We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halong Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Halong(Halong Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ha Long 3 Hotel(Halong Bay)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Van Hai Hotel(Halong Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halong Dream Hotel(Halong Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
104
125
51
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
125
51
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslight showtook extra caredinner buffetroom windoweastern foodrecommend this hotelhuge choicea short walking distanceoystersnice hotelroom was spacious and cleanbig lobbymain lobbyminute drivestar hotelcomfortable staygood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We read in a guide book that this place is 'luxury'. The lobby is amazing so as we headed to the lifts after a 5 hour bus ride with vietnamese boy bands blaring out, I was dying to jump in the pool and enjoy the room.

Well, basically its really dated and not really luxury at all. Standard room. The pool was clean, but not amazing bit of an ugly patio area which could do with a bar so you can enjoy a beer on a hot afternoon.

I just felt a bit underwhelmed by this place as it was made out to be so amazing. The breakfast was a bit rubbish, yes there was a lot of food on offer, but it wasn't very tasty!

The staff were helpful but didn't seem to know much about helping us get to Cat Ba Island, we asked and they didn't really know- weird! So we Googled instead.

Overall this place could be better, great views, but needs a bit of a refurb to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every moment. The staff were amazing, our room was big, spotless and spacious, view stunning. Breakfast had huge choice, i even got a capuccino ( just dont like filtered) and didnt get charged for it, which i am grateful for so we ended up dining in the restaurant a few times which was also great value for money. Such a small thing but made such a difference also. We stayed in another hotel for 3 nights, also 4 star, the other end of the bay but wished we had stayed at Halong Plaza the whole time !! The staff here deserve a huge thank you, esp the restaurant manageress ( i wish i knew her name) It's perfect to start the day with service and smiles !!!

Room Tip: The view from the top is gorgeous
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Halong Plaza overnight before a Halong Bay cruise. We were immediately disappointed we didn't have more time at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean (furnishings a little outdated) but the highlight was the buffet restaurant Four Seasons. There was a wide variety of food, pasta, pumpkin soup (fantastic), asian food, prawns, oysters, steak, chops, bbq skewers... the list goes on! Salad bar, dessert bar - ice cream!!! We ate so much good food it was difficult to leave the restuarant!! Staff were attentive and changed our plate after every dish - best dinner of the trip!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and had a view over Halong Bay - beautiful!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjoyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before we took a cruise in Halong Bay. As it was our honeymoon they upgraded us to a suite (obviously this was amazing and the suite if you can afford one is worth every penny! The view, the furnishings, all very nice). Massive choice for breakfast and all well laid out with name tags in English on the Vietnamese dishes, which was good. The morning of our cruise we were told the cruise wasn't 2 nights 3 days (as we'd enquired about the day before and paid money for thinking it was but only 1 night, 2 days. Clearly some bad misunderstanding of English the day before as we repeatedly mentioned the 2 night cruise) not to ruin out lovely stay we asked if we could pay for a 2nd night in the hotel after the cruise instead in the suite again (cheeky but why not!) they agreed and even signed a receipt with the suite room number on. The cruise was amazing, you can book them through the hotel as they are head office for Syrena Cruises. We got back to the hotel the next day and told we couldn't have the suite and that the lady who took our money, signed the receipt with the suite room number was wrong (more bad communication in English, I know I can't speak Vietnamese but another lady who was on our cruise later told us of her troubles when it came to an error in her booking too, which again was down to poor English). We were given a deluxe room, which was nice and large but a kick in the teeth coming from the suite and if we'd known we would probably have gone back to Hanoi City instead as beside from the nice pool and gym there's nothing much to do round the hotel and we'd seen the small town the first day, the town really is nothing but a base for a night before people take cruises.
Can highly recommend the evening buffet if you say here, cost around £13 a you can eat and there's a huge choice of delicious foods.
Overall a great place for a night or 2 just be careful with what you book as whether you're right or not and have receipts their English needs a little work!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenseenanddonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Like others we stayed here due to curtailment of our junk cruise. We really liked this hotel. Our room was huge and very comfortable - big armchairs, comfy bed, very nice marble-lined bathroom with a big bathtub and large walk-in shower. We were extremely impressed with the dinner buffet which offered a vast choice of wonderful seafood (including oysters) and many delicious Vietnamese, Thai and European dishes. The deep fried calamari and large shrimps, cooked as I watched, were delicious. At only 420,000 VND (approximately 14 GBP) it was astonishingly good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews