We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Halong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saigon Halong Hotel
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before our halong bay cruise..nice place friendly staff, room was good. Ac worked well, clean, nice bed and best cable quality in asia so far. 10 mins walk from night market. Breakfast was highlight. Great selection and nice view

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    94
    85
    25
    10
See reviews for
57
80
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean, staff faultless. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable. Would have liked to use the pool but the weather put a stop to that! If you walk left out of the hotel there's a couple of restaurants but nothing amazing. My husband loved the TV channels as we had to stay in our room due to storms, no complaints there. The only reason I am giving this hotel a 3 is because of the air con. Even though it was set on sub zero tempretures it's still kicking out warm stuffy air which made it uncomfortable to sleep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bowtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Saigon Halong is a big and rather impersonal hotel. The entrance is imposing, yet a little empty and bleak. We had a comfortable room, but without balcony or sea view. No matter really as there was a dizzly fog. What an enormous bed. At least 10 feet wide, and comfortable furnishings and a decent bathroom.

Breakfast offered a wide and agreeable chice in a comfortable dining room. The problem with this hotel is that the beach in front is unusable and it's rather a long way from restaurants. In fact while we were there Halong was ttired, almost dead.

Staff at this hotel are mostly helpful, but not the friendliest in Vietnam. Halong hss a strong Chinese influence and these people can be cold and rude.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexGeoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was such a shame that the weather was suitable for swimming outside as this was the first place we had stopped at with a pool.
The room was spacious with more storage space than we needed, but the bed was huge, great as my husband has a penchant for diagonal sleeping. I think it was 2 queen beds put together.
The dining room was large and had a very wide selection, including sushi and dim sum. Mostly delicious.
I would like to go back one day for longer, we were only there for 1 night and when it is a whole lot warmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

very nice place, helpful staff, very clean, with a superb shower room, excellent breakfast, all round a very well appointed hotel. Breakfast was a gourmet experience. the double bed was about 8 feet wide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davebakerpurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel. We stayed in the villa, maybe the rooms are better in the hotel itself. The room was spacious and clean. However the bed was so hard it was impossible to get a nights sleep. The bathroom was very old. Toilet roll and water was not replenished after first night. When we called reception they hung up. The restaurant is fine for breakfast, but dinner was terrible. The food was dry, tasteless and no flavor. Local restaurants nearby are serving fresh delicious food. Most importantly is the attitude of the staff. They were rude and when we complained to management about our issues, they offered some apologies, but we could not get out of there fast enough. Do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Orlamc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We only stayed one night, but it was fine. Nice clean room, heaps of hot water and good pressure although the bathroom was a bit tired. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the bay. Free wifi was strong. We had drinks in the bar on 1st floor which were pretty ordinary, they had a large cocktail list, but not too much experience. My husband walked down to the atm just down the road and was harassed by guy on a motorbike, but was rescued by two local ladies who stood guard for him!. Nothing to do with the hotel which was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieHCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tuan Chau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#9 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.7 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#13 of 61 in Halong Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Halong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Halong Hotel

Property: Saigon Halong Hotel
Address: 168 Halong Road | Bai chay Ward, Halong Bay 8433, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Halong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Halong Hotel is one of the biggest 4 star hotel in Halong Bay with 228 rooms. Hotel has 5 Villas out side the main building and 205 rooms in the main 15 story splendid building including 88 Superior rooms overlooking the mountains, 104 Deluxe rooms and 12 Executive Suites with balcony overlooking the Halong Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saigon Halong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing