We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”
Review of Halong Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halong Dream Hotel
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a work event at ha long bay in oct 2010 ( this wasnt an option on the drop down menu). I'm not sure if things have improved since then. Anyways here was my experience.

The Internet connection - which the hotel claimed to have - was so bad I could not connect and had to use one from a neighboring connection ( which kept dropping). Very painful and would not have bothered if it weren't for work.

Bed sheets were white-ish and I swear they smelt. Mattress was so flat it was practically non-existent.

Seafood was excellent- everything else was just bad. Irony is that even the pho ( vietnamese beef noodles with soup) was awful- the pho at the Hanoi airport was heavenly in comparison.

Strongly suggest you stay in Hanoi and make it a day trip to ha long bay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcheafallingstarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We didn't sleep here, but just walked in for some advice about boattrips (didn't know which one was good/reliable and thought that a 4* hotel would know). They booked us the best trip (on the halong phoenix cruiser) and train tickets to Hue. They really helped us out.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinnitsa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Though it may be decent enough for "general Ha Long level", as it's stated in some other review, the place is too Soviet (for those who know what it is :-)). Starting from not-so-pleasant smell in the lobby, to old central air-conditioning system in public areas, which were not helpful at all, and finishing with awful breakfast, great in its variety, but consisted of uneatable things, like a week-old Pho soup, not fresh pineapples and watermelons (where they found them - it's a wonder). The next thing is that there's nothing to do in Halong... But that's another story...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitryK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

It seems to be a general problem of Halong (at least during the low season) that the level of English spoken by the staff of every second establishment is zero or next above zero, which leads to lengthy conversations and occasional misunderstandings. This hotel is no exception, though they try hard to communicate to the best of their ability and to be helpful. In every other aspect the hotel is good enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#8 of 64 in Halong Bay
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halong Palace Hotel
Halong Palace Hotel
#6 of 64 in Halong Bay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Halong Hotel
Royal Halong Hotel
#21 of 64 in Halong Bay
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Ha Long Hotel
Muong Thanh Ha Long Hotel
#13 of 64 in Halong Bay
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halong Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Dream Hotel

Property: Halong Dream Hotel
Address: No 10 Halong Road, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halong Dream Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Halong Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing