We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #12 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Okahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Superb management, central location in old city, inexpensive. Add it all up and you cannot go wrong with this little hotel. Get a suite on upper level. The manager can arrange all activities from Halong bay to dinner reservations. Spend an afternoon however at the old colonial hotel Metropole, for lunch and drinks. An interesting city, lots of young people, not much memory of the war and more motorbikes than you've ever seen (look both ways twice before you cross)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FCLOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,626
    238
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
501
1,480
199
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We usually stay at fancier places, honestly, but I can honestly say that we have NEVER, EVER, EVER had better service ANYWHERE in the world!!! The staff at the Elegance Ruby is second to NONE. I can't even believe what they did for us, from booking airline tickets and tours to mailing a birdcage purchase that I knew wouldn't fit in the overhead bin on the plane - nothing was too difficult!! Also, I am a bit OCD on room cleanliness, and I was happy!! It was a great stay, great location, and amazing staff. Breakfast was excellent, too. No complaints from our family! Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: The family room was HUGE and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is everything all the other reviews have mentioned. Smack bang in the middle of the Old Quarter, the staff are amazing and helpful, great breakfast, the rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a laptop or wifi in the rooms.

My only complaint is we were on the second floor which has a mezzanine level which can make it a bit noisy at times, so try and avoid if possible.

We had organised a airport transfer from the hotel and were met by our driver with out having to callas mentioned in some of the other reviews.

You can book Sapa or Halong Bay tours through the hotel, but we did this independently and definitely saved some money.

Room Tip: Avoid the second level if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms are not large but adequate. On the up side they are clean and comfortable. Considering that it is in the middle of the buzzing old quarter, the rooms were surprisingly quiet. The room also came with its own laptop and good internet connection. The staff at reception helped us organize a cooking class, a trip to Halong Bay and tickets to the water puppet show. Breakfast was very good...specially the banana pancakes.

The hotel is part of a small chain of "Elegance" hotels in Hanoi. We walked past two of them and from the outside they also looked pretty good.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and that was quiet. I think that the second floor may be a bit noisy beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place is flat AMAZING!!!!!

If this hotel in Hanoi ( of all places ) can be the perfect example of customer service, then the world certainly should follow!!!

I am serious about this. They service starts with a warm greeting. Ok wait one because you may be put off since a taxi can not get down the 20 meters of small street to the hotel.
So if you can make it that far you will thank me.

Yes, the staff speaks English and we found they receive lessons DAILY at the hotel.
That means they do a super job of recommendations, bookings and such.

Ok, ready for this? Sure there is wifi in the room but they provide a laptop in each room for free!
Then then ramp up the service with a bowl of fruit in our room.
Nice touch, well I noticed after I chose a banana that the remaining one had a smallish bruise. Later in the day when we returned, yes that banana was replaced with a fresh one!

Then we have the most amazing part. When we had darted back to the room to get our second camera, there were three attendants working on the room.
Ready for this, wait for it......"

.......one was even IRONING the sheets! Who does that??? The Elegance Ruby, that's who!

Thank you to each and every staff member.
You are the standard to which all others must live up to.
The FINEST customer service you will find anywhere!

Room Tip: Pick 425. Massive room with an interesting old city Hanoi view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this from Trip Advisor recommendation. All are true, the staff are great and the rooms modern, even providing a laptop in each room for free. Wi fi also works well in the room.
Our first night was spent on the first floor, however due to the noise from the stone floors and the way that hotel is set out, we asked and were given a room change. I would advise if you are a light sleeper, try and get away from the first floor.
Airport collection, as some previous travellers have said, does involve ringing the hotel on arrival, their driver will be in the car park, top tip, get your visa before arriving in Vietnam. Once the hotel was rang, the driver was there in minutes and all went smoothly. You will try to get other taxi drivers trying for your business, make sure that you have nothing with your name on visible or the hotel details, just say no to all comers and wait for your elegance driver.
The hotel is very fairly priced, even the minibar in the room is affordable. Good set of TV channels, great shower. What more can we say, very impressed for the centre of Hanoi.
If you choose the Halong Bay trip, the hotel will arrange it for $45 per person for the day, bear in mind that the journey is 3 and 1/ hours each way, possibly the worlds uneven road!! But Halong Bay is magnificent.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancsuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
347 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our second trip to Hanoi and we used TRIPADVISOR again to select a hotel and were very pleased with our stay at the Elegance Ruby. They had a car waiting for us at the airport as arranged without problem and as we arrived late they recommended serveral restaurants within a few minutes walk and made a booking for us to ensure we would get fed. our room was imaculate and yes even a laptop for your use in the room, you dont get that with top five star hotels. its located in the heart of the old quarter which is really the heart of what Hanoi is all about with the hustle and bustle going on all arround you. of course the city goes quiet in the evening so we were not disturbed by any noise. the staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful and ready to help you out with anything.

Room Tip: if the rooms are small do remember your in old town hanoi not the usa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#1 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing