We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #80 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice enough hotel, lobby and rooms are good for Hanoi BUT this comes at a big price premium which in my opinion not worth it when compared to other hotels in Hanoi. Reception staff were not particularly friendly, bus boy took our bags then just left them on the trolley about 5m from where they were picked up. No wifi or breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi. We truly value your opinion as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing you with customer satisfaction for future visits.

It is certainly never our intent to disappoint our guests or provide anything less than the best in personal service and facilities and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations or our own service standards with regard to your arrival experience. Please know, that while this is not indicative of the level of service we typically provide, we will use your feedback to ensure future guests receive the level of service expected of our brand. I also want to acknowledge your comment regarding the fact that breakfast was not included in your rate, please know that we do offer many value added packages which include breakfast and other services, such as our In Residence Package, which is an “everything considered” approach, all bundled in one very reasonable price.

Again, my sincere apologies for failing to provide you with an impeccable visit. We certainly look forward to the opportunity in welcoming you back and serving you again in the refined ambiance and service excellence for which we are known and that you as our valued guests have come to expect from residing at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    525
    114
    20
    14
See reviews for
112
432
82
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here for work because it was close to my office. The location is good, in the center of the city and next to a chopping center. The neighborhood is full of cafes and restaurants and it is just a couple of blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake. The breakfast buffet was delicious. I had a front facing room, which I usually try to avoid in Vietnam because the street noise is so loud, but the room was quiet and I had no problem sleeping. My only complaint was that I had to call twice to get an iron in the room, and then the one they brought leaked water all over the place. But, other than that, everything was great!

Room Tip: Good views from the front, not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctordonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi . We know you have many choices when you travel and we really appreciate that you chose to stay with us on this occasion. I am grateful to receive your kind words, especially those regarding the quality of our breakfast, as well as those of our convenient location.

I also wanted to acknowledge your comments regarding the iron, which you had to call twice for. It is certainly never our intent to provide anything less than the best in personal service and facilities and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations and our own service standards; with untimely service and a defective iron. Please know that I will use your feedback to revisit our guest request call procedures and ensure that our follow up system does not fail and that we proactively call guests to ensure all requests have been completed on time and to the guests satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback on Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to continue ensuring your stays with us impress you and provide fond memories of Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at end of Oct 2013 from the greeting right down to the finish it was great. The room was good and the shower unbeleivable. Not too close to old town but a walk of about 20mins, you can at least kid yourself that you are walking off the breakfast. The breakfast is really good and should suit all tastes. The staff are really good even when one of the American ladies argued over a drinks bill (sorry usa but there is always someone who let the side down)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I sincerely appreciate that you have acknowledged so many positive elements of your stay; particularly the design and finish of our guestrooms, the quality of our breakfast and the friendly and helpful service you received from my colleagues. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery that Moevenpick is known for and I am pleased that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My partner and I started our 3 and a half week trip of Vietnam here. Hotel was clean and spacious, and the staffs were very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but also as the other reviews have stated enjoyed many meals at Quan An Ngon just around the corner so cheap and amazing meals!
We also booked a half-day city tour with the hotel and were not disappointed our guide was fantastic. His English was terrific and he knowledge on all Vietnam was top notch, we were very happy.
We stayed 3 nights here and would defiantly recommend and return to the Movenpick. My only complaint is no pool

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarleeWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements of your stay; particularly the size and quality of our guestrooms, as well as the friendly and helpful service you received from my colleagues. I am also grateful to know that you enjoyed your half day city tour, as this was conducted by one of our partner companies, I will of course pass on your kind words to their team.

We appreciate your recommending our property and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a room with two beds. The room was a good size in a central location. The shower has both a hand held spray and an overhead ceiling shower. The restaurant is spotless. I saw two woman with elbow high gloves scrubbing the bottom of the tables. I've NEVER seen that before. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Other meals are best taken at other restaurants that are better and for less money. The lobby bar is small and it is disappointing that smoking is allowed but culturally they are behind the rest of the world.

The hotel is around the corner from the Hoa Lo Prison (The Hanoi Hilton) and a restaurant called Quan An Ngon. You can get a great meal and a beer for $8!

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements of your stay; particularly the quality of our guestrooms, the convenient location of the hotel and the quality of our breakfast buffet. I am also grateful that you acknowledged the efforts, of our often overlooked, housekeeping staff who work very hard to ensure we maintain an immaculately clean environment for all of our guests.

We appreciate your recommending our property and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Everything you'd expect from a Moevenpick in one of the most charming cities in Southeast Asia. Location is within walking distance to most of Hanoi's must-see places, and after a long day at work or walking around, it was like coming "home". Loved the breakfast spread and the cool, quiet rooms. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miral F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our rooms, the restaurant and the convenient location of the hotel. It is also great to know that the hotel felt like a “home” to you and I trust you will continue to consider us as your ”Hanoi address”, when your travel plans bring you back to the city.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Centrally located and easy to walk into the old town. Good size bedrooms and the bathrooms are fully functioning with a great ceiling rose shower but are very compact. Our 6th floor room at the front still got a lot of traffic noise. Ask for a room at the back or in the higher floors if room noise disturbs you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nswburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipJonesF, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi and I sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for acknowledging the positive elements of your stay, particularly our guestroom product and the convenient location of the hotel within the city of Hanoi. I also wanted to acknowledge your comments on the traffic noise. While our windows have the highest levels of sound insulation, there are times when noise can be heard. That said and as you indicated, rooms located on the other side of the hotel, or on higher floors are more suited to those individuals who are more sensitive to this.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing you with customer satisfaction for future visits and to that end, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Philip Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 586 in Hanoi
1,767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 586 in Hanoi
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#76 of 586 in Hanoi
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hanoi

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Address: 83A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Hotel Hanoi is conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi's central business district, a 40 minute drive from Noi Bai international airport and only 5 minutes from the city centre and its Old Quarter. This makes our hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. With 154 well-appointed rooms and suites our hotel is the perfect base for a visit to Vietnam. Guests can relax and enjoy some fine dining in our restaurant or stay fit using our modern exercised equipment, massage and sauna facilities in the Kinetic Gym and Wellness Studio. Our well-equipped multi-purpose meeting rooms suitable for accommodating up to 110 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing