We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ha noi Old Quarter in my mind.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #157 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ha noi Old Quarter in my mind.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Ha noi Old Quarter , very special to me. It's like a general department store giant, with the area where traders and craftsmen with a commodity business - something I can not see the United States. Besides the buildings bearing ancient architecture of France, the high-rise commercial buildings could suddenly see a pavilion, a temple hidden deep in the small alley. It's a beautiful culture of the people of Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    64
    24
    14
    15
See reviews for
39
88
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

. My family came to the hotel on 6/12/2011. After a long flight from USA to Hanoi (with connection in Taipei), my family did not pay much attention to the hotel because we were all tired. We slept to refresh ourselves for the next day trip. The next we went away from the hotel for a 2-day trip in Halong Bay. We came back to the hotel on the evening of 6/14/2011. As we were looking around the room we noticed rat droppings on the sofa and in the corners of the room. We also found a cabinet with unrepaired glass door. The bath room was smelly. The next day, after a local tour in Hanoi, we again noticed again rat droppings in the same areas. In addition, we found that our suitcases have been raided by rat; some of our cloth our dry food bags were destroyed with holes by rat chewing. The hotel snack basket on the counter was also raided by the rat. These findings suggest the hotel was not clean and was with rat infestation. We could not continue to stay any further longer in the hotel because the potential of being sick as result of exposure to unhealthy condition. I called Expedia customer representative to state that I wanted to cancel the rest of our family stay with the hotel and request a refund then. I was told that we have to check out of the hotel first. At 8:00 AM on the morning of 6/16/2011, we checked out of the hotel and explained to the manager of the hotel. The hotel manager essentially played dump stating that she could not believe our room was unclean with rat infestation. As we were standing, we saw (including the manager) a rat crawling down from second floor to the first floor along the utility lines.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here Janaury this year, for a few nights before our trip around Vietnam, The room we had was very lovely very comfotable bed and the room was large. The staff were very helpful and friendly, Yen was great she even arranged out transport and hotel for the next stage of our Journey.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone its in the old quarter so good location to stay.
I know Yen reads trip advisor reviews so i hope she reads this if so a big hello from Barry and Liz from England

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizlascell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

You can definitely find hotels in Hanoi for 15-20USD a night but with that, you will get what you pay for. Our room was beautiful, track lighting, comfortable bedding, and all the necessary accomodations one can enjoy. The hotel for the price was more than adequate.
However what made our money go the extra mile was the tag team customer service they have at this slice of Hanoi Heaven. Ye'n and Vie't, one during the day and the other during the evening they did everything to make sure our stay in Hanoi and Vietnam in general was nothing short of splendid. From trip planning, to cab hailing, to showing us the best places to eat in town. Everything asked was granted and always accompanied by a smile and joyful demeanor.
Thank you very much Old Quarter Hanoi and a huge thank you to both Ye'n and Vie't!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakechandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Hanoi was the last destination during our Vietnam holiday. The Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel was not very easy to find, but once you get there, everything seems to be allright.
The hotel is quite small and has its own charm. The rooms are not luxurious, but have all you need.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They give useful tips of where to eat and what to do in Hanoi. As the hotel is small they can take care of your concerns and solve problems as soon as possible. The hotel also orders taxis for you without delay and, if necessary, explains the driver where to go so that you reach your destination safely.
Despite the lack in space and the tiny room, the bathroom is huge- with a bathtub, a separate shower, and the crowning piece of the toilet itself which was equipped with a remote.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcouple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2010. The location is great for those wishing to explore the Old Quarter.

We stayed in a suite, which was very spacious, with a queen bed and two singles. The decor was somewhat dated, but well maintained and clean. The windows were double glazed which kept out most of the street noise.

We booked a tour to Halong bay through the front desk. The tour was very good, on a well equipped boat, all at a reasonable price.

This hotel is very well located if you are taking a motorcycle tour with Offroad Vietnam. Their office is about 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

The hotel looks great on the net but when you stay there, you will realise how much this place has been neglected and unmaintained!
Their are electricity power points hanging from the wall with just plastic insulation tape covering the joins! In the shower of one room they had obviously fitted a new hot water service to the shower and the wires were hanging out with.... you guessed it, plastic insulation tape covering the joins! The rooms were covered in dust and stank of mildew.
They have replaced pains of glass in the ensuite door with white plastic and the neighbours are up all night in the lane behind with lights on and the curtains don't bock the incoming light.
The staff, when we left didn't smile at us or thank us for staying there and if you ask for directions they look at you like you have two heads and then draw a line on a map and say its here! Well and good if you've lived there all your life.
The breakfast buffet is very ordinary but the lady cooking the breakfast was very nice although couldn't speak english was very freindly, unlike the reception ladies who run hot and cold. (mostly cold).
There are plenty of better hotels in the old quarter to stay so don't waste your time and money here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cairnsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Spring Hotel
Golden Spring Hotel
#155 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing