We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halong Bay Experience”
Review of Halong Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halong Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is spacious & it was during the monsoon season when we went. We could hear monsoon wind howling in the night like a wolf howling the the dark woods. Our hairs stood on end as the torrential rain poured onto the hotel. We were safe against the strong winds. The room was spacious, comfortable & Clean. We had hot food & the service was good & attended by pretty Vietnamese girls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Halong Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel has a dirty feel to it and we found 5 hairs between our sheets. The room looks shabby and crappy..... Would never return to this unfriendly place.............................................

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maremila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My stay at the hotel worst ever at any hotel. The desk personal was not very hopful at all. Our hotel room carpet floor was wet. I had ask the front desk to put a fan in the room to blow dry the carpet which they near did. I had requested a razor from the front desk., which I made 2 phone call down stair. They never deliver the razar over 1hr. which made made me late for a dinner meeting. I work in the travel industry and travel many place I would rate this in the bottom of any hotel. Hotel look nice very poor service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gemni6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Decent place. Nothing too fancy. Overall there hotel could really do with a make over..

Standard rooms, pretty good bathrooms, breakfast is OK, staff are good and not exceptional.

Really nice views of the bridge and a bit of the bay.. Not too far from there piers but not ideally located..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank halfizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Rooms were functional and clean pretty much does what it says on the tin. This isn't going to be the most memorable hotel experience ever (from either good or bad memories). Got a reasonable rate through agoda. Breakfast was pretty good with lots of choice. Dinner buffet is ok if you like seafood. I'm a veggie though and the options were pretty poor. I disagree with the reviews saying the staff are rude. They were a little odd but at least they tried to be helpful and friendly. Would say that the hotel location is a little too far away from the centre which put us off going out at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Little English is spoken by the hotel staff. They aren't overly helpful at reception and our room service food was so awful we had to ring them back to return it.

The other staff and managers are friendly though .
I don't recommend to stay in any hotels in halong. There is nothing much to do. Do the halong bay boat cruise and stay overnight there and then go back to hanoi .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danniellemve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is a pretty standard hotel, good for a short stay, nothing outstandingly good or bad. We had only 1/2 day to spend there, and although we reached in the afternoon and requested for a boat ride, the receptionist could quickly arrange the ride. It was expensive, but we understand that it was not the hotel, but the boat company's cost. Yes, the staff was not very friendly, but they were helpful when asked. And I really liked the breakfast. I have seen reviews complaining about the breakfast, but I had one of the best chicken dishes I have ever tasted in this hotel, and I still talk to people about that taste.

Room Tip: Bay View rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saswatibiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear saswatibiswas,

Thank you for spending your holiday at the Halong Plaza Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Your comments will encourage our Food & Beverage team to serve better services to our guest and that is what we strive for.
Regarding your comment on the staff, we already shared your thoughts with the Front Office team and we hope that we can have other opportunities to show you our best service.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#2 of 67 in Halong Bay
848 reviews
5.4 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
487 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 67 in Halong Bay
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 67 in Halong Bay
128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#26 of 67 in Halong Bay
29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 67 in Halong Bay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halong Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Plaza Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £42 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halong Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halong Plaza is a luxury 4-star hotel ideally located beside the shore of the beautiful Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. It is preferred accommodation choice for domestic and foreign tourists visiting and discovering Ha Long Bay. In 2013, Halong Plaza Hotel was awarded the “Certificate of Excellence Of The Year” by TripAdvisor®, the world's largest travel site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Halong Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Halong Plaza
Halong Plaza Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing