We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Mithrin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mithrin Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel staffs were not friendly at all from the first point. We were forced to pay the room charge for 02 nights in advance as they were afraid that we would leave the next day just like other guests. Deluxe room is clean and large but when we came back from outside in the evening there was no hot water. It was very disappointed as our 2 year-old child could not take bath before sleep. Breakfast was very poor selection. Overall, it is just like 03 stars hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Do Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
33
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

All boats were ordered back to port by 6.00 pm due to typhoon being forecast for midnight. Missing out on overnight on the houseboat meant Intrepid Tours organised alternate accommodation. I was looking forward to a bath and there was one, the rooms were clean and spacious. Being quite a distance from the town centre this hotel can only be considered a stopp over as there is little to see within walking distance. Breakfast passable, huge range.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaarLouis, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I felt not so good in this hotel. The bathroom had a big tub but it looked not pleasant...also the whole room was nothing special. But it was clean and enough.
I could not enjoy my brerakfast...the service there looked like they had all bad mood. the food was not the best but you can eat it. But it was cold in Ha Long at december...why came also cold air out of the air conditions on the ceiling? I froze very much while eating at morning.
The whole hotel made me bad mood...after one night I was happy to check out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurisuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

3 night stay with breakfast, lunch and Dinner ..
Very Nice and friendly hotel staff...
(Nhu Hieu Dang and Luong Thi Phuong Thao thank you very much.)
Very clean Rooms and amenities is fine..
Complimentary drinking water provided in the room .
Breakfast Buffet was reasonable.
This hotel stating it is 200m from the centre of Halong, It is located in a backwater wasteland about 3km away from the heart of Halong.
Actually, it Easy access to town in 10 mins taxi drive, even it located 3 kilometer away...
..

Room Tip: Room face to the main road and you could view to the Halong bay. You could have photo shooting from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HngGaikChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Halong City with oversupply of hotel rooms continues to offer cheap rooms. Despite much been invested to put up these big hotels they dont seem to be having sufficient income generated. It is likely that this has led to these hotels are operated without much interest invariably not offering good service.
The hotel room was clean & spacious.
Went to the gym at 7.00 am was found not open till then though the opening times were to be from 06.00 am. Requested a passing by staff member to open same but did not return. Asked another staff member, she came back & said the receptionist wanted me to come there. Only after going there a Bell boy came & opened the place. The AC, TV did not work. There was no assistance to operate the machines or towels provided. The pool area & the adjesent terrace was not clean as there was no one appear to be attending to this areas.
Food was below average. Breakfast Buffet was reasonable.
Complimentory drinking water provided in the room was probably the smallest available in the market.
The hotel appeared poorly patronized as well as poorly managed.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarecare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Despite this hotel stating it is 200m from the centre of Halong, it is NOT. It is located in a backwater wasteland about 3km away from the heart of Halong.
When we arrived, the place looked abandoned. There was junk laying around in the passageways and the staff were generally not interested. The pool area looked like it had not been used in over a year. I will grant that the rooms are pretty clean and tidy, but there is an overwhelming smell of mould and air freshener. This is definitely not even close to 4 star. It should be a 2 star.
At breakfast the chef that was on egg/omelette cooking duties was out the back eating his own breakfast and did not appear for about 20 minutes, at which time we got the hell out of of there.
In summary, if you want an expensive low-grade 2 star hotel, this is for you. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very clean, staff friendly. Rooms and amenities ok. We only stayed one night with Dinner and breakfast included. Dinner was very ordinary - we had a set menu which sounded fine, but dissappointing. Breakfast on the other hand was absolutely fine with a good selection of Western & Traditional foods. Went for a walk in the evening as there were local night markets. The streets were poorly lit, the footpaths were uneven and or nonexistant in parts, there were rats scurrying about. It was probably the only place I did not feel safe whilst travelling throughout Vietnam. There were little to no other tourists about. Needless to say we turned around and made our way back to the hotel for an early night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#7 of 64 in Halong Bay
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#23 of 64 in Halong Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Ha Long Hotel
Muong Thanh Ha Long Hotel
#13 of 64 in Halong Bay
37 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithrin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithrin Hotel

Property: Mithrin Hotel
Address: Hoang Quoc Viet Road, Bai Chay, Ha Long City,, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mithrin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mithrin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mithrin Hotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing