We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in great location - slightly removed from noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #76 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great hotel in great location - slightly removed from noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

A great comfortable and stylish boutique hotel.
Stylish rooms of average proportion. Close to a fabulous East meets West Hawkers Market for dinners out. Very busy with great meals and choice.
A good business or upper end leaisure hotel.
Fine shampoo,conditioner, sop, hairdryer. Comfortable bed and linen that is clean and inviting.
Safe in room.
One minor annoyance was that the bathroom light required the main light to be turned on in the bedroom to function. Somewhat inconvenient when your partner is still in bed sleeping.
All in all an excellent hotel.
We did not eat in as there were so many othr options in the city.
Hanoi is set on a beautiful lake and is an attractive city with much to do.
This hotel will not disappoint - a good base from which to escape the bustle and enjoy the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moment-of-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 1 April 2010
I would like to take thi opportunity to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you recommend it to other travelers.
I am aware of the problem regarding the light switches and we are looking at a possibility to rectify this. It is generally not a problem, but as you pointed out, it can be an annoyance for a second person in the room during the night time.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    502
    109
    18
    14
See reviews for
111
421
79
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nortumberland England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Very good food and room Rest .busy for breakfast but no one used it in the evening.Good priced small souvenier shop in the hotel.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 March 2010
Thank you very much for the high marks on our hotel. I very much appreciate you sharing your opinion on this platform.

Best regards,

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Right in the center of Hanoi and close to just about anywhere one may need or want to go. brand new hotel with outstanding design and very good service. Internet is chargable, but that is the case in every 5 star hotel I stayed in in Hanoi, so I guess that is just the way it is in Hanoi.
Rooms are spacious and very clean. Nothing negative I can say about it

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P_C_EUROPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
It is good to read that you enjoyed the hotel and it’s services. Being only about one year in operation, it is good to read that we have established ourselves well and that our customers appreciate the hotel.

We hope to build on this for the future and improve even further

Thanks again.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Stayed there 3 nights.
First negative is a hard mattress. A big golden and black leather settee and silver painted furniture is not everyone's taste. Good service, quiet clean room with city view.
Good variety for breakfast.
Internet access is charged but you can walk to the coffee shop down the street for free wifi and good cheap coffee.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikaan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
While we receive very positive remarks about our design in the hotel from the vast majority of customers, it is of course a question of personal taste and it is a pity that you did not like the furniture in our rooms. More important, and I hope you agree with me on this, is of course the service level in a hotel and I appreciate you pointing out that the service was up to your expectations.

I would also be happy to provide you with a softer bed on your next visit if this is your preference as we do have this option available as well.

Thanks you very much for your review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Moved here after a disappointing night at the Hilton and have to say it was actually even better than expected. Fantastic rooms and well run. The staff was friendly but not artificial and everything worked well. All in all one of the best hotels I stayed in Vietnam. Yes, service levels can't compare with Bangkok but that's generally a problem in Vietnam. I certainly will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErwinFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Reading your review, I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Indeed internet is still chargeable in Vietnam due to high costs of providing this service at a high speed and security level. We are however trying to reduce this cost in the future. I also have to agree with you that service levels in the country are not yet at par with destinations like Bangkok but we are working to close the gap.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We actually stayed in the Moevenpick Hanoi twice in 2010, just interrupted by a three-day cruise in Halong Bay. Our first room was on the 8th floor, the second one on the 10th. Both were equally equipped and furnished. And really - what you see on their homepage is what you get! We had a Superior City View Room which was very chic and you could tell easily that somebody had put a lot of effort and work into designing the rooms. The double bed was extremely comfortable and the room spacious enough for two. The bathroom as well as the room itself were in an absolute tidy and clean state, the thick towels and the high quality bedlinen added a further touch of luxury. And the best thing: the bedroom and bathroom were separated by a glass panel and so you could easily watch a movie on Star Movie channel while you were having a (rain)shower :-) (For a bit of privacy you just close the attached shutters.)
Also the staff is very friendly and when we on our second time round checked in and had a quick shower and then went out to the old quarter - the towels had been replaced and the room made up for night during our absence!
In a nutshell: luxurious, very chic & tidy, value for money, very friendly and helpful staff and only a ten minutes walk from the old quarter. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HET_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
My sincere “thank you” for sharing your experience at our hotel and for the kind words. I hope your trip to Vietnam left you with a positive impression of the country and you consider returning in the future.

I will certainly share your remarks with my team members as they are a great source of encouragement.

I also appreciate you pointing out that the photos of our website accurately reflect the actual product as it is important for us to not promise something to our customers that we are not able to keep.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Excellent location- everything worth seeing in Hanoi is within walking distance yet it is quiet and relaxed; many embassies and UN offices nearby. Rooms are spacious and very well appointed with really nice bathrooms; the whole hotel has a very classy air about it. Food is excellent. For Room Service the helpful staff recommended the BBQ Burger and it didn't disappoint! Some very nice local restaurants within a few minutes' walk; also a very decent local Starbucks clone right next door. Hanoi itself is a charming city, more laid back than the other SE-Asian capitals, very easy to walk around (just watch out for those mopeds! :) I didn't use that much taxi service but if you need one please ask the staff to recommend you which ones to take... apparently not all taxi companies in Hanoi give equally good and reasonably-priced service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscarr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
We appreciate your very positive words about our property and the service you experienced. I appreciate you sharing your experience on this platform and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future again.

Best regards,

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#80 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hanoi

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Address: 83A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Hotel Hanoi is conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi's central business district, a 40 minute drive from Noi Bai international airport and only 5 minutes from the city centre and its Old Quarter. This makes our hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. With 154 well-appointed rooms and suites our hotel is the perfect base for a visit to Vietnam. Guests can relax and enjoy some fine dining in our restaurant or stay fit using our modern exercised equipment, massage and sauna facilities in the Kinetic Gym and Wellness Studio. Our well-equipped multi-purpose meeting rooms suitable for accommodating up to 110 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing