We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mithrin Hotel”
Review of Mithrin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mithrin Hotel
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very clean, staff friendly. Rooms and amenities ok. We only stayed one night with Dinner and breakfast included. Dinner was very ordinary - we had a set menu which sounded fine, but dissappointing. Breakfast on the other hand was absolutely fine with a good selection of Western & Traditional foods. Went for a walk in the evening as there were local night markets. The streets were poorly lit, the footpaths were uneven and or nonexistant in parts, there were rats scurrying about. It was probably the only place I did not feel safe whilst travelling throughout Vietnam. There were little to no other tourists about. Needless to say we turned around and made our way back to the hotel for an early night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Mithrin was a good value place with a great breakfast as part of the room price.The hotel is in Bai Chay within walking distance of the boats. Bai Chay has few tourists and some great little cafes. A great little area if you like authentic Vietnam. The hotel is quiet as most guests are out on the boats or only stay overnight. We liked it ...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A great place for the night to/from a trip around Halong Bay, spacious clean rooms, lots of amenities and great service. Not much outside but only 15 min walk to the boats

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed only 1 night there because in the morning we had a cruise in Halong bay. The room was big, clean and nice equipped, air-conditioning was quiet. Breakfast was good and selection was ok. As I wrote, we slept only 1 night there so we didt have a problem with a distance from the city, because it is not close to the city center. Staff was nice, helpful, but they could not speak English. This is the olny minus I found.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in a superior sea view room, which was pleasantly clean, fresh & welcoming. Toiletries provided were also of a good quality. The view from the room was quite amazing, although we didn't have enough time to explore, due to having arrived quite late at night & having departed quite early the following morning.

The breakfast was very good. The dinner menu lacks vegetarian options. Walked to a local restaurant not too far away, which enabled us to experience the local vibe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelbyLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is nice hotel, with good sized rooms and facilities. It is rather isolated in the middle of open land with good of the bay, but will disappear surrounding land has been developed and we enjoyed the quietness and found it was convenient to get to the ferry point for bay tours. There are small shops nearby but no alternative places for western food to compete with the hotel restaurant. The food in the hotel is rather limited in choice. In spite of the. The city of Ha Long however, is about 4-5 kms away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The hotel location is good, and very quiet. The saffs are very nice and usefull. Room and restromm are clean, but thay are so small, I think, this hotel is 3 stars instead of 4 stars. The pool and gym are small, pool very small and dirty, this gym is not 4 stars standard like others. around 16 metter square, it is not a gym. The price is so high. This hotel is 3 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#16 of 69 in Halong Bay
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halong Seoul Hotel
Halong Seoul Hotel
#13 of 69 in Halong Bay
5 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Luxury Hotel
#17 of 69 in Halong Bay
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#15 of 69 in Halong Bay
17 reviews
1 mi away
Vietnam Trade Union Hotel
Vietnam Trade Union Hotel
#20 of 69 in Halong Bay
11 reviews
1 mi away
Golden Halong Hotel
Golden Halong Hotel
#27 of 69 in Halong Bay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithrin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithrin Hotel

Address: Hoang Quoc Viet Road, Bai Chay, Ha Long City,, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mithrin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mithrin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mithrin Hotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing