We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice for either the budget biz traveller or tourists wanting easy access to Hanoi's Old Quarter”
Review of Moon View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon View Hotel
Ranked #212 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not the best choice for either the budget biz traveller or tourists wanting easy access to Hanoi's Old Quarter”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This a is a review of Bro & Sis on Cua Bac (not the on eon Hang Bun). The staff are friendly and they seem to try hard, but the hotel gives the overall impression of needing a good scrubbing or more than the superficial makeover it has gotten (it appears to have been an older hotel in its previous life before the Brother and Sister took over.) It prices itself with competition than . Rooms are large and neat, but dingy looking, furnished with cheap-looking furniture and lit with those terrible headache-inducing fluorescent lights. Smoking is allowed in the rooms, lobby, hallways and restaurant so the stench of cigarette smoke is also a real negative. Breakfast is so-so, again compared to it's competition. You can do much better for about the same price in the Truc Bach Lake area. It is also a bit far from the Old Quarter area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga,
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. First impressions were a bit of a disappointment, very worn hotel, old style key in lock doors, very basic bathroom with very very basic shower. Breakfast was very average and the only other meal we tried to eat in the restaurant was disturbed by the arrival of several large vermin running along the planter box garden outside the window. We asked for the meal to be brought to our room instead but when it arrived it was inedible so we had to go out to a restaurant instead. As it was our first hotel in Vietnam we thought that was just the standard of all Vietnamese 3 star hotels but after visiting Hue and Ho Chi Minh city as well we felt that we had just lucked out at the Bro & Sis. The staff were apologetic and did give us a 50% refund off the price of the uneaten meal but it was a big let down.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

There is not much more to say about this nice hotel. Very polite and helpful staff, a good breakfast, good and big rooms.

Of course it is a good "base camp" for discovering Hanoi.

One recommendation: If you use to sleep with an open window - insist for the upper floors and the backside of the hotel. The noise from the street is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

This hotel was booked for us as part of a tour and we were very happy. Our room was a good size and nice and clean. Bathroom was adequate and drinking water was provided in the room each day. The staff at both reception were friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the top floor was pretty good and the staff there were also good. We ate (alone) at the restaurant one evening and the food was well priced. The local dishes were quite good and once again the staff were very courteous and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GobBluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Stayed at the Bro & Sis for two nights in December. The rooms were quite large and clean. Bathroom was quite basic, but adquate.

It was nice to have somewhere quiet and clean to escape too after being out in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi.

The staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast area was nice with good views of the city.

Very impressed and great value for price, would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#242 of 585 in Hanoi
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
0.2 mi away
Tam Hotel
Tam Hotel
#222 of 585 in Hanoi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#183 of 585 in Hanoi
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Smile Hotel
#380 of 585 in Hanoi
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#150 of 585 in Hanoi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon View Hotel

Property: Moon View Hotel
Address: 65 Cua Bac Street | Ba Dinh District, Hanoi, Vietnam (Formerly Bro&Sis Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 storeys hotel overlooking the West Lake & Truc Bach Lakes (the 2 biggest lakes in town) & Red River offering you a picturesque view from Top Lounge or rooms of hotel. A short drive of 5 minutes to the commercial and cultural centre of Hanoi and 40 min from the Noi Bai International Airport. 40 rooms, Western & Vietnamese cuisine on Top of hotel offer you daily Buffet Breakfast, selection of Room Service or A la cart menus. Meeting rooms for up to 50 people. High speed Internet in every room (Cable Connection) & Wifi in Restaurant, Lobby & Meeting Room is offered all FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing