We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”
Review of Halong Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halong Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Don't go there. Staff is trying to rip you off, the rooms are very dirty and smell, the location sucks and the prices for dinner and water are just crazy. We actually left the hotel after 3 hours because it was that bad. So do yourself a favor and don't go there...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Marela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Marela R,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Halong Bay and spending time on sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfying. Your opinion is very important for us to assess how we are meeting your expectations.

Regarding the check-in process, it is our hotel policy to ask guests for deposit for any incidental charges upon check in. However, we apologize that we did not explain this clearly to you and that we should have handled the situation in a proper manner. We would very much appreciate your kind understanding and please be assured that your comments will be used to improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your review and again, our apologies for the happenings. Even though we will not be recommended by you, we hope you will give us another chance to serve you better.


Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    105
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
59
98
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is spacious & it was during the monsoon season when we went. We could hear monsoon wind howling in the night like a wolf howling the the dark woods. Our hairs stood on end as the torrential rain poured onto the hotel. We were safe against the strong winds. The room was spacious, comfortable & Clean. We had hot food & the service was good & attended by pretty Vietnamese girls.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel has a dirty feel to it and we found 5 hairs between our sheets. The room looks shabby and crappy..... Would never return to this unfriendly place.............................................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maremila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My stay at the hotel worst ever at any hotel. The desk personal was not very hopful at all. Our hotel room carpet floor was wet. I had ask the front desk to put a fan in the room to blow dry the carpet which they near did. I had requested a razor from the front desk., which I made 2 phone call down stair. They never deliver the razar over 1hr. which made made me late for a dinner meeting. I work in the travel industry and travel many place I would rate this in the bottom of any hotel. Hotel look nice very poor service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gemni6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Decent place. Nothing too fancy. Overall there hotel could really do with a make over..

Standard rooms, pretty good bathrooms, breakfast is OK, staff are good and not exceptional.

Really nice views of the bridge and a bit of the bay.. Not too far from there piers but not ideally located..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank halfizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Rooms were functional and clean pretty much does what it says on the tin. This isn't going to be the most memorable hotel experience ever (from either good or bad memories). Got a reasonable rate through agoda. Breakfast was pretty good with lots of choice. Dinner buffet is ok if you like seafood. I'm a veggie though and the options were pretty poor. I disagree with the reviews saying the staff are rude. They were a little odd but at least they tried to be helpful and friendly. Would say that the hotel location is a little too far away from the centre which put us off going out at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Little English is spoken by the hotel staff. They aren't overly helpful at reception and our room service food was so awful we had to ring them back to return it.

The other staff and managers are friendly though .
I don't recommend to stay in any hotels in halong. There is nothing much to do. Do the halong bay boat cruise and stay overnight there and then go back to hanoi .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danniellemve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 64 in Halong Bay
818 reviews
5.4 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
461 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#7 of 64 in Halong Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 64 in Halong Bay
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#8 of 64 in Halong Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halong Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Plaza Hotel

Property: Halong Plaza Hotel
Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halong Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halong Plaza is a luxury 4-star hotel ideally located beside the shore of the beautiful Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. It is preferred accommodation choice for domestic and foreign tourists visiting and discovering Ha Long Bay. In 2013, Halong Plaza Hotel was awarded the “Certificate of Excellence Of The Year” by TripAdvisor®, the world's largest travel site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Halong Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Halong Plaza
Halong Plaza Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing