We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Old Hanoi”
Review of Cinnamon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinnamon Hotel
Ranked #108 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best spot in Old Hanoi”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The location of this hotel is about as good as it gets if you are interested in the old quarter of Hanoi. There's an excellent (albeit a tad expensive per VN standards) restaurant literally around the corner, Madame Hein. Gourmet Vietnamese cuisine. As to the hotel, I have never had a more enjoyable experience with the staff. Absolutely incredible, attentive, fun, happy and the gestures from spelling out the word "WELCOME" on the bedspread with flower petals and leaves (I'm serous) to a warm cup of ginger and lemon grass tea waiting for us in the lobby after a day-long outing made us feel more than at home. The staff, including Sony the manager and the engaging Yen, were just joys to see every day. Ask Yen about joining you for an outing, she helped us on day trips and overnights to the countryside. Truly, this is a great place to land in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the opposite side of the Catholic Cathedral, the bells ringing can be a bit annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    80
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
39
111
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed in the Cinnamon Hotel for an extended period of 3 months whilst working in Hanoi. I looked far and wide for a boutique style hotel in the old quarter, and was really happy when I stumbled across the Cinnamon hotel. It is in an amazing location, right next to the French Cathedral, and the decor is a lovely mix of old colonial styles with contemporary Asian interior. There is a lot of heavy dark wood with lovely tall wooden shutters which keeps the room feeling cool and also gives you a great view over the cathedral and square (although if its a bit noisy for you, the rooms on the other side are better).

The staff were absolutely amazing and made me feel incredibly safe and looked after during my stay- which was important as I was travelling alone. Houang and Giang were always very friendly and chatty and always ready to welcome new visitors. Also Mr Tieu (sorry if i have spelt this wrong) leads the household team extremely well and everything is cleaned and well kept to perfection.

I looked around a lot of hotels in Hanoi and can honestly say this was by far the best due to its location, style, staff and price. I will recommend to all my friends travelling there.

Room Tip: Lime or Basil are nice- but they are all lovely really, just depends if you want the view or if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili_0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This delightful, small (6 rooms) centuries old Boutique Hotel is right in the centre of the Old Quarter of town - everything is in walking distance. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very spacious. If you want to experience old-world Hanoi, stay at the Cinnamon Hotel.

Room Tip: The Cathedral Bells ring all night. Select a room on the other side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmcpdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place was amazing the staff were so welcoming and friendly even when you first walk through the door they give you tea! The cinnamon was in a fantastic spot you could get any where from it. The cathedral is right next door some times the bells will annoy you but the staff supply ear plugs! This place is AWESOME I highly recommend it so next time your in hanoi or Ho Chi Minh (Saigon)
Stay at the cinnamon
William 11 years old

Room Tip: Try and get a room further away from the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The staff at Cinnamon were so incredibly smiley and helpful in trying to facilitate every part of our trip and just an absolute pleasure to chat to. I was travelling in vietnam with my parents so they made our stay very easy and comfortable. Our room was spacious and quiet enough and the church bells were luckily not an issue for us. The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean an tidy but a little poorly lit, but somewhat atmospheric. The breakfast Pho was delicious and definitely one of the better ones id eaten during my travels.
We came back to Cinnamon at the end of our travels and it was so welcoming to come back and see the smiling faces and was a brilliant way to wrap up our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nada t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff at the Cinnamon hotel were very friendly and helpful. On returning to the hotel each day the girls at reception were keen to know what we’d seen and done. In common with one of the other reviewers on this page we were treated to 10 minute introduction to Vietnamese on arrival - a nice touch and very useful in the long term, but a bit surreal at 12:30am after 10 hours of travel!

Unfortunately, we made the mistake of not checking tripadvisor prior to booking our 2 stays at the hotel (at either end of our 2 week stay in Vietnam) so when the (very!) nearby Cathedral bells fired into action at 3am on our first night it came as something of a shock - I genuinely thought the staff were joking when they pointed out the complimentary earplugs! On subsequent nights, with earplugs in place, we slept much better. However, I think that unless you’re a very heavy sleeper or are already accustomed to lots of noise at night then expect interrupted sleep at the Cinnamon.

In terms of value for money, I’m not sure that the Cinnamon quite lived up to the USD69/night charge. Our friend was stayed at another hotel a few doors down for USD20/night less, got a buffet breakfast and double glazing - we were jealous!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very friendly staff, if a little bit unusual, we got a Vietnamese lesson after a 10 hour flight! Which actually came in very useful especially "Kong" the word for NO, very useful for tourists. The only bad point is the church bells which chime every hour and at 5am they chime for over 20 minutes. Earplugs are provided but even this is not enough to drown out the claggy old bells they are not even nice sounding bells. Breakfast is very good, room is reasonably clean but attention to detail is required as there were a few cobwebs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whynot808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.1 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#47 of 591 in Hanoi
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#41 of 591 in Hanoi
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#103 of 591 in Hanoi
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#60 of 591 in Hanoi
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#15 of 591 in Hanoi
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Hotel

Property: Cinnamon Hotel
Address: 26 Autrieu str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cinnamon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Hotel offers comfortable hotel rooms in a prime location in the old quarter of Hanoi. The beautiful St Josephs church is nearby and Hoan Kiem lake is only a few steps away. Cinnamon hotel is nestled among quiet, tree-lined streets surrounded by good restaurants, boutique shops, and the city's favourite hangouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Cinnamon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing