We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hanoi Ciao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Ciao Hotel
Ranked #221 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay in this hotel. Staff were very knowledgable and friendly ( thanks for the extra blanket!!!), the room spacious and clean, breakfast was nice and the hotel in a good location. Would stay there again if we went back to Hanoi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrsmantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Ciao Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very polite and friendly staff. always making us feel comfortable. The room was very cozy and clean. A very restpect experience and great on to and our trip in North Vietnam.Breakfast was yummy, fresh seasonal fruit.Will also come back when we come to Hanoi again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Hotel Ciao is located next to St. Joseph's Catholic church in the French Quarter of Hanoi thus accounting for the church bells ringing at all times of the day and night. If you don't mind the bells, it a convenient, clean and reasonably priced place to stay so this place may fit the bill.

Smallish, clean bathroom with lots of hot water which is great in winter months as Hanoi can get down right chilly in February and early March.

While a taxi can only drop you off near the hotel, as the streets are too narrow, the staff will arrange to greet you provided you give advance notice. They will even pick you up at the airport for about $20. I've gotten rides for as low as $16 from other hotels of equal price.

Safe and reliable. Each room has a hotel safe and offers peace of mind although the country as a whole has been safe traveling for me.

Good location and least you forget, Hanoi is a walking city, but be 100% alert when you cross streets. A little practice will do you...try not to text and walk at the same time as you'll get run over or trip on the uneven sidewalks which by the way, seemed to be reserved mainly for parking motorbikes.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the back away from the church
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The best and affordable hotel ive been so far. The staff especially Lan is quite helpful to all the customer and really ease my vacation there. The place also strategic at the centre of the old quarter.Definitely i will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is the best hotel that i stayed.The room price were reasonably, clean and breakfast were good. Internet and wifi are strongly available in the room. Located at a short walk from the cathedral, hoan kiem lake and the centre of town. All staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The girl who works at reception during the day is absolutely lovely and very kind. We were very happy with hanoi ciao hotel and would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew26678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Room was lovely both times we stayed. Its in a really good location and the booking office helped us book our tour to Halong Bay.
The only reason the hotel didnt get 4 stars is that one room had a problem with ants.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location is amazing, it is right in the heart of the old quarter with the cathedral 30 seconds walk and the lake just 2 minutes walk away. There is a real buzz in the evening in this area and so many local places to eat and drink right outside, it is the perfect position to explore the city. The transfer service from the airport was well worth it as it was a long way on the busy roads. The hotel inside was quite basic but clean and offers a good breakfast. The staff were very friendly and the only problem we had was that we paid for 2kilos of laundry and it wasn't washed, they returned it unclean which spoiled the stay. I wouldn't give it a bad score because of this but just beware, take your laundry elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraCarter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#210 of 596 in Hanoi
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#167 of 596 in Hanoi
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#40 of 596 in Hanoi
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#182 of 596 in Hanoi
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Ciao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Ciao Hotel

Address: No.8 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Splendid Star Classic Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £16 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, Hanoi Ciao Hotel is a quiet retreat after a busy day visiting the streets and noisy life outside. Staying at Hanoi Ciao hotel, the visitors will feel the warm and friendly as in their own house by style not fussy, simple and enthusiastic service also friendly staff.On the other hand, staying here, the guests can easily find restaurants with suitable dishes in Vietnames ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Ciao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing