We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has changed a lot since I last stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #153 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has changed a lot since I last stayed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here in 2010 and had a great experience. Sadly, this was not the case on my last visit trip.

Between the 3 of us, we rented 2 rooms. I woke to hear rodents in my room during the night, and my sister found it difficult to sleep due to an overpowering mould smell. The lobby was very untidy and the breakfast was inedible.

We have both stayed in cheap accommodation all over S.E.A. so had realistic expectations, but frankly, this place is a dump.

We were booked to stay here for 4 nights, but ended up leaving after only one.

I felt embarrassed to have recommended this place to my family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    67
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
41
92
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but when you get inside it's great! The rooms are nice, the breakfast buffet was enjoyable and the staff are more than willing to help with anything. Close to numerous restaurants and markets-which are also worth looking at. Overall, great hotel- I would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Hanoi Old quarter, it's affordable with families as well

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsweetascinnamonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our stay at the Old Quarter hotel was brilliant from the prompt replies to emails before we arrived to the brilliant friendly service we got from Biet and the lads. Stayed in family room.....it was huge and even though next to busy road was very well soundproofed. Arranged tours to Hoa Loa Tam Coc and Halong through hotel and got great value for money. Staff couldnt have been more helpful from recommending places to eat, getting washing done to letting us stay in room until 10pm to catch the night train. Also location is spot on, just around the corner from the crazyness which is the old quarter and easy walk to the lake.......and street with dozens of cafes ( you've got to try an egg coffee). Would definitely recommend for families....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brydon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The people that run the hotel are always smiling and ready to help with anything! It's a great location with large rooms and bathrooms. Internet was dependable, room always clean. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband chose this hotel because of the reviews we read here. The location is right infront of the busy street. but very accessible to bars,and markets along old quarter area. Yes, the staff is super friendly and helpful and the room is clean. we have a "humongous" room with a humongous TV that doesn't work on the day we checked in (Feb.5-8,2014). I immediately notified the staff and they promised to have it fixed. but never did! breakfast is good as ordered, but not many choices. overall this hotel is just average. like i said, you get what you paid for,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Maita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A great hotel. The staff of this hotel is their greatest asset. They were extremely helpful, pleasant and nice. They were the most helpful of any hotel, I stayed in during my four week visit to Vietnam. The room was massive and very comfortable. The only problem I had was with the shower. It didn't hang so had to hold it. I would definitely still stayed there again! Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This was the first hotel we staying at upon arriving in Vietnam. When we arrived someone carried our bags up to our room (which I haven't had at most $40+ per night hotels). When we walked into our room I was overwhelmed at how large and beautifully decorated it was. Something I have never experienced coming from Australia is a heated toilet seat.. Sounds weird but very cool! This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that the hotel itself is better in person than the published photos. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much to ask. The included breakfast is simple but very tasty. If I ever visit Hanoi again I wouldn't doubt staying here again and have already recommended it to fellow travellers I have met along the way.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2minnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Property: Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing