We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Decent Location, A Couple Flaws”
Review of Halong Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halong Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a good hotel, especially for the cost. It was relatively close to everything you need to see in Halong Bay. The rooms were nice and clean. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable bed out of our entire Vietnam stay. It was very hard. The room cleaning service was good but moved all of our belongs to organize how they saw fit. It was a bit unsettling to see all your clothes moved and folded, toiletries reorganized and the information on the desk moved around.

There is also a free shuttle service offered to take you to the main areas. However, we went to use the free shuttle at one of the scheduled times and we were on the bus but then told we had to get off because they were not going to run this service at this time. After we got off, a large group of tourists got on and we were not allowed back on. We are unsure why this happened and why we weren't allowed to ride. From then on we took a taxi (very cheap, only a couple dollars US).

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was very good. They had a great mix of Asian and Western foods.

We also went to get a massage at the hotel spa. There was only one person working in the spa area so we could only go one at a time.

Overall, the English speaking by the staff was very poor.

Room Tip: We were on a higher level and had a great view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank erinmeyer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear erinmeyer88,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with Halong Plaza Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel room and breakfast quality. Your comment will encourage our Food & Beverage team to enhance the quality of service.

We regret about your inconvenience because of the bed and room cleaning service. Please be informed that we are on process to renovate all the hotel beds in order to make our guests feel most comfortable when staying with us. Besides the room renovation, we are also planning to have training program for our hotel staff to improve the quality of services.

Regarding to your comments about shuttle bus service, we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for your unpleasant experience and rest assured that immediate action will be taken to avoid future reoccurrence.

Again, we appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a good, slightly outdated hotel a bit further from the touristic beach area.

The beach area and the restaurants were not far away, and you can either walk or take the taxi (25k dong) to them. Still I missed having the restaurants near for easy lunch or couple of drinks in the evening.

The pool area was nice. The pool is quite small and they have only a few sun chairs, but often the pool was empty, so that was not a problem. They don't have staff all the time at the pool serving food and drinks, which was a shame.

The room we had was big. There was plenty of floor space for our kid to play and she got a real good wooden baby cot for herself. The room was clean and the cleaners did a good job.
I also loved that there was a separate bathtub and shower in the bathroom.

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and did everything we asked for. We booked our halong bay cruise from the hotel (a private boat for a 4-hour cruise only 180 dollars), and that was a really good decision. For the quality and luxury we got, it was a small investment.

Even though, I did not fancy this hotels location that much, I would still recommend this hotel. Everything there worked perfectly, and its good quality for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear KatIh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your comments, impressions and experience of your stay at the Halong Plaza Hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with our room facilities and you particularly highlighted your good impression of our staff. I will pass your feedback to our team which will surely encourage them.

Regarding the swimming pool issue, we do not provide poolside bar services at the moment. However, we very much appreciate your suggestions and will save them for future improvement plan.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your future visits to Halong.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was here on july with my spouse and 9month old daughter. The room was bigger than i expected, clean and there was also seaview. In the restroom was shower and bathtube, both. Room service was good (they changed towels 1-2 times a day) and room service was really good.

The staff was overall very helpfull and professional and they helped us to book taxi's, restaurants, cruises and so on.

Because of off season? There was not a lot of people and e.g. In the swimming area was only a couple of another people during the time, that we were there (everyday a couple of times).

They serves a BBQ buffee on weekends, that includes different kid of meet (pork, chicken, beef) and seafood (fish, shrimps, octopussy) from grill and also inside was noodle soup, fresh vedgetables, different kind of vietnamisefood, sushi, fresh shrimps, oyster, pasta - and selection of different kind of deserts. The buffee cost about 15€ plus beverages. The quality was OK - nothing suprising, but nothing bad.

We also ordered food from room service (european, japanise, thai) and some snacks to the pool. The asian food was OK and even some of them pretty good, but the european food like ham-cheese sandwitches were a little bit disappointing (i want order them again). Over all we desided to eat something else than vietnamise food in a hotel, because we had a dinner on every evening in some of proposed vietnamise restaurants in a city.

Room cost a little bit ovet 50€ that was good value for the money. I recommend this hotel and will come back again, if i have reason to come to halong bay.

Thanks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Markus V,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review from your recent stay with us at the Halong Plaza Hotel. Your positive comments on our room and room service are very much appreciated. Your good impression of our staff will surely encourage them for bringing unforgettable experience to guests.

We apologize for your unsatisfactory experience of the European food. You have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services.

We are glad to hear that you will come back our hotel and will recommend your friends.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Halong Plaza Hotel on your next visit to Halong Bay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice and comfortable hotel in a good location. We enjoy our stay. Room services is good, hotel cleanliness too. The restaurant is good, we enjoy our breakfast. Overall we enjoy our stay in this hotel even not that a 5* hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneW0rld007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear OneW0rld007,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Halong Plaza Hotel.

We are glad to read your compliments on the location of hotel, room services, hotel cleanliness, our restaurant & the breakfast. Your comments are highly appreciated and serve as an encouragement to our team to keep on providing high standard of service to all of our guests.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Don't go there. Staff is trying to rip you off, the rooms are very dirty and smell, the location sucks and the prices for dinner and water are just crazy. We actually left the hotel after 3 hours because it was that bad. So do yourself a favor and don't go there...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Marela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalongPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Halong Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Marela R,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Halong Bay and spending time on sharing your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfying. Your opinion is very important for us to assess how we are meeting your expectations.

Regarding the check-in process, it is our hotel policy to ask guests for deposit for any incidental charges upon check in. However, we apologize that we did not explain this clearly to you and that we should have handled the situation in a proper manner. We would very much appreciate your kind understanding and please be assured that your comments will be used to improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your review and again, our apologies for the happenings. Even though we will not be recommended by you, we hope you will give us another chance to serve you better.


Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is spacious & it was during the monsoon season when we went. We could hear monsoon wind howling in the night like a wolf howling the the dark woods. Our hairs stood on end as the torrential rain poured onto the hotel. We were safe against the strong winds. The room was spacious, comfortable & Clean. We had hot food & the service was good & attended by pretty Vietnamese girls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel has a dirty feel to it and we found 5 hairs between our sheets. The room looks shabby and crappy..... Would never return to this unfriendly place.............................................

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maremila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
894 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#7 of 71 in Halong Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 71 in Halong Bay
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ha Long DC Hotel
Ha Long DC Hotel
#8 of 71 in Halong Bay
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#10 of 71 in Halong Bay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halong Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Plaza Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £40 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halong Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halong Plaza is a luxury 4-star hotel ideally located beside the shore of the beautiful Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. It is preferred accommodation choice for domestic and foreign tourists visiting and discovering Ha Long Bay. In 2013, Halong Plaza Hotel was awarded the “Certificate of Excellence Of The Year” by TripAdvisor®, the world's largest travel site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Halong Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Halong Plaza
Halong Plaza Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing