We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this place is a nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphin II Hotel
Ranked #417 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“this place is a nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

What an awful hotel. Rooms are filthy -- we slept with our clothes on. Bathroom is a joke. Plus the front desk employees have an attitude. it's unbelievable that anyone would stay more than one night in this dump. We found much better hotels for the same price after leaving this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asdf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

All on a sudden while browsing internet for looking a Hotel in Ha Noi, I found it, contacted over Phone, followed by Email with one it's great and active staff Lien who set my entire Vietnam programme nicely and accordingly Exceutied by me n my wife.. Wow a real great valu trip ever I had. Reception, WiFi, Room, Bathroom, Big Bed, overall cleanliness and friendly attitude of staff made my 4 day's visit a successfull one. Great city centre area only .8 Km from hotel, shopping centre and all other facility in near distance. we were really happy to be in IndoChina-II hotel. Nice Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mizan2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

Had NO balcony (as wotif site said) and no sauna.

Staff DID do their level best to make our stay happy however (Thanks to 'Mr.Tim' especially!)

Hotel was very noisy due to street traffic, but I slept fine regardless.
Spas were all very good and they paid for the taxi fare from motel to them.

(They had opening windows, which still suited us as smokers), so I negotiated with the concierge to get the room at the price BELOW the level of appointments that we were supposed to have, and put it to them that they refund us the $45 (cost of one night) at the end of our stay, or else we’d be going to another hotel and they would have to refund us in full for the 3 nights booked. After confirming with the manager via phone, they agreed to this – so you have to be on your toes and prepared to negotiate in order to be satisfied as you rightly should be for your money!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed for a total of 8 nights. The staff in this hotel could not have done more for me and my small group. The guys at reception were friendly and always helpful. The porters were excellent. Mr. Jim organised a trip to Hue, Ho Chi Minh City, Chau Doc and Pnom Penh, including planes, trains and boats- all for only $310 per person. The whole stay was an absolute pleasure. I promised the staff I would write a review as that was all they wanted for thanks. I recommend this hotel to anyone- and it doesn't hurt that the location is right by Hoan Kiem lake.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dineenstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

On the upside the hotel was in a great location, very central in the old city and with great wandering opportunities just outside, selection of good eateries, and places to absorb real Hanoi. Breakfast was an interesting local buffet affair which was fine - good strong coffee - always a winner for me. The hotel itself is in reasonable shape, we were quite happy with the room and ensuite facilities.

On the downside, eventually we worked out that rats scampering in the ceiling void was the cause of both noise in the night and plaster dust falling from the light fittings - if you're not an animal lover then this might be an issue for you! Like a previous reviewer we found the service rather too full on and not a little annoying, though it's appreciated that many find constant attention an attractive feature. There was also an issue with communication; we paid for a tour on arrival which was then denied by the management the following morning until we eventually had to identify the member of staff who actually took receipt of our payment. A long, full, staff meeting (in the dining room, which shares an open space with the reception area) saw all but the most junior person available to attempt to deal with guests for the best part of two hours one evening.

Given the many positive reviews it feels as though we may have been unlucky but some of our observations can't have been one off's. Sort of spoiled the experience of an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Good value hotel in the heart of the old quarter. About 100m or so from the main lake in Hanoi but th Ho Chi Minh musuem complex is about 3km away and cost about US$2 one way in a cab. The hotel was good value, room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was in good order. AC lacked a bit of power but it was fine once it got going for 30 mins or so. Didn't find the room noisy despite it being close to a busy street. Service was very friendly and staf would always carry our bags for us. 2 computers in the lobby with free internet as well.

The mananger, Mr Tim, was excellent. He organises tours and trips for hotel guests. At first it seems like the same old 'hard sell' but he does try his best to get you what you want out of your trip. We did a trip to Halong Bay which he booked for us and even let us pay on our return to the hotel. (Halong bay was good but more expensive than we had thought it would be) He also booked a flight to Hue and organised hotel and taxi for us. To add to his customer service, he even phoned us while we were on our travels to make sure we were happy with his recommendations and to see if we needed anything!

We felt comfortable and safe in the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

I stayed at Indochina II Hotel for two nights – the first of which was pretty horrible. My "Deluxe" room was tiny, grotty and pretty much falling apart. Not to mention the noise from a major road that was right under my window. And the bed was was like a slab of concrete, but more lumpy.

The staff moved me to a much nicer room after I complained about the room I was in and were very friendly.

The WiFi is also so slow it is pretty much unusable.

There are far better options for the price in Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monsieurmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin II Hotel

Property: Dolphin II Hotel
Address: 402 Pho Lo Ren Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Indochina II Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin II hotel offers you comfortable accommodation with Eastern traditional decoration. Close to the hotel you also find plenty of western and local restaurants, bars, ATM and other interesting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dolphin II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing