We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moon View Hotel
Ranked #211 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you want to stay somewhere that allows you to soak up the atmosphere of real Hanoi this is the place for you. We loved it. The staff were outstanding. Always smiling and friendly and spoke really good English. The location was great – it is just a short distance away from all the hotels that all the western tourists stay in. From the hotel you can walk to the West Lake (about 700 metres away) and the fascinating old quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake (about 15 minutes walk). It is also a quick cyclo or taxi ride to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and the Temple of Literature.
We spent 2 nights at the Moon View Hotel in December 2012. We had warm welcome from the staff when we arrived and that friendly smile from all staff continued until we left. The room we had was large bright and very clean. Very clean bathroom with good shower and plenty of hot water. Buffet breakfast was served on the top floor restaurant which had great views over the west lake. There was plenty of choices of Asian and Western foods to suit everyone.
A highlight of our stay was being invited to the Christmas Eve party with loads of laughs, entertainment, great food and drinks.
When we return to Hanoi we will be staying again at the Moon View hotel and highly recommend it to anyone who comes to this city for the real taste of Vietnam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraterDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
23
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Recently stayed here on a "Wendy Wu" tour. The staff were very friendly and nothing was any trouble. We had a west facing room which had great views large bedroom and good en-suite. Only one lift, so sometimes a bit slow getting up and down, but on holidays... no big deal. Drink prices in the bar are reasonable and staff happy to serve. Breakfast was very good. Can not comment on the restaurant as we dined else where.

We found all staff including the GM were always friendly, helpful and enjoyed a chat if you made a little bit of an effort to engage them in conversation. We would be very happy to stay here again.

Rob and Chris from Sydney

Room Tip: We only had the higher west side, front of hotel... very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRobert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

If your trusty travel agent takes it upon themselves to recommend a hotel in Hanoi with a name like Bro and Sis it's an obvious acknowledgement that you are travellers with a certain sense of adventure. We wanted a place central enough to be able to wander at will, eat the local delicacies, drink the local beer and immerse ourselves in the culture. There's nothing wrong with the Sofitel, it's a perfectly grand hotel, but we turned it down in favour of Bro Sis', the two hotels are no more than a few minutes apart. We hired our taxi that the tourist information booth at the Airport in Hanoi. Be warned, it's quite a substantial drive from the Airport to the city of Hanoi. It will cost about 60 to 70 dollars and it's a good idea to book a two way trip. The taxi will be waiting at the allotted time for your return home.

Our immediate impression when the taxi pulled up at the hotel was that we'd been brought to the wrong place. The hotel we were to be staying at he's now called the Moonview, and it Is A bright clean recently renovated and modern hotel, and yes, its previous name was Bro and Sis'.

One of the less obvious advantages of this beautiful little hotel is the fact that it is sandwiched between an open fronted and cafe to the left, and the bank with adequate ATMs. You will quickly learn that working ATMs are not common in Hanoi.

The room was spotless and spacious. The bed was big and comfortable, there were lots of TV channels to choose from, and many of those in English. Internet was very fast and free, with a free Wi-Fi should you want to check your emails or browse the Internet while eating in the restaurant or curled up in a quiet nook at the well stocked bar on the ground floor. The Moonview was certainly a pleasant surprise. For $60.00 a night, including breakfasts you would be hard pressed to find much to complain about. The Vietnamese are naturally friendly and accommodating. This is a country where smiles and courtesy cost nothing. The treatment we received from the staff was just magnificent. Communication was no difficulty, English, while sometimes a little jumbled is spoken to a greater or lesser degree buy all the staff in the foyer. You are always greeted when leaving or entering the hotel with a pleasant smile, and a genuine smile at that. Doors are opened, taxis called and instructions given, and there is a genuine concern that you, as their guests are not taken advantage of by unscrupulous citizens.

Perhaps we were fortunate, but at night gazing out the window to the west we were treated to a view that made the hotel's new name perfectly apt. A big beautiful full moon rising over the skyline. In the absence of anything to complain about, that is, everything worked, the water was hot for a shower, the room was made up quickly and efficiently in the morning, and our week in Hanoi was made all the more enjoyable for having stayed at the moonview, I'm going to rate it a rare five stars. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a west facing room to get the fabulous view of the moon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank technolink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novorossiysk, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The name "Bro&Sis" stands for Brother and Sisters and implies the atmosphere of hospitality and friendliness provided by the hotel to its guests. And definitely you feel this atmosphere from the very beginning as you arrive. My compliments to the reception staff whose English is just perfect! There were a number of tourists from Great Britain who liked to talk to the reception staff for hours discussing everything. Bravo guys!
Located in the heart of Hanoi, just 5 minutes walk from the famous Old Quarter where you can easily lose yourself in the merchant streets looking alike but attentive hotel staff will provide you with a map and detailed instructions, so you will feel sure.
The hotel is a narrow 12-storeyed building overlooking the 2 biggest lakes in the city, containing 40 comfortable rooms. The rooms are spacious, equipped with all necessary modern facilities, full bathroom, coffee/tea making facilities. Add welcome fruit basket and flowers + free wi-fi access in the room and you will feel like home which is the main goal of this hotel.
I would definitely recommend Bro&Sis Hotel to all people coming to Hanoi with different purposes.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This a is a review of Bro & Sis on Cua Bac (not the on eon Hang Bun). The staff are friendly and they seem to try hard, but the hotel gives the overall impression of needing a good scrubbing or more than the superficial makeover it has gotten (it appears to have been an older hotel in its previous life before the Brother and Sister took over.) It prices itself with competition than . Rooms are large and neat, but dingy looking, furnished with cheap-looking furniture and lit with those terrible headache-inducing fluorescent lights. Smoking is allowed in the rooms, lobby, hallways and restaurant so the stench of cigarette smoke is also a real negative. Breakfast is so-so, again compared to it's competition. You can do much better for about the same price in the Truc Bach Lake area. It is also a bit far from the Old Quarter area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga,
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. First impressions were a bit of a disappointment, very worn hotel, old style key in lock doors, very basic bathroom with very very basic shower. Breakfast was very average and the only other meal we tried to eat in the restaurant was disturbed by the arrival of several large vermin running along the planter box garden outside the window. We asked for the meal to be brought to our room instead but when it arrived it was inedible so we had to go out to a restaurant instead. As it was our first hotel in Vietnam we thought that was just the standard of all Vietnamese 3 star hotels but after visiting Hue and Ho Chi Minh city as well we felt that we had just lucked out at the Bro & Sis. The staff were apologetic and did give us a 50% refund off the price of the uneaten meal but it was a big let down.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

There is not much more to say about this nice hotel. Very polite and helpful staff, a good breakfast, good and big rooms.

Of course it is a good "base camp" for discovering Hanoi.

One recommendation: If you use to sleep with an open window - insist for the upper floors and the backside of the hotel. The noise from the street is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#227 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Gate Hotel
Royal Gate Hotel
#445 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Emotion Hotel
Hanoi Emotion Hotel
#199 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
0.3 mi away
Super hotel Hanoi Old Quarter
0.2 mi away
Adamas Hanoi Hotel
Adamas Hanoi Hotel
#128 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon View Hotel

Property: Moon View Hotel
Address: 65 Cua Bac Street | Ba Dinh District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Bro&Sis Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 storeys hotel overlooking the West Lake & Truc Bach Lakes (the 2 biggest lakes in town) & Red River offering you a picturesque view from Top Lounge or rooms of hotel. A short drive of 5 minutes to the commercial and cultural centre of Hanoi and 40 min from the Noi Bai International Airport. 40 rooms, Western & Vietnamese cuisine on Top of hotel offer you daily Buffet Breakfast, selection of Room Service or A la cart menus. Meeting rooms for up to 50 people. High speed Internet in every room (Cable Connection) & Wifi in Restaurant, Lobby & Meeting Room is offered all FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moon View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing