We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Ha Long Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ha Long Bay Hotel
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Kokshetau, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Booked in for one night before getting the boat. First impressions are good position overlooking the bay, can sit outside. The first room we were given on the third floor overlooked the car park and smelt of cat urine. When we complained we were given another room on the 2nd floor (different staircase) with a great balcony overlooking the bay, although it was slightly smaller.
Short walk to restaurants further down the road, a few bars around, overall satisfactory overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed for one night only towards the end of a frantic paced tour. Enjoyed the hotel, friendly staff. Hotel a bit shabby and needs an update but the location is great. The lift was working when I was there, which was good because I was on the 4th floor, with fab views of the bay. Large room, had everything. Would go back without hesitation. There are probably more luxurious hotels in the area, but I was happy with the place.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Stayed for both work and play 2 nights each. Price was $39 - $50 (public holidays) Room 216 generous proportions. with wood carved seats. Sea view rooms have excellent view over Baichay (The tourist area of Ha Long - boats depart from here and there is a night market nearby). The strip nearby has Karaoke, a nightclub, seafood restaurants and Karaoke. There is not much worth staying any length of time for. Ha Long City is 5 - 10 minutes away by taxi over the new (impressive) bridge built with Japanese assistance.
Staff friendly and helpful (although for changing money go to the Vietcom bank further down the road for better rates and does not charge commission on currency changes).
The hotel says it has wifi but in reality it (barely) covers the lobby area. Fortunately in room 216 (which I got) I was able to use another (excellent) free wifi (don't know who is providing it) on which I am doing this review. My laptop could not get the Wifi in room 102 which is next to reception. After a bit of persuasion they moved me. Breakfast was a buffet when the hotel was full and table service when more empty.
There is no lift but as long as you arrive during the day a porter will help with any luggage.
Key areas were clean but the back of the bathroom door obviously had never been cleaned (see photo).
Instead of a kettle they provide a flask of hot water. Unlike other 3* hotels I have stayed in in Vietnam they do not provide bottles of drinking water each day but do provide fruit every day. The phone in my room did not work and even though I told them there was no effort to fix it (I didn't mind but others might). They looked after our luggage in the luggage room when we went on a trip to Cat Ba island.
The hotel is a little bare and soulless and reminded me of Russian 3* hotels. OK for the money but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks. UK
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Only stayed here for one night prior to a trip round Halong Bay. the hotel is on the hillside above the main coast road and about 20 minutes walk into the centre and the market. Less than that to the seaside restaurants - plenty of choice even off-season.

We got rooms at the front - definitely recommended because they have a fantastic view of the bay. The rooms are huge with good bathrooms. We stayed at Christmas and there was a massive Christmas tree and life size Santa Claus in reception!

The breakfast was good and fresh.

Some of the carpets looked like they had seen better days and there is a pool but it was closed for maintenance!

  • Liked — Fantastic views
  • Disliked — Shabby carpets
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

A group of us just got back from a Golf Tour last weekend in Vietnam. The golf courses in Vietnam was excellent. Very well maintained, all of us was enjoying the game till the last putt.

Everything went on fine throughout the trip until the the last night, where we wanted to stay a night at the "Ha Long Bay". Suppose to be the "World Heritage". We went on the boat ride with a local guide, and he recommended us to buy some fishes and other seafood at the floating fishing village. We listen to the guide and went on to buy some. We agreed to the price of USD60 per kilo for the fish and wanted a fish around 3 kilos. The seller quickly netted one and immediately killed it before even weighing it. Then we wanted him (the seller ) to weighed it with he took a old fashioned weighing machine that none of us know how to read it.
After that he quickly get the boat men to cut the fish and prepare for cooking.

As when we about to pay and ask for the bill, the seller told us that the fish is 9.2 kilos. Of course all us were shock to find that the fish is 9.2 kilos. And it's already dead and cut. What can we do? The worse thing is yet to come. As all of us is so furious about the weigh of the fish, we ignored the currency convertion. We paid in Vietnam Dong that was 6 million.

So summarised it, we were cheated on the weigh of the fish and the currency exchange. There distracted us from the weighed of the fish and cheated us on the currency as well.

So please be careful when you are at the "Ha Long Bay", you don't have to buy anything there. We believed that the guide, boat people and the fish mongers are in a team. Just go there and see and please don't buy as there will have different strategies to cheat or con you. Please do not be their victim.

Helpful?
13 Thank eddyng3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed at the Halong Bay Hotel for just one night at the end of a long and tiring Vietnam Tour which had involved a lot of travelling.

By the time we reached the hotel it was late afternoon and by this stage of the tour every hotel had started to look the same as the previous one.

Our search for a restaurant that evening took us just outside of the hotel to the left where we settled down at an open-air table and watched the boats on the bay. Unfortunately by this time the queasiness I'd felt for several hours started to increase so we headed back to the hotel for bed.

Breakfast was out of the question for me the next day. However my partner did have breakfast and said that it was fine. He did feel a little awkward as he was the only guest in the dining area and there seemed to be several waiting staff with nothing better to do than watch him eat.

With a very delicate stomach I was dreading a full day sailing in Halong Bay, even though i had been looking forward to it for the whole tour. Tempted to cancel the whole day, we explained to our driver that I was feeling very ill and didn't think I'd be able to manage a day on a boat. He immediately drove to a little shop, disappeared for ten minutes, and then handed me one large white pill and assured me that I wouldn't be ill on the trip. After 24 hours of feeling dreadful, within 30 minutes I had completely recovered and we spent a fabulous day sailing in amongst the stunning islands of Halong Bay. A miracle pill but I wouldn't want to delve too far into its ingredients.

Not a memorable hotel for me unfortunately.

  • Liked — Good position for a boat trip in Hlaong Bay
  • Disliked — Nothing particularly, except for feeling ill
  • Stayed November 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Lovely location (a bit out of the town centre and jetty areas) and big rooms. But in its present state far from justifying 3-star quality and prices. Quite basic restaurant, no elevator for 4 floors and a tea & coffee service on room which consists of a thermos bottle with lukewarm water and no sugar etc!

Cannot judge about the pool as during winter season it was closed for maintenance.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Room quality/facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
2.5 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#11 of 64 in Halong Bay
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halong Cheers Hotel
Halong Cheers Hotel
#17 of 64 in Halong Bay
8 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#12 of 64 in Halong Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Asean Halong Hotel
Asean Halong Hotel
#30 of 64 in Halong Bay
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halong Pearl Hotel
Halong Pearl Hotel
#38 of 64 in Halong Bay
55 reviews
4.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Long Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Long Bay Hotel

Property: Ha Long Bay Hotel
Address: Ha Long Rd, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ha Long Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ha Long Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Long Bay Halong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing