We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Flavorful Ice Cream!”
Review of Fanny

Fanny
Ranked #20 of 78 Dessert in Hanoi
Price range: US$2 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Not far from the previous Fanny ice cream parlor near Hoan Kiem Lake, new Fanny ice cream parlor located at 51 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoan Kiem District (at the corner of Ly Thuong Kiet and Quang Trung Street) is more spacious with 2 indoor elegant levels and a wide outdoor sitting space. New Fanny ice cream parlor with nice and delicious French ice cream combine with professional staffs will bring to customers the best experience ever.
Millersville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Incredibly Flavorful Ice Cream!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Prior to our trip to Hanoi, we had heard that Fanny's was the place to go to try cinnamon ice cream. We hunted this place down one night after a full day of exploring and we were not disappointed. Fanny's has a ton of flavors that one doesn't find in the United States: Avocado, Cinnamon, Durian, Soursop, Dragon Fruit, Salted Caramel, etc. We sampled a lot of their flavors and everything tasted exactly like the description - richly so! This ice cream is fresh, creamy, and just hits the spot!

Anyways, this place is worth multiple visits. At only $1.50/scoop, it's affordable and well worth the treat after seeing Hanoi!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seeingtheworld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    122
    55
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A cool treat on a hot day.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you need a break from the heat in Hanoi, on the southeast side of Hoan Kiem Lake is a great little ice cream shop. Lots of flavors to choose from.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank R8246RMrobertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The art of ice cream”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Came here every day during our stay in Hanoi ( 3 days) as it's on the way to our hotel. Ice cream on the menu book were very cute and nicely presented, basic flavours though. I'd recommend to just go by the scoop, some of the interesting ones are ginger, cinnamon, coconut and you can never go wrong with coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kopijunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ice-cream”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Genuine Japanese ice cream flavours. I am so in love with Green tea and Dark Chocolate ones. The location is very close to the centre area. Just wish the staff would be more attentive as they forget to bring water and napkin sometimes

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ice-cream, location so-so”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have been here with our kids as we know Fanny ice-cream from Saigon. The place in Saigon we loved, the place in Ha Noi is so-so. The ice-cream is great as in Saigon, but the place is not really special. We read that they moved just recently, maybe they will further improve the new shop also. As the weather was bad we also only had the opportunity to sit inside, it looked as if the seating area outside is nice.

Besides great ice-cream in ca. 40 different tastes (all the regular ones and more interesting ones like chili chocolate) they also serve other delicious-looking things based on ice-cream and an ok coffee.

So: if you want to have really good ice-cream with interesting flavors - go there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fanny also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Fanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing