We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience with affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #388 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
malaysia
1 review
“Excellent experience with affordable price”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The hotel arranged our transportation to and from the airport which was very helpful. We stayed for 3 nights and the staffs never failed to impress us with their friendliness and thoughfulness in arranging our day tour to the Perfume Pagoda. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Request for the rooms with balcony if you would like to sit out on the porch and check out the locals eating their fermented pig skin skewers along the back alley! Located a mere 10 mins from the central lake and less than a 100 steps from the cathedral, food lovers would not be disappointed with a variety of local and international cuisines at a range of prices. What do we like best? The staff who went out of the way to pick up a snack that we found at a roadside stall and even brought us there to buy some to bring home. Breakfast of beef/chicken noodles soup is highly recommended, but if you love bread, the baguette is not to be missed. A very nice experience and we will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudowilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I had the best time at this hotel. Stayed here twice, 3 nights in Dec 2009 and 2 nights in Jan 2010. The hotel manager, Peter was so friendly, and so was his staff, Hung (pronounced like the Dutch Hoeng or (French Houng) NOT the English HUNG). Both got out of their way to assist me in making my stay more enjoyable and unforgettable. Hung was extremely hospitable. He drove me around the city of Hanoi in his motorbike when he was not working. He also introduced me to the Vietnamese culture and customs.

The hotel is strategically located near the Catholic Church. Lots of cheap food sold on the side streets. The service was excellent.

The room I was staying at which was on the 4th floor was a bit small but was very clean, with bathroom attached. Lots of hot shower. Also, breakfast was included. The room rate was US$18 per night for a single room.

The second time I stayed here on 2 and 3 Jan 2010, i requested to be put on the dorm on the 3rd floor. It cost me US$8 a night (room only, no Breakfast). Good value if u r on a tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verbazingwekkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Definitely worth the value. Besides the very friendly and helpful staff, they were always ready to accommodate ones' situation such as, we arrived twice 5 a.m. in the morning and we were picked up, fed(excellent breakfast) and given a room early.
Perfect location in the old part of town...easy access/walking distance to most everything.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mica1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Had an unpleasant start of our 4 days holidays as the hotel which we booked and confirmed months ahead was not available (Michael Hake was the director and owns this hotel too). We were met on arrival at the airport and driven to Hanoi Golden Plaza to meet Peter, Michael's brother, who took the trouble to explain and apologised for the inconvenience. Peter took me to view a few neighbouring hotels but finally we settled for this hotel because all of them looked the same in terms of 'feel' and facilities. You must however stay here with an open mind as this is a budget hotel afterall and the facilities/product reflects the rates charged. The product is basic but clean and the breakfast consists of eggs with french loaf or beef/chicken Pho. What really made up for the stay was Peter and his small team of staff who were genuinely helpful and sincere. If not for them, we would have resigned to the fate that our holiday in Hanoi would be totally messed up and miserable. If you are looking for budget accommodation, I would reccommend this hotel on the strength of their friendly and sincere service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengecko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed at Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel for 5 nights during our time in Hanoi. It was at the end of our trip up from Saigon and we were pleased to end it at such a good hotel. The staff can organise everthing you could wish to do in and around Hanoi (including trips to Sapa and Halong bay) Hung even came with us to the Snake village and ate cobra with us and without him we would have certainly gotten lost. They will tell you the "real" price of things and stop you from getting ripped off and have an honest taxi waiting for you 5 minutes after you ask. I enjoyed the cold beers and my partner loved the complimentary lemon juices (good to mix with vodka).
The rooms are nice and clean and the price is fair. There is room to leave your luggage while you travel to Sapa and Halong bay and free showers before you get on the night train or when you get back also. Hung even took us to the station to ensure we got on the right train. The free breakfasts are also the best we had.
We would like to thank Peter, Hung and Sun for a most enjoyable stay at their hotel.
Jace and Alison
Perth, Australia

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
In between the 2 nights we had a trip to Sapa and our arrival time back to this hotel was around 6am in the morning.
Although our room where not available til 12pm the staff were kind enough to let us rest in another room that was free of charge.
Our location was great right opposite St.Patricks cathedral so you couldn't possibly get lost.
For our budget room we had a dvd player and internet which was a great surprise because other expensive hotels which we had been to previously did not have either of those features.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in good value with kind and friendly staff.
KC Melbourne OZ

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc3Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I highly recommend Hanoi Golden Plaza. Besides the very affordable rooms and a great central location, I would especially recommend it for superb service provided by Hung and team. They helped organise my entire trip (train and plane tickets, hotel bookings, recommendations) without the slighest hitch.
When I go back, I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjitsingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Ciao Hotel
Hanoi Ciao Hotel
#217 of 588 in Hanoi
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#208 of 588 in Hanoi
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#114 of 588 in Hanoi
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#155 of 588 in Hanoi
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel

Property: Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel
Address: 22 Tho Xuong, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Hanoi Golden Plaza is amazingly perfect combination of our hotel service which far exceeds all other hotels in Hanoi.The hotel is perfectly located to explore the Old Quarter such as Hanoi Catheral (just a few steps), Hoan Kiem lake etc. All are within walking distance of the hotel..At the hotel guests will enjoy a luxurious stay taken very good care by a team of dedicated and profesional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing