you just wanted to stop and take it all in, the constant laser lighting from different tour guides made it very confusing and circus like. They dont seem too stricts with the public keeping on to the paths as many people just took short cuts and stepped over the cordoned off area so they could take a photo. As with Halong Bay...nature at its best, people at their worse.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank damast56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    170
    67
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave but too many visitors”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We did an overnight cruise on Halong Bay, and this cave was included as one of the attractions. It was gorgeous, larger than we expected, but there were way too many people walking up the stairway to get in. This is a result of just too many cruise boats being allowed on the bay. Too bad. The cave is beautiful, but I would rather not share it with 500 people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Surprise is Right!~”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We nearly declined this tour, which was included free with our package. We've experienced numerous caves in a number of continents; and our home state, Western Australia, has many beautiful caverns in its southwest.

We needed some legwork, after three days on a cruise boat, so we decided to just go along with the group and 'see another flamin' cave!' The climb to the top was no great deal. The steps are broad in most places... and it wasn't long before we were all entering a humongous cavern, into which most caves we've experienced could be tucked together, neatly inside!

Those who object to the 'unnatural lighting' or pathways created to permit travellers to safely explore this immense cave should probably visit a few of the less well-known pitch-black tunnels and caverns of WA's southwest. Forget modern devices such as flashlights, cellphones and the like. A box of matches should suffice for you hardy souls! Seriously, the development work undertaken to ensure access and safety to this wonderful attraction is much-appreciated by the many thousands of tourists who explore it daily.

And those who claim this cave is 'small' in comparison to others they've visited should tell us the location(s), so we can all visit... . :)

This cave was _well_ worth our time... and we're glad we didn't pass-up the chance to see it for ourselves... .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ozcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarman, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The cave is simply amazing, but because of the intention to feel the tourist safe inside the cave they built some structures, life concrete walkway, steps etc...its adulterated...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jojolayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not do again”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dau Go Cave was beautiful but small as compared to other caves we have visited. Lighting was bright so you could see where you were going. We did not have a guide and were hurried/pushed along by the huge number of other tourists. There are many, many stairs. This is fine for young people but difficult for persons 60+ although we are in good physical condition. Most caves are cold but this one was damp and warm. We were astonished to see people were allowed to climb anywhere they pleased and touch everything which is a shame. When we got to the exit, it was difficult to see whether there were bathroom facilities or food available for purchase since we were being pushed by the crowd. We were just glad to get out into the fresh air.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lvstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dau Go Cave also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Dau Go Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing