We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place”
Review of Ha Long Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ha Long Bay Hotel
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Thankfully only stayed here for one night prior to bay cruise, if our stay had been any longer we would certainly have moved to another hotel. Location of hotel is its only good point and there are great bay views if you are lucky enough to get a room on the front of hotel. We had a room at the back overlooking the car park where there was a bonfire going and acrid smoke getting into our room. The rooms are very shabby and dated and the beds are absolutely terrible, rock hard mattresses and unable to get any proper sleep. Woke up in the morning to find that there was no water at all in the whole hotel - nobody could have a shower or even have a wash/shave. By this itme we were not expecting much of a breakfast and that proved to be the case - very little choice of breakfast foods and the coffee was terrible - tasted like the camp chicory essence that used to be available years ago.The hotel manager apologised for the lack of water in the morning and gave us complimentary bottled water to compensate! All in all not a place I would ever want to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of hotel overlooking the stunning Halong Bay if you really have to stay at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel clearly knows that the vast majority of guests stay only one night, before or after a boat trip in the bay, and therefore there's no need to impress people so that they return. There are no facilities or extras; even the bar doesn't seem to open in the evening regularly. The building is stark and slightly Soviet, the place feels shabby, the rooms are huge and quite bare, with very hard beds, although the toiletries and appliances are fine. The breakfast was pretty nice, with a good selection. The redeeming factor is the beautiful view of the bay if you are lucky enough to get a room on the right side of the building.

Room Tip: To enjoy the fantastic view, ask for a room on the side which faces the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jopycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

In terms of design, the hotel reminds me of those Communist-era places for party members, but the general standard is really satisfactory. The hotel is clean, nicely situated with a beautiful view of the sea and the bay. Nice, large balconies. Wireless Internet access is incredibly good. Toiletries, blow-dryer, kettle, bathrobes etc. Very friendly staff :) and very, very good breakfasts. The only disadvantage was the fact that the AC apparently remembered the times of Ho Chi Minh: when we turned it on, it mostly made noise and nothing more, but luckily the windows did open [which is not so obvious in Vietnam hotels] so we could have some fresh air. Other than that, it was alright. Oh, there was a karaoke night either in or near the hotel, but it ended around 10 p.m. so it was no big deal :D

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chomskey_on_the_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Booked in for one night before getting the boat. First impressions are good position overlooking the bay, can sit outside. The first room we were given on the third floor overlooked the car park and smelt of cat urine. When we complained we were given another room on the 2nd floor (different staircase) with a great balcony overlooking the bay, although it was slightly smaller.
Short walk to restaurants further down the road, a few bars around, overall satisfactory overnight stop.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed for one night only towards the end of a frantic paced tour. Enjoyed the hotel, friendly staff. Hotel a bit shabby and needs an update but the location is great. The lift was working when I was there, which was good because I was on the 4th floor, with fab views of the bay. Large room, had everything. Would go back without hesitation. There are probably more luxurious hotels in the area, but I was happy with the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Stayed for both work and play 2 nights each. Price was $39 - $50 (public holidays) Room 216 generous proportions. with wood carved seats. Sea view rooms have excellent view over Baichay (The tourist area of Ha Long - boats depart from here and there is a night market nearby). The strip nearby has Karaoke, a nightclub, seafood restaurants and Karaoke. There is not much worth staying any length of time for. Ha Long City is 5 - 10 minutes away by taxi over the new (impressive) bridge built with Japanese assistance.
Staff friendly and helpful (although for changing money go to the Vietcom bank further down the road for better rates and does not charge commission on currency changes).
The hotel says it has wifi but in reality it (barely) covers the lobby area. Fortunately in room 216 (which I got) I was able to use another (excellent) free wifi (don't know who is providing it) on which I am doing this review. My laptop could not get the Wifi in room 102 which is next to reception. After a bit of persuasion they moved me. Breakfast was a buffet when the hotel was full and table service when more empty.
There is no lift but as long as you arrive during the day a porter will help with any luggage.
Key areas were clean but the back of the bathroom door obviously had never been cleaned (see photo).
Instead of a kettle they provide a flask of hot water. Unlike other 3* hotels I have stayed in in Vietnam they do not provide bottles of drinking water each day but do provide fruit every day. The phone in my room did not work and even though I told them there was no effort to fix it (I didn't mind but others might). They looked after our luggage in the luggage room when we went on a trip to Cat Ba island.
The hotel is a little bare and soulless and reminded me of Russian 3* hotels. OK for the money but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Only stayed here for one night prior to a trip round Halong Bay. the hotel is on the hillside above the main coast road and about 20 minutes walk into the centre and the market. Less than that to the seaside restaurants - plenty of choice even off-season.

We got rooms at the front - definitely recommended because they have a fantastic view of the bay. The rooms are huge with good bathrooms. We stayed at Christmas and there was a massive Christmas tree and life size Santa Claus in reception!

The breakfast was good and fresh.

Some of the carpets looked like they had seen better days and there is a pool but it was closed for maintenance!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
0 mi away
Halong Seoul Hotel
Halong Seoul Hotel
#12 of 71 in Halong Bay
9 reviews
2.5 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#17 of 71 in Halong Bay
59 reviews
0 mi away
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#15 of 71 in Halong Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#14 of 71 in Halong Bay
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#22 of 71 in Halong Bay
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halong Pearl Hotel
Halong Pearl Hotel
#38 of 71 in Halong Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long Bay Hotel

Address: Ha Long Rd, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £19 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha Long Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Starwood, Prestigia and Ebookers so you can book your Ha Long Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Long Bay Halong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing