We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel, close to old quarter but in quiet area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #74 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, close to old quarter but in quiet area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to Vietnam. Room was very nice, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Very clean rooms and an excellent breakfast (although very pricey at 20dollars a person).

Only downside was the concierge desk, we asked for recommendations for restaurants and halong bay cruise and were pretty disappointed with each. The staff are very young and while the rest of the experience was great, I would not be relying on their recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
We truly appreciate your positive review and are glad to read that you liked our rooms as well as the breakfast. Thank you for your feedback regarding the recommandations of our concierge team which we will discuss with them accordingly. Our goal is to constantly improve on our service levels and your feedback will certainly help us in achieving this.

My team and I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    488
    109
    16
    14
See reviews for
107
409
79
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel itself is very nice, and the rooms are great. The location is central. The services in the hotel are expensive though-- $20 for breakfast, $10/day for wifi, $50 for a ride to the airport, $8 to mail 4 post cards.

My friend and I were traveling together, and had made a reservations for 2 separate rooms. When we arrived, however, the staff failed to realize this, and instead bypassed the regular checkin process and whisked us up to a single room with a king size bed. Apparently, they thought the 2 of us would be sleeping there together. It was very embarrassing for us. Worse, upon realizing this, the lady doing the "private" checkin didn't apologize. Instead, she proceeded to tell us what she thought-- that we were "special guests" sharing a room together. Yeah, no kidding, I know what you were thinking. Next time, before embarrassing people, you might want to 1) check the reservation, and 2) be more subtle. That sense was completely lacking.

The hotel offers a shuttle to and from the airport at a rate of $50 each way. It is very pricey given that a taxi costs $15. Upon overhearing a conversation amongst other guests about the significantly lower cost of a taxi, we proceeded to question one of the staff about the cost of a taxi. They were not straightforward about it, and were clearly trying to dissuade us from canceling the shuttle for obvious reasons. Given that information up front, few would choose the shuttle option which is 3x the cost.

Finally, I bought some stamps from the small gift shop in the lobby. I was told I needed 8 stamps, with a face value of 10,500 VND. The lady then charged me 150,000 VND. When I asked how she arrived at that number, she did some random calculation and arrived at a result which was not what she charged me. She showed me the calculator, and I pointed out that the number being displayed on the calculator was not what she charged me, nor were any of the numbers being typed in related to the cost of the stamps nor the number of stamps I bought. She took the calculator back, did another random calculation, again coming up with a number which was not what she charged me, and showed me again. This process was repeated several times. Finally, I gave up, left to conclude that the person either made the price up (likely), or does not contain the capacity to multiply 2 numbers together. Overall, the amount of money in dispute was small. But this, combined with the other issues I faced with the staff left me feeling that they are not straightforward with their guests.

I would consider staying at this hotel again, based on the room cost and location. But I would recommend avoiding any of the services it offers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.com. I am of course deeply concerned about your observations on your recent visit, especially regarding your arrival experience. Receiving feedback like yours is essential for us in order to be able to address service issues as soon as they occur.

Please rest assured that we will immediately look at those issues in order to prevent such service lapses from reoccuring again.

I'm obviously very happy to read that you liked our rooms and the central location of the hotel.

We are hopeful that your next stay with us will be a pleasant one and I am always grateful for any feedback, whether positive or negative as this is the only way we can improve.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

We LOVED our stay at this hotel. I would go back again tomorrow if I could!

Lobby : The lobby is really really large, open, modern and inviting. As it was Christmas time, they had a large gingerbread house in the reception with a nativity scene - it was stunning. Very impressive.

Reception : The reception staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help us - they were a pleasure to deal with.

Room: Our room was awesome. The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom was huge and so modern and clean. The room had what you would expect for a hotel of this level : Laptop safe, mini bar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board etc. There was a really large flatscreen tv which has loads of chanels. I must say that the building next door is having a lot of work done to it which is a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper, just ask for a quiet room.

Restaurant : We had breakfast in the hotel (no other meals). My breakfast was divine! The hotel caters for all nationalities so you can have the national favourite Pho, a large variety of fruit, waffles, omlettes made to order....etc etc. The staff were very friendly and accommodating as well.

Location : You are right in the middle of everything. We walked everywhere as everything was so close by.

We loved this hotel and if we visit again, we will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Girl_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Thank you very much for the great review written about our hotel. It is a pleasure to read all your positive remarks and I am happy that you have such a positive impression on our hotel. I hope your trip to Hanoi provided you with pleasant memories and you may opt to return in the near future.

Thanks again for sharing your experience on this forum.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Great hotel,nice modern room,breakfast was excellent-big variety to choose from.room service food was not good.staff friendly and helpful.we would recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgecelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
I truly appreciate your positive review and I am glad to read that you liked our property, the breakfast, room service as well as the way our staff was looking after you during your stay at our hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Walking distance to Quan An Ngo, where you can find dishes of street local food in a modern setting which helpful staff and fast service. 25 to 35 VDG to the lake. 25 mi walk to Koto, the well known resturnt, reputed for an excellent meal through training life and culinary skills to street kids. Clean, quiet and new looking. There is a cafe in the next building. For aqua /mineral water, go to the local shop opposite Quan An Ngo. Toothbrush, toothpaste and robe - provided.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilipadiYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience on this platform and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future again.

Best regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
126 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

After visiting Hanoi a few times and stayed at different hotels around town, I must say this is one of the best run "international chain" hotels in Hanoi. But even hotel is part of the "chain", it gives people an elegant boutique hotel feel. Considering its location, hotel facilities, room quality, service standard, food quality and price, it is simply outstanding.

The only issue I will pick (if I must) is the internet charge which seems a bit high. Many hotels in Hanoi offer this service free of charge (and certainly the case for most hotels in HCMC) but this does not affect the overall great experience I had with Moevenpick. Also I will suggest fellow travelers take the breakfast option as you will not be disappointed! In all, I totally enjoyed my stay there and will not hesitate to go back for my future trips.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
We truly appreciate your very positive review and are glad to read that you like our hotel and felt well taken care of by our team. We are constantly trying to improve further and your kind feedback shows us that our training efforts are recongnized and reflected on the level of service provided to our guests. Please be informed that our internet prices are in line with other 5-star properties within the city and I believe that it is important for you to know that we are offering a very secure internet connection, which is imperative for many international travelers.

My team and I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Well run modern hotel....a cut above the other large chains.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrytravels10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickManthe, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy to read that we were able to meet your expectations and that you liked our hotel.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Patrick Manthe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#80 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#64 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hanoi

Property: Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Address: 83A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#53 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Hotel Hanoi is conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi's central business district, a 40 minute drive from Noi Bai international airport and only 5 minutes from the city centre and its Old Quarter. This makes our hotel ideal for business and leisure travelers. With 154 well-appointed rooms and suites our hotel is the perfect base for a visit to Vietnam. Guests can relax and enjoy some fine dining in our restaurant or stay fit using our modern exercised equipment, massage and sauna facilities in the Kinetic Gym and Wellness Studio. Our well-equipped multi-purpose meeting rooms suitable for accommodating up to 110 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing