We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home (far)away from home !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
herwen
1 review
“a home (far)away from home !”
Reviewed 25 December 2009

people make the hotel and the people were warm and friendly.
we ,Sil and Riet from Holland, stay one week in Lakeside and we have a very good / nice time in Lakeside.The staff had very good information and we dit not mis the travelagent.
In more than one hotel in Vietnam we missed a english speaken person but in Hanoi Lakeside it was perfect ! situated near tHoan Kiem Lake and the old quarter it is a PERFECT place to visit Hanoi.
When you visit Hanoi go to Hanoi Lakeside!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silHerwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    235
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
176
482
131
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2009

The hotel was a pleasant surprise - the ride from the airport was there waiting for me; the staff would constantly go the extra mile. Although language was sometimes a challenge they didn't simply pretend to understand, they perservered until they did understand. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and very clean. I can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMcCleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The staff are very friendly from the moment you pull up outside in a taxi unti you leave! Mrs Huyen and the staff are all very helpful and ensure you are happy with everything. The rooms are compact but for the cost and taking into account you are in a city centre hotel you can't complain. All rooms are very clean and have everything you may need in them. Breakfast was included and was very quickly served to you by the lovely kitchen staff.
The hotel is in the middle of the organised choas of Hanoi and only 2 minute walk to the lake. Plenty of bars and restaurants on your doorstep which are all really cheap - you struggle to spend any money in Hanoi!
Only downside to the hotel is that there was buidling work opposite which woke us up at 6.30am each morning, but this should be finished shortly. The staff apologised for the noise but there was nothing they could do about it. There is quite a lot of building work in Hanoi so I'm sure you could encounter this problem wherever you stay.

Overall a great little hotel with fantastic staff!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinkysWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Top-notch service from Mrs Linh and her staff; from the complimentary use of their shower facilities even if you have checked out, to offering a haven for our luggage when we didnt feel comfortable leaving them in another hotel (Mrs Linh ran out of rooms to offer us for our unplanned additional night in Hanoi, so we stayed at another hotel which was painful).

Rooms were very clean, spacious, and the beds, comfotable. When I go back to Hanoi, this is the hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We cannot recommend Hanoi Lakeside Hotel highly enough - it is a true gem in Hanoi and easily one of the best hotels we have stayed in on our 6 month trip around Asia. We originally booked to stay at Hanoi Guesthouse, but they were full so we were transferred to Hanoi Lakeside hotel (they paid for the taxi). Our stay here has been brilliant and the staff are incredible; they speak excellent English and helped us with so many parts of our stay here whether it was booking a trip, finding a supermarket or looking up the times of films at the cinema - nothing was too much trouble for them. Excellent wifi connection in every room as well as computers in the entrance hall downstairs.
There was some construction work going on opposite the hotel, but this is something they cannot control and it is not too loud. They were more than happy to move us to the other side of the hotel when we mentioned it which was good of them. Having been in Asia for over several months now it is incredibly hard to find a hotel in a city with no noise outside on the street, so this is not something that should be held against this hotel in any way.

My boyfriend and I booked our Halong Bay and Sapa trips through the hotel and were very pleased with both. We went on the Halong Phoenix Cruiser for 3 days/2 nights and would recommend this boat to others. We stored our bags at the hotel and they had a room ready for us on our return. The trip to Sapa was a success as well and we were thrilled to see someone from the hotel with our names on a sign standing at Hanoi train station waiting for us at 5am in the morning! Again, a room was ready for us when we arrived so we were able to go back to sleep. Customer service here is their highest priority and they make you feel so special and valued, which is worth every penny.

Our stay in Hanoi has been so easy and the trips excellent and a lot of this is down to the hotel - you would be absolutely crackers not to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
313 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The staff was very polite and helpful, they tried to solve all problems we had and gave us any information and services we needed

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I was there in November 2009 with 3 other girlfriends. Prior to the trip, many emails were exchanged between Mrs Linh and us as we had many queries. Mrs Linh was prompt and detailed with her responses and that's why the choice.
I am extremely impressed with the hotel staff's services. Not sure if it is family-run, but they definitely gave me a very sincere and warm feeling. In fact, when we requested for directions to purchase poker cards and bread for our night train to Sapa, one of the staff went out quickly to purchase it for us.
Everything was carefully planned for us, since we booked the day trips through the hotel, it was ensured that there were people to pick us up after the trips to take us back. Overall an impressive and memorable stay thanks to the friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toastert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 586 in Hanoi
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing