We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #18 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is probably the best small boutique hotel I have ever stayed at. The location is perfect for exploring Hanoi, The rooms are compact but are spotless and have everything you need and the breakfast was lovely. However, it's the staff that made this hotel special, from the moment we arrived to the time we left they were so friendly and helpful. I don't think you will find a better base for exploring Hanoi and some of the bigger and better known hotel chains could learn a few things about real customer service from this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,718
    241
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
509
1,531
209
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed two seperate nights in two different rooms while in Hanoi. Very clean, simple, spacious room, with a fantastic shower and space enough for two queen beds and a foldaway in the Family Suite. Staff were helpful, courteous and charming. Would recommend this to any traveller looking for a no-fuss stay with basic amenities.

Things to know before you stay:

Hotel is located down a small alley. Appears noisy at first but street is silent by 9pm. Watch out for passing motorbikes!

Upper level family suites have small balconies. Great way to take in the sounds and smells of Hanoi.

Second floor has a small family area where you can relax and have a drink. Each room has it's own PC with decent internet access. There is also good wi-fi on each floor.

There is a three-jet shower in each bathroom. Quite the treat after a long day touring the streets on Hanoi.

Staff can get tickets to the Water Puppet Theatre, but ask them a day or so in advance. This tends to sell-out.

Breakfast is great and starts at 6:30am. They have a wide selection of breakfast items and can cater to most tastes.

Staff are very helpful, engaging and courteous. They genuinely seem to want to converse. Our experience was consistent with other reviews.

Overall a great short stay location in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Upper levels of Family Suites have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colima, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The staff is incredibly helpful with any detail you may need - from arranging excursions, to getting a rush job done on your laundry, to helping you select a variety of restaurants for all tastes and prices. The hotel is off an alley which, for me, adds to its charm. The suites are large. Normal rooms are a bit small, but very well appointed. It's walking distance to the lake and other interesting sites. There are other branches of the Elegance/Essence chain in Hanoi, too. You can't go wrong with this one.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in Essence group in HoiAn and in Hanoi. The staff were outstanding. They organised our Halong Bay tours and tips on local places to visit and eat. We had a gorgeous family suite with 2 huge beds and a window. The children arrived to balloon sculptures on the beds which they were very excited by. The breakfast staff were great as well. And the meals we tried were perfect. Great location.... We will certainly visit again and stay here. We tried to book through Venere and had some hiccups. Luckily the staff liased with their HoiAn hotel and put aside a room for us "incase we came by". Thank you we are so glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and daughter stayed at Ruby with another couple and their daughter for two single nights in September (split by a trip to Sapa). We had stayed there in 2011 and were very impressed with the service then. If anything, the service has improved even more! The staff are all delightful and anticipate your every need. They are polite and give excellent advice on tours, restaurants and even weather forecasts. All staff were great but special mention to the young doorman who took us to the Sapa train, made sure we and our luggage were on the train, waved us goodbye and was there again at 6:00am when we returned 5 days later to help us off the train, take us to the cab, smile and enquire about our trip. This young man has a great future with the Elegance group. Oh, and after arriving way too early for check in, they arranged for the only free room in the hotel to be available for us to shower and freshen up before putting us into our three rooms as early as possible. Hotels the world over should send their staff to Ruby to study hospitality. Thank you Ruby staff. We'll recommend you to all we know visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avtrav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, which is in a great location. It had the best service I have ever received at a hotel. I was welcomed with a mango drink that was gorgeous and everything after that exceeded expectations. I was upgraded to a suite because of a last minute cancellation too. The rate I got was really low and if I am ever in Hanoi again I wouldn't hesitate staying here with friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubysparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I just found this review I wrote two years ago (nov 2011) when we stayed there and after reading it again, i still feel exactly the same. And it brings back the nice memories. So I should share.... Here goes:

To be honest, at first I was not quite sure how does a 2-star hotel get to be a convincing Trip Advisor top-spot hotel in Hanoi. After staying there for 4 nights, we have found out. It is simple: it is all about the service; and this hotel definitely punches far above its weight.

The hotel management seem to care about their staff, who then appear to be happy in their job and apply themselves to provide extraordinary service to the guests. These guys did try really hard. As a quick example: We got back to the hotel and interrupted a birthday party for one of the reception staff in the restaurant area.The very cute young girl was all emotional and about to cut the cake. We immediately got pulled in to join the celebration and got given a slice of cake.

Sure, the rooms are quite small, but they are finished to a very high standard. And besides, you are in the middle of the Old Quarter in Hanoi - you are hardly going to be sitting in your room all day. 'Net connection is great, fast and reliable and you get a laptop included in your room.

Most refreshingly, they were not charging exorbitant prices for the extras - minibar and laundry charges are very reasonable and so was airport pickup. (Laundry service was very good too.) Unfortunate truth is that you sometimes feel like "a dollar-bill on legs" as a tourist in Vietnam; this place offered a bit of a welcome break from that. Everything felt like it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#8 of 586 in Hanoi
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 586 in Hanoi
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing