We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #18 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Oasis.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of our 6 week holiday and arrived in Hanoi jet-lagged and tired. However the car arranged by the hotel was waiting at the airport for us as planned and we arrived at the hotel without a hitch, this is in contrast to some stories we have since heard about the taxis!
Whilst our bags were taken up to our room, we were given a welcoming drink. When we opened the door to our room (801 - a Junior Suite) we were stunned by the size and quality of the room. It was one of the best, if not the best hotel room we have stayed in.
The hotel staff can only be described as fantastic, they bring customer service to a new level that exceeds most other hotels. The staff often went out of their way to assist us on many occassions i.e taking us to a local shop to get some beer and then again for a haircut.
This hotel puts most 5 star hotels to shame!
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Elegance Ruby to anyone and from what we saw the other Elegance hotels are the same.
We will definately stay here again when we return to Ha Noi.
It deserves to be number 1 for Ha Noi on T.A.

Room Tip: If you can stretch your budget, go for a Junior Suite as they are well worth the extra. We had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatnPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,718
    241
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
509
1,531
209
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

To provide context to our review, this is our first time in Vietnam, we are a young couple, married in our late 20s and we are spending the next 6 months travelling the world. Our key criteria when it comes to accomodation is cleanliness, budget and a central location - HE Ruby exceeded each!

Nguyen and his team at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby made our stay in Hanoi an absolute delight! From organising our pick up at the airport (helping us to avoid common airport scams), to our refreshing mango mocktail welcome drinks, to the manner in which we were shown our room with all its details (including complimentary daily bottled water, wi fi and even your very own laptop, oh and every kind of toiletry you might require) - we knew we'd made the right decision choosing HE.

We dont require a lot of space as we hardly spend anytime in our hotel room. We found our room was really well layed out with the bed against the back wall which gave us greater space, the room was neat tidy and clean! It really was our sanctuary in Hanoi and when you come to visit this place you will understand!

Breakfast is really fantastic, each morning you can choose from a full menu of foods and drinks including traditional Vietnamese cuisine as well as your ordinary cereal and croissants.

On a final note, and this where the team at HE Ruby really went the extra step, we had only planned 2 nights in Hanoi before heading off to Ha Long Bay. Due to a change in plans, we decided we would organise to stay an additional night on our return from Ha Long Bay, Although HE Ruby was booked out on the day we required, they arranged for us to stay at HE Diamond. When we arrived at HE Diamond after our overnight cruise on Ha Long Bay we were greeted to a very friendly reception and were advised that we had been upgraded to a suite. We couldnt wipe the smiles from our faces. As you can imagine the room was huge and luxurious and we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoinette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hanoi Elegance Ruby is a very comfy hotel in buzzing Hanoi Old Town. For a fairly reasonable price you get not only great bed & practical bathroom (loved rain shower there), free Thinkpad with Wi-Fi in your room, complimentary fruits & water, slippers, bathrobe, superb breakfasts etc. but also really great, great service.
That shows especially when not everything goes as planned - and we had such a situation. Our car we ordered from the hotel to the airport did not show up, so they just halted a taxi and the hotel manager paid the driver for our trip (note: they paid 6 USD dollars more than they charged us!).
The only complain: rooms on the first floor are very noisy (lobby, lounge area), the doors are thin, so if you can, take the upper floors.  
Otherwise Ruby is a true gem in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HubertW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a super little hotel right in the heart of Hanoi's Old Town quarter. The rooms are very smart and clean and the breakfasts are of a very good quality. However, what distinguishes this hotel is the quality of service which is outstanding. We were given lots of very useful advice right from the time that we made our booking and this continued on our arrival at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and many hotels would learn a lot from the level of service that the staff here provided, If you are planning on staying in Hanoi, I can recommend Ruby without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcesterWanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This will be short and sweet. Iv'e been keeping an eye on the reviews on this little gem of a place for a couple of months now and we actually stayed there for a week between the 8th and 15th June. Basically everything positive you read on this site about the Ruby is true. So if you think that the Old Quarter of Hanoi is where you would like or need to be then look no further. A very enjoyable, amazingly helpful, and well run hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor can get some noise in the morning from staff workstation above on the rooftop. Junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've stayed at 5-star hotels in the US that didn't come close to the amazing service at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby. Here are a few examples:

*Early check-in (without us even asking)
*Welcome drinks
*Comprehensive city map, with a staff member giving restaurant & attraction recommendations
*Complimentary fruit bowl
*Free luggage storage during our Halong Bay trip
*Nice waiting lounge on the second floor, with shower (this is handy on the day you're leaving Hanoi--we stayed there using the wifi, then took showers before catching our cab to the train station.)
*Gave us free bottles of water for our train journey
*Organized some small tailoring that we needed (returned the next day, only a $2US charge)

I loved this hotel. It is small, but good quality and amazing service. The breakfast is excellent and the staff will just blow you away with how nice and helpful they are. It's the best $45/night we spent in Vietnam!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank townse92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

'Ruby' was recommended to us and we were most impressed, a haven amongst the business and noise of old Hanoi. Excellent location, wonderful & helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms (with great beds), laptop & wifi in rooms and a good breakfast - a great way to start our holiday in Vietnam. The staff were keen to help and organised tickets for us as well as provided great advice about things to do. We'll be staying again...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#8 of 585 in Hanoi
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#3 of 585 in Hanoi
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing