We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the electical system.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #84 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We toured with a large group of 33 throughout Cambodia and Vietnam. Hanoi was our last stop before heading back to the states. The location of this hotel is good and there are fine restaurants just a block or two away so you don't feel trapped in the hotel.
But, the room we were assigned was across from the elevator. I constantly heard the ringing of the elevators through the door.
The bed is very comfortable and the bath modern. Although the hand-held shower head needs attention so it doesn't spray into the rest of the bathroom. Great selection of TV stations.
The major problem was with the switches for all the lights. Seems there are two master switches, one by the front door and another near the bed. Never could figure out how to have only the option of turning on bathroom without rest of room lighting up, too. The second morning, the master was switched on and blew out all the lights except for the TV. An electrician had to come to the room to repair. Turn fair amount of time, since our plan was to go have breakfast prior to final day of tour. There was a language barrier on mastering the lighting options.
Would suggest this hotel only if you're at end of the hall. Breakfast buffet was included for our group. Good coffee and enjoyed the fruit juicer on the buffet. Nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to read that you like the location of the hotel, the comfortable bed and modern bath room as well as the breakfast offer. Please accept my apology for the problems you encountered regarding the light switches in the room. We are looking at a possibility to rectify this issue of having two master switches. It is generally not a problem, but it can be an annoyance for a second person in the room especially during the night time.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed at the Moevenpick for 2 nights before and after a visit to Halong Bay. The rooms were a good size, clean and stylish, although the bathroom in the room on our 2nd stay was quite cramped, I'd recommend asking for a corner room which our first room was.

I would also avoid a room near the lifts (our 2nd room) as they made loud "bings" every time the lift arrived on the floor which woke me early in the morning.

Another problem with the lifts is that there are only 2. When we tried to check out at 8am (the time for all the Halong Bay pickups, so it was very busy) it was impossible to get in a lift from the 3rd floor as they were all full by the time they reached us. We waited 15 minutes before we could get in one. There were no stairs we could see to take instead.

The breakfast buffet food was good, but the breakfast room was quite soul-less and not large enough. On our 2nd morning when there were no tables available we were shown to a function room(set up for a conference at one end) which had a few extra tables set up, down the corridor from the main room.

We visited this hotel on our honeymoon and it was the only hotel (out of 6 on our trip) that did not make some sort of honeymoon gesture or even comment. The front desk staff whilst efficient were some what abrupt and we did not feel they met 5 star standards,

It was very functional hotel that had more of a business feel than one for a luxury or romantic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimnem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2011

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and the good comments about our rooms. We have noted your feedback regarding the noise of the elevator landing bell and have already instructed the elevator company to reduce this noise as well as to increase the speed of the elevators in order to minimize the waiting time for our guests. I'm very dissapointed to hear that we didn't recognize the special nature of your visit and missed this opportunity to make your stay an even more memorable experience. Please allow my team and me to send you belated congratulations to your wedding.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stay there room 1116, from 16/03 till 18/03/2011. Everything was good except that the rooms (at least 1116) has no reverse airco or for the least it was not working properly. It doesn't seem to bother the staff very much when I ask them to send a technician to check the installation, they just reply that they will add an electrical heater !!! (Baby size of course). it did not make much difference !

I am now back to HCMC with a flu !! Can't blame them for that but sure "fresh" atmosphere of my room did not help.

This hotel lack a good ventilation system at the main entrance/lobby that can keep the cold air out of the building. The temperature in their lobby and lounge bar on GF was about 15 to 16°C. How do you want business people to have a good discussion in such condition ! My prospect just wanted to end the meeting as soon as they can !

For an hotel that claim to be a boutique hotel and for a price of 120 USD ++, this is not acceptable !!

It is a pity to give a negative note to Moevenpick Hanoi but the above stated two points have really ruined my stay there despite the fact that all the rest was good if not really good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2011

We truly appreciate your review of our property and I'm glad to read that in general you were happy with your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding the temperature of your room as well as in the lobby area. Please be informed that we are currently reviewing our heating and ventilation system across the hotel in order to avoid such inconveniences in the future.

My team and I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The room is fitted out differently with white, black and green decor. It is funky and comfortable. Location is very good, close to the old quarter and 4-5 good restaurants. Some things on the room service menu are well priced.

The gym is well fitted out. Buffet breakfast has what you would expect from a 4-5 star hotel.

The main issue we had was the service at the front desk. This was mostly due to language barrier (poor english). We found that they just say 'yes' to requests, but don't understand what they are saying yes too.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing your review of our hotel. We are very happy to read that you like our rooms, the central location of the hotel as well as the gym facilities. We appreciate you mentioning the language issue you experienced at front desk and can assure you that we will take the necessary actions in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future. Our goal is to constantly improve on our service levels and your feedback will certainly help us in achieving this.

We are glad to hear that you would stay with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Its highly recommended for business travellers, however since it is not a 5 stars hotel, there is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheery66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Thank you very much for the review written about our hotel. While we are actually positioning ourselves in the five star market and not amongst the 4 star rated hotels in the city, star ratings in my opinion are generally of little importance as long as guests enjoy their stay, like the facilities and feel that they have received value for the price paid.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel in the near future.

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. We slept really well. The room itself is on the small side, but very nicely decorated (as you can see from other travelers' photos of this hotel). The washroom was also small, but the rain-shower and the new design made up for it.

We signed up for the romance-package promotion and when we walked into the room, there was a nice bouquet of red roses.

The concierge was very helpful, though when we checked in, there were only 2 on duty and there was a 15-minute long wait. The next day, we went on a 3 hour private tour I had the concierge arrange for us prior to our arrival. It was a good tour. We enjoyed it and appreciated the hotel's help in coordinating.

The location of the hotel is convenient. It is next to a few shops and just a short walk to restaurants. Our package came with breakfast, so we had that at the hotel. It was fantastic. The restaurant staff was nice and helpful and the selection was fantastic. There must have been 30-40 hot/cold choices. There were even fresh waffles, along with a nice made-to-order egg and made-to-order pho noodle station.

We went for a foot massage at the spa and went to the gym. Both were fine.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. It was new, very good and very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Thank you very much for the great review written about our hotel. It is a pleasure to read all your positive remarks and I am happy that you have such a positive impression on our hotel. I hope your trip to Hanoi provided you with pleasant memories and you may opt to return in the near future.

Thanks again for sharing your experience on this forum.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Hotel is in a great location, with the best modern "hawker center" in Hanoi just a 2 minute walk away. Staff at the reception counter and business center were very good, and clearly had the right training. But the rest of the service quality falls short of the Moevenpick standards and expectations. The most disappointing was breakfast. Bacon was cold, scrambled eggs ordered were left on the counter with no one helping to alert me when it was ready, requests to clean table was ignored -- as mentioned, all probably due to lack of training and maybe lack of staff at peak breakfast times.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding the location as well as the service received by our reception and business center staff. I am obviously concerned about your observations during the breakfast and can assure you that we will immediately look at those issues and rectify them.

Once again, my apology for the service lapses you experienced during your recent stay. Your feeback will certainly help us improve our services further.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
2,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 600 in Hanoi
1,930 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 600 in Hanoi
1,854 reviews
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hanoi

Address: 83A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#32 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Hotel Hanoi is conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi's central business district, a 40 minute drive from Noi Bai international airport and only 5 minutes from the city centre and its Old Quarter. This makes our hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. With 154 well-appointed rooms and suites our hotel is the perfect base for a visit to Vietnam. Guests can relax and enjoy some fine dining in our restaurant or stay fit using our modern exercised equipment, massage and sauna facilities in the Kinetic Gym and Wellness Studio. Our well-equipped multi-purpose meeting rooms suitable for accommodating up to 110 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing