We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff, comfortable rooms”
Review of Dolphin II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin II Hotel
Ranked #424 of 595 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Stayed here for a total of 4 nights. The first two nights we stayed in a deluxe triple suite which was very spacious; came with a workstation plus computer, seperate lounge area and a huge bathroom with a spa/shower/steam room. The water pressure in the bathroom was a little weak and the multiple buttons and fancy knobs in the shower/spa were a little tricky. The airconditioning wasn't particularly efficient at cooling such a large space, so half of the room was a little hot and sticky, whille the other half was ice cold.
After two nights, we took a trip to Sapa and the hotel kept our bags for us. On our return at 5am in the morning, they also provided us with a room to shower and also breakfast before we took off again for Halong Bay. Again they kept our bags safely for us while we were away, and when we got back from the second trip, we were given a triple room.
The triple room was certainly a few steps down from the suite. With three of us plus luggage it was quite the tight squeeze, and not enough desk/table space for us. The bathroom was clean, but the shower temperature turned hot and cold sporadically.

All the staff here were extremely helpful and spoke quite good english. The boys on the door provide wonderful and personal service, and reception staff were always very willing to help. There are 2 computers with internet access in the lobby, and staff serve you water while you are using them.

Breakfast is on the top floor with great views over the city and also the lake. They have a mix of Vietnamese and European options; beef noodle soup, spring rolls, dumplings, pancakes, baguettes, toast, cereal, eggs, fruit and juice, tea and coffee. The food is constantly being replinished and staff are always on hand. There isn't a lot of seating though, which is a problem when the hotel is full (especially if there is a tour group needing to leave the hotel at the same time). One morning a few people couldn't find a seat at breakfast and had to wait.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the lake. great location. Definately would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin II Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

This hotel is well situated in the heart of the old city which is very convenient for people enjoying to walk in the town. The room was clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. Good value for money. On the top I have to say that the staff was very frendly and helped me a lot resolving problems I had after my credit card was misused by internet hackers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissBigjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Located in the Old Quarter, 5 minutes walk to the Lake, the Water Puppet Place, a small local market where orchids can be had for a dollar, endless rows of luggage, shoes, souvenir stores, authentic Vietnmese food stalls, upscale restaurants... I can go on and on. One cannot be more centrally located than at Indochina 2.

We stayed there 3 nights in a clean room with new modern dark wood furniture. Our room was not big but not tiny either. Our room did not have windows but it was just fine and quiet. The water pressure in our shower was strong. Some other rooms had tubs and were more spacious. There were two computers at the lobby for guest use, for checking email etc. Breakfast was served at the top floor which has a good view. There was a nice choice of Western and Vietnamese items available... eggs, bacon, pho, egg rolls, noodles, fruits, cheeses, cereals... quite nice. The only negative that comes to mind would be the mattress... very hard but I slept well anyway.

Other than its 5 star location and 3 star amenities, this hotel has a warm, wonderful, very hospitable staff. Cold drinks mysteriously appear when one lounges at their reception area. The woman at the reception desk, I can't remember her name accomodated our requests everytime, answered our questions with a genuine smile and even went out to hail us a cab and gave the cab directions. John, one of the managers, was equally pleasant. They had no problem understanding us altho all we spoke was English and we had no problem understanding their halting English. Polite, pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable, service oriented, I could not ask for more from hotel staff. We were so pleased with the overall service we gave the front desk woman a tip before we checked out. John was not around then. She had to be cajoled into accepting.

We enjoyed our time in Hanoi and staying at Indochina 2 played an important role in making that so. I'd highly recommend this hotel to travellers who want great value for their money. It was not the best hotel during our trip up and down Vietnam, that honor would have to go to the Camellia in Hue or the Sofitel in Dalat, but for Hanoi I think Indochina 2 is great choice.

Tips: Take cabs to go places, really cheap. Check out the Art Museum, one can feel the soul and get a good sense of the history of Vietnam in a non-didactic way. Do not miss overnighting on a boat in Halong. Halong was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

My father and I stayed 3 nights and then one additional night that same week after FRANK arranged our tour to Halong Bay on the Phoenix Cruiser (don't miss this!). We found this hotel purely by chance because as airline personnel, we weren't sure when we'd arrive and when we did, our original hotel was full. Our taxi driver suggested this and it was perfect. $75/nt. with two queen beds ( firm by US standards, but the pillows were soft and the additional quilts in the closet acted as a mattress pad). Very clean linens and towels. The room was well decorated and had its own computer. It was a good size too with additional chairs a vanity table and armoire. We were on the corner so we had windows on two sides of the room. The shower was in the corner of the bathroom with a sliding glass door. Very modern and spacious. We were on the 6th floor and this place has an elevator. Complimentary breakfast on the roof (8th floor) every morning. And the staff was awesome. Frank allowed us to hire him as an interpreter for the day. My father, an Air Force veteran, wanted to see the little town of Bac Giang about 30km northeast of Hanoi. Frank hired a driver and away we went. He took us to a village that made ceramics and we got a tour of the main building where the pottery was made. He later helped us navigate through the backstreets of Hanoi to find the remnants of a B-52 in a small lake. Frank brought us to his favorite restaurant in the Old Quarter and it was delicious.
I had the hotel keep some of our bags when we went to Halong Bay for the cruise. A typhoon hit and we were delayed from returning to Hanoi for our 2 remaining nights stay. I called the hotel and they were kind enough to refund one of the night's stay. They were very professional and you can tell they want to provide excellent customer service. I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed here when we first arrived in Hanoi beginning of June and liked the hotel staff and the location (which was not far from Hoan Kiem Lake) so much that when we had to come back to Hanoi to catch our connecting flight home we booked, via the net, 3 days at the end of our trip. The buffet breakfast up on the top floor overlooking part of the lake and surrounds was such a good way to start the day as the food was yummy. We were always welcomed back into the hotel with happy smiles.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin II Hotel

Address: 402 Pho Lo Ren Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Indochina II Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 595 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £22 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin II hotel offers you comfortable accommodation with Eastern traditional decoration. Close to the hotel you also find plenty of western and local restaurants, bars, ATM and other interesting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing