We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #360 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Zürich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed for three night at Hanoi Phoenix Hotel. The hotel has an excellent location in the old town. The entrance is very unimpressive so it might be hard to find if you're a walk-in.

We had two different rooms, both were clean. The first one was on the first floor and quite noisy because of the lobby and kitchen just downstairs. That room was fairly big. The second room was on the sixth floor and very small, we could hardly place our stuff anywhere. But both rooms we really worth the money and we couldn't hear any street noise.

There was free wi-fi internet in the rooms and they have four pc's for use in the lobby. Breakfast was also included and fine.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. On our last day we could keep our room until 3pm and didn't have to pay anything.

They also offer all kinds of tours. We booked a 3 days/2 nights tour to Halong Bay through them on Phoenix cruise. We were told that they belong to the same company. They also booked our train ticket, but I think we were overcharged as the ticket was 550'000 vnd (29 usd) and we paid 45 usd.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    48
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
69
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I booked a couple of nights at Hanoi Phoenix Hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor and ended up staying six.. This place lives up to the reviews. The hotel is small and surprisingly quiet, being in a side street off a busy main street right in the centre of the Old Quarter. There are heaps of good eateries and beer shops all around. I stayed in a deluxe double room which was excellent value including breakfast. The room was large and clean with air conditioning, an en-suite bathroom with a shower, a computer, a bar fridge and a balcony overlooking the street. The rooms are cleaned each day. Internet is free and the service is good. It's also very secure and the staff are really friendly and will book all your tours and onward transport on the spot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2010

friendly and helpful staff, comfortable clean room, that's how awesome in hanoi phoenix hotel.
its so comfortable, i have problems waking up in the morning,catch the drift?just imagine.
thanks you for your service!


-hafizukiz(ngee ann poly,singapore)

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hafizukiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The staff could not have been more helpful, helping us with forward hotel bookings, booking flights & trains. After returning from Halong Bay they very kindly gave us a room for the rest of the day to shower, change & chill out before catching the overnight train. They even escorted us to the station to make sure we got on the right train! Definately would return & have no hesitation in recommending it, its fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

taxi arranged via the hotel to pick us up from the airport...
when we arrived at the hotel after a 20+ hour journey the last thing we wanted to hear was your standard double room is finished! (ie all gone) what we did like to hear was that we had been upgraded for the night to a deluxe double but at the same price we would have paid for our old room!!!
we atayed in room 403 which was abit of a trek up the stairs but worth it for the quiet!!!
hot shower, free internet in the room. cpmfy beds, clean linen, breakfast included in the price... well worth it. the stay got better - we didnt have to change rooms on our second night and we still only got charged standard double price.
the guys on reception booked our train tickets to SAPA , called the hotel we had picked there (HOTEL THAI BINH) and booked our rooms and also arranged taxis for us to the station.
We also arranged a half day stay for when we got back from SAPA (really early in the morning until noon) we got our deluxe room again :)
on that evening when we were just hanging round waiting to go to HUE 2 of the lads who worked in the hotel insisted that we ate with them and im do glad we did. the food was simple (pork rice spinach) but it was tasty, the company fun and a really nice memory to bring home with us.
We would stay at this hotel again and i would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The service I received at this hotel was absolutely fabulous and second to none. Kelvin is an exceptional host, occasionally offering his guests the opportunity to dine with his family. The room I stayed in was window-less which was a shame but as it was only me staying there, it was fine. The tours on offer are recommended and great value. There was a problem with my washing (which is sent off site) but Kelvin took full responsibility for it and was incredibly professional. The hotel is in a fantastic position and I highly recommend it. Thank you for your hospitality and sorry this review is a bit late Kelvin!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My experience at Hanoi Phoenix was mixed.

My room was in poor condition – dirty, dusty and stuffy. The only window was blocked and so there was no sunlight at all. When I checked in, the bed linen and towels were quite damp. There were also spots on them.

What I liked about this place was the free internet access, their location and helpful staff.

Hanoi Phoenix arranged my transfer to and from the airport and both trips went smoothly.

I booked two tours via the hotel. The first one to Tam Coc could be more enjoyable with a different tour company. The bus used by Vietnam Open Tours was horrible – AC did not work well, and the guide was totally unprofessional. The Halong Bay cruise organized by AST was great with very comfortable accommodation on Cristina.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leydeebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoiPhoenix123, Manager at Hanoi Phoenix Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2010
First of all I would like to apologise for your disappointment with your stay at the Hanoi Phoenix Hotel.

We strive hard to make our guests comfortable and happy, so feedback like yours helps us to learn what we can improve.

However, I am confused by your criticisms.

Firstly, our permanent staff ensure that each room is cleaned thoroughly every day and all rooms are provided with clean, dry and spotless bed linen and towels.

Secondly, none of our rooms has a blocked window, so i presume you are referring to one of our low-budget internal rooms,which have no windows and therefore no sunlight.

We offer a rage of tours to suit all budgets and naturally the quality of the tour reflects the cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Brandi Hotel
Brandi Hotel
#467 of 578 in Hanoi
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport Hotel Hanoi
Sport Hotel Hanoi
#308 of 578 in Hanoi
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Capital Garden Hotel
Capital Garden Hotel
#420 of 578 in Hanoi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#200 of 578 in Hanoi
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Obis Hotel
#123 of 577 in Hanoi
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Violin
#118 of 341 in Hanoi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix Hotel

Property: Hanoi Phoenix Hotel
Address: 43 Bat Su Street | Cau Giay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoang Anh Hotel- Tran Duy Hung is Conveniently located in the Cau Giay District.Whether you are on a business trip or a leisure vacation, our 24-hour on duty courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff will take the utmost care during your stay to ensure you have a memorable time in Hanoi.For those of you just passing through we offer a transit stop so you can securely store you pack while you wonder arround Hanoi and grab a shower before leaving on night trains and buses for other exciting destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing