We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had its glorious past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Villas Halong
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed with Royal Hotel Halong for 1 night. Luckily we checked in late evening and only stayed for 1 night.
At check-in, there is no greeting, the receptionist just talked to our guide. No acknowledgement of our presence at all and they kept our passports. Felt like communism in the treatment overall.
A musty smell lingered in the lobby.
Upon entering the room, there was an unmissable stronger musty smell. The room looked dated and worn. Decor was like the 80s. Quite a number of mosqitoes in the room. The amenities were complete - razor, cottoon bud, toothbrush, shampoo, shower gel, soap, shower cap. Toothpaste was green and we didnt use it as origin was unknown. Shower gel didnt smell too good. Tea coffee making facilities but rather pathetic on choice of beverage. Cushioned seats didnt look clean and the ceramic flooring didnt add cosiness to the room.
Around 10pm, the karaoke opposite us was loud and disturbing coupled with the remote control beeping sounds of the vehicles. We complained to the receptionists and was told that they would inform the karaoke side. Eventually, they offered to change us to a different room with twin beds as the hotel was full. Truth is the hotel didnt feel or look full at all. We couldnt understand why they wouldnt give us a better positioned room with one queen or king bed so that we could have a good night sleep. We didnt change as the bed type was unsuitable. The room we had ahd absolutely no view at all. The air conditioning system was also not working properly. We set to 13 degrees and felt quite warm still.
We woke up around 5+by some noises which were on and off through the night and people banging doors after late night at the casino. Could hear the next door, door knockings, people at the corridor talking and walking.
It was drizzing. As the room was in a separate but nearby building, we requested for an umbrella which we had to sign for and it was broken.
The breakfast room had strong musty smell accompanied by numerous flies on, around and over the bread and cakes. The cook didnt know what was sunny side up for the eggs and the server had no desire to serve. There was no brown sugar or any attempt to try and understand what the guest required. There were not so many tables occupied then, The food was limited in choice and looked so unappetising that after my husband tried the tasteless noodle, we left. Even the coffee was not up to par.
We decided to leave the hotel early. Horrible for a 4 star or self acclaimed 5 star hotel. No way for a 3 star either. It is apparent that there was no effect put into the management of the hotel at all.
The glorious buildings were wasted in the lack of care and service. Although the hotel was in the middle of nowhere, it has good view of the Halong Bay if you are at the right room. No one would travel to Halong Bay to view the hotel's carpark paying for a 4 star hotel rate.
Its ridiculous for a hotel to be run in such manner. Wonder if there is a Gordon Ramsay similar for hotel management?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wwtravellersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

I just finished my 4 days trip in Vietnam. We spent 2 nights at Royal Villas Halong Bay. This is a nice hotel with a very pretty swimming pool. People working in the villa are very polite, you can always see smiles on their faces. It's not far from the night market - only about 10 minutes by walk. The only thing not perfect is the airconditioner in the room - it is extremely freezing at night even thou I've turned it to low fan and 28'C. Compared with the hot weather outside, it is not too bad. I would recommend this hotel to stay in Halong Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ArrogantCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hanne_mokvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha Long R, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Villas Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sofie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eggchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank su262795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#7 of 71 in Halong Bay
297 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#5 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
884 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Halong Hotel
Royal Halong Hotel
#11 of 71 in Halong Bay
46 reviews
3 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#15 of 71 in Halong Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villas Halong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Halong

Address: Ha Long Street, Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay +8433, Vietnam (Formerly Royal International Hotel & Villas)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £30 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Villas Halong 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Room: Safety and spacious with beautiful bay view, 36-square-meter Deluxe rooms promise a very comfortable and joyful stay in Royal Hotel & Villas Halong Bay. Beside the 4-star-standard facilities and amenities, en suite bathtub separated with shower, the rooms are equipped anti-insect screen on doors and windows which guarantee opportunities to sink yourself in the fresh air from sea for your memorial stay. Suite Room: This is exactly what we call Suite room! With 72 square meters, divided into one living room and one bed room, the rooms welcome you as a VIP with everything you need for a truly comfortable and memorial holiday in Halong. Besides, the outdoor terrace roof with table and chairs beneath a big umbrella, on place you could enjoy Halong Bay view night and day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Villas Halong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal International Hotel And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing