We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service and superb location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #12 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and superb location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this boutique hotel in the middle of the old district of Hanoi. It's tucked down the side alley/street, but smack bang in the middle of a street market every morning, which if you're after a taste of everyday Vietnam you couldn't ask for more.

Staff are exceptional. Friendly, attentive to your every need without being intrusive. Always greeted with a smile and how's your day been/is there anything we can do to help plan your day. Very genuine people, really want to make your stay perfect. We arrived at 4.30am (caught the train from Hue), woke them up, but they immediately kicked into gear, bought refreshments, made us comfortable in the lounge mezzanine and sorted out towels and a shower room. When we booked out we didn't think about our train being at 11pm, so they just said not to worry, stay in your rooms til then, don't bother checking out at noon, just pay a £8 supplement. Perfect!

The rooms are of a decent size (we had a twin), nice big bathroom, but shower only. Cleaned thoroughly everyday, fast and cheap laundry service and they even provide you with a laptop to surf their excellent wifi. Fresh fruit provided free of charge.

Hotel is 5/10 minute walk from the lake/shopping streets and puppet theatre, there's a great little coffee shop at the end of the street called Huong Mai selling 'civet' coffee. The Golden Drum bar is just down the street which has a lovely balcony to enjoy the sights and sounds of night time Hanoi.

I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in in all my travels, they made the Hanoi part of our holiday perfect. The only thing they suffer from is a smallish breakfast room, so sometimes you have to wait 5 minutes for a table, but for £8 a night, I can suffer that ;o)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,626
    238
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
501
1,480
199
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great location, excellent rooms, scrummy breakfast and really helpful staff! They organised a trip to Halong Bay for us, sorted our overnight train tickets when travelling onwards, and generally gave us tips and advice on what to do. They even let us use a spare room after we'd already checked out and were just passing through, so we could freshen up before carrying on our journey. Highly recommended for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We then went to Halong Bay for one night, before returning for another two nights. The staff were exceptional - there was nothing that they could not and did not do for us, from providing THE most luxurious accommodation and breakfasts, to arranging tours and our final shuttle to the airport. We arrived in Hanoi on an early morning train and were ushered to a lovely lounge, with a TV and shower, to make us comfortable before our room was made ready for us. After we checked out on our last day we were again given the use of this space, prior to our airport shuttle. The rooms above the narrow Yen Thai Street are soundproofed by double-glazed windows. The airconditioners are fantastic. There was a laptop computer in the room, with free wi-fi, as well as wide variety on satellite TV. When we went down to the reception one morning (which happened to be my partner's birthday) the entire staff sang happy birthday, accompanied by a cake with lit candles for my partner to blow out! We've stayed in the full range of hotels, from five stars down and they can all learn the meaning of customer service and attention to detail from the Management and staff of the Hanoi Elegance Ruby. Congratulations on a first-rate establishment, which has got everything completely right!

Room Tip: The super deluxe rooms are an absolute treat - slightly more expensive, but like being in one's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here in December 2012. We were here two night (with a break in between for a 2 night trip to Ha Long Bay.

Really nice welcome, lovely breakfast and truly helpful throughout the hotel. We took their standard twin room, which was compact but perfectly formed, and had everything we needed.

We arranged through the hotel to buy our Livitrain tickets from Hanoi to Da Nang (we had tried through other agents, but they had said the Livitrain was already fully booked...so it was great that Ruby were able to do it). We booked a taxi to the station, and unexpectedly one the the Ruby hotel staff jumped into the cab and came with us to lead us to help carry our luggage, and deposited us and our luggage in our actual carriage (which would have been a complete nightmare without his help).

A really lovely hotel and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_FLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We are from Nz. Oh yeh we booked online and they didnt tell us you needed visas to get into Vietnam so we had to stop in hong kong to sort it out as they wouldnt allow us on connecting plane. We got visas online which also require you to attach specific sized passport photos. so enough of this. We chose this hotel based on reviews. Was very surprised as hotel down an alley way which is quiet compared to the main streets and location to central old quarter which is the ho kiem lake was great say 5 mins walk. We stayed in a standard room with a queen size bed that has been the most comfortable so far. Room is small but ok and has a computer that has Internet access that is very handy and was part of the package. In saying that we had an iPad and were able to hook up to wifi at no extra charge. After our halong trip they allowed us to leave bags at the hotel then we picked them up after we came back that next afternoon and also allowed us to have a shower and wait in second floor lounge until we had to catch our train so that's was handy and no extra cost. There is also a money machine close by and we we were able to use our eftpos cards. You pay a fee of 50 dong for withdrawals so it pays to withdrawal what you require as it is the same cost. Ask staff and they will show you. Breakfast was inclusive of price also and very good you just order from menu. We had eggs of varying sorts while we were there over three days. Overall great hotel and staff were very helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I spent two nights at this lovely hotel on a short trip to Hanoi. Everything was just perfect: the room, the breakfast, the location, the amenities, the price: everything.
But I really felt that the staff cared about their customers. When I walked in with my big suitcase, someone quickly came to help me. I was then offered a complimentary juice. Later the next day, after walking almost 10 km, I was welcomed again with a juice. The staff really wants us to feel comfortable and they know how to deal with people from all over the world.
Whoever is doing the recruitment and coaching for this hotel is doing an amazing job.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guizzi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, N.Z.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Four of us just spent four nights in this fabulous hotel. Warmest greeting ever. Felt like royalty. Staff are super friendly and booked domestic flights and an over night cruise to Halong Bay for us. Rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: We moved rooms after our trip to Halong Bay and liked the twin better than the double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#1 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing