We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Hotel Vietnam
Ranked #225 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here my first night in Hanoi and paid $25 for the room which was more than we expected to have to pay but we were tired so we took it. Upon first glance the room looks nice but the furniture was a bit dusty and under the bed had not been cleaned for some time.

The bathroom was not very nice. the sink was coming off the wall a little and so all the water couldn't drain. My friend also noticed little worms in the water. Perhaps that is commonplace in Vietnam?!

The balcony was nice to sit out on. Very good for people watching but it is a busy road and so very very noisy.

We returned to the hotel about 1am and had to bang on the shutter and shout for about 5 minutes until someone opened it. We were not told about the closing time when we checked in. Seems this is common in a lot of hotels in Hanoi but prior warning would have been nice.

We stayed for one night as we wanted to find a cheaper hotel. When we checked out the receptionist asked where we were going and when i told her we were going to a different hotel for just $17 dollars she offered us the room at the same price. We didn't stay. Would have been nice to have been offered their best rate to begin with.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our first experience of this place started like this:

Me: I'm sorry, but our room really stinks we cannot stay in it
Hotel: Noooo, room does not stink
Me: I'm afraid it does. Very much so
Hotel: Can you come back later, we are eating (it was 10pm)
Me: Emm, NO!
Hotel: Sorry we are full
Me: Ok we must leave then
Hotel: Ok, Ok. (Gave us key for opposite room which took all of 1 minute)

It did get better after that. The location is fantastic and it is very cheap so all in all we were satisfied with our stay here. Just make sure you check out the rooms first!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Staff are really helpful, very reasonably priced for Hanoi @ $15/night. Rooms have nice feel to them and are all unique. all have ac. Would be nice if the tv's had some English channels. Rooms could do with a good old clean as they are a tad dusty and dirty, but bed linen etc... Is all clean enough. Would definitely stay here again. Nice place to chill downstairs aswell, food is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Room was basic (room 201) but a good size.

Location is very good for the old quarter and wandering the busy streets. The room had a balcony overlooking hang be - which was good. The noise didn't bother me.

Room had nice cold ac and picked up free wifi from somewhere. Water hot but no towels - perhaps you had to ask, but had my own anyway.

Breakfast was enjoyable - banana pancakes and coffee watching the busy street pass by.

Helpful staff on hand.

Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ckellygoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

You need to check out from your room first.The room is very small and tiny. There is no window in my room. The staff are firendly but the girl name Hien try to sell tours to us with expensive price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skillerjer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Decent breakfast- good location. Restaurant on ground floor is nice. No ability to make phone calls. Beds are rock-hard. Overcharged for breakfast. It was $30 for a regular room. Balconies are nice. A decent option but looking for somewhere else for our next pass through Hanoi.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I've stayed in many hotels in Hanoi over the years and easily believe the Bamboo Hotel is one of the best! I had a good sized,clean and quiet room at the top of the hotel.In many Hanoi hotels the staff tend to be all friendly and welcoming when you first arrive and then lose interest in you once you've stayed awhile.After 3 weeks the staff were still as nice,friendly and helpful as my first day!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking a relaxing and reasonably priced place to stay in Hanoi.
Big THANKS to all the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#143 of 599 in Hanoi
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#133 of 599 in Hanoi
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#198 of 599 in Hanoi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#480 of 599 in Hanoi
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#125 of 599 in Hanoi
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel 2
Hanoi Boutique Hotel 2
#321 of 599 in Hanoi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hotel Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hotel Vietnam

Address: 32 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Hotel Vietnam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi BAMBOO Hotel highly is recommended by the Lonely Planet. It is a great place to base yourself as you explore the delights of our fine city, as many attractions are only a short walk away from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bamboo Hotel Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing