We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a recommendation for here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #18 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Definitely a recommendation for here!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and were very happy with the location, cleanliness, room, staff and breakfast. The mango smoothy on arrival was lovely, the laptop in the room was handy and the complimentary cake and fruit for our honeymoon was a nice touch. The room was very ornately decorated too with swans made out of towels, rose petals and balloons on the bed. The room was small, but very new, clean and quiet.

The staff could not do enough for us, but we felt that they were thinking about commission every time they recommended a trip or a hotel in another city. We did book our Halong Bay cruise with them on the Au Co boat as we got a great deal (which we couldn't beat online) but if it wasn't our honeymoon we would have probably gone for a less luxurious option.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,718
    241
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
509
1,531
209
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the lovely boutique Ruby Elegance over the Christmas period and thoroughly enjoyed the well appointed accommodation, the wonderful staff, the great service and advice provided. The hotel is in a small lane in the Old Quarter. Mr Giang and his well trained team were simply fantastic. They knew what we needed before we did! Their knowledge and advice assisted us so much. They knew where we should eat, what attractions to visit, which spa to go to, what cruise to take to Halong Bay, where we should have Christmas lunch....the list goes on and on! Don't hesitate, book with Elegance Ruby!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 121herald3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a lovely little hotel in the heart of the old quarter in Hanoi. It's in a quiet side street which has individual market "shops" for the locals selling meat, vegetables and a host of fish - spot on to get a view of how the Hanoi locals shop for their groceries. Our twin room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were so welcoming - very helpful, attentive and all spoke excellent English. The breakfast is also lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I loved this place! Rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The location is awesome, down an action packed lane in the old quarter, a few minutes walk from the lake. Breakfast is a la carte and delicious. Wifi was super fast.

What really makes this hotel outstanding is the staff - they are wonderful! Nothing is too much trouble, everyone is so friendly and genuinely dedicated to making sure your stay is perfect.

This is the first time I have stayed in a boutique hotel in Asia, I usually stick to the larger hotel chains - never again! Thanks to trip advisor reviews I chose this hotel and definitely made the right choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Situated down an alley in the old town of Hanoi this hotel is great in every way. The rooms although not the largest are really well appointed and although the old town is loud and a bit crazy we didn't hear anything in the room. As others have said the staff are fantastic; they really do try and anticipate your every need. A final point, the hotel breakfasts in Vietnam are all the same, but this hotel's probably had the highest quality ingredients.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the Elegance over Christmas and New Year and we have never been so well looked after. The staff at this hotel are among the best I have ever come across.
The family rooms are spacious and clean with quality furnishes and everything you could possibly need.
Back to the staff, we caught the overnight train to Sapa and they sent one of the young guys to the station to help us find the right train, he helped us with our luggage all the way into our sleeper carriage!
When we returned we posted home all of our cold weather clothes and they sent another guy to the post office with us to help again. Exceptional service.
They do great breakfasts and one of the best Pho's we have had an Vietnam.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hops_and_malt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

TA has such glowing reviews of the hotel which is definitely deserved. There are some shortcomings but the service more than makes up for it!

I arranged for a pickup taxi from the airport for 18 dollars. A fair price considering the price with a meter taxi is about 14. There was a misunderstanding about my arrival. I gave a time I would arrive and there was a driver there with someone else's name. The hotel clearly had me confused with another person as they told me on the phone that I was supposed to arrive from Dalat at 9am which was hours ago. Even though my email said nothing of the sort, I only gave an arrival time, not even a flight or place I was coming from (and no, I wasn't coming from Dalat). It was my mistake for not being more specific, however. I got a pickup within 10 minutes so it was a very quick fix which was handled gracefully.

Check-in was amazing. The staff member gently explained Hanoi to us and even recommended some street food. We were also recommended some tours ($52 to Ha Long Bay day trip) and considered them until we were recommended to a different company by friends of ours. The company was good and much cheaper. Not a scam but I would assume that the hotel's company is more luxurious for the price which is not a bad thing. Her explanation of everything was very clear and had our best interests in mind.

Service was impeccable throughout our entire stay. They couldn't be more helpful.
My partner lost the hotel key somewhere in Hanoi and the staff quickly replaced it at no charge. At other hotels, you would be charged a high fee.

The room was very clean and well-kept. It seemed quite new, even. The bed was a tad uncomfortable to my tastes, just a little firm and too springy but my partner had no trouble at all. The shower was quite modern and pretty as well as had consistently hot water. The only major downside is that our room faced a courtyard next to someone's home. The hotel cannot help the situation much but there was hammering every morning at about 7-8am which woke us up as effectively as an alarm clock.

The location of the hotel is perfect and there is a nice lounge area with shower for those who are not able to check-in immediately or are leaving for late flights. Taxis are easy enough to hail if you wish and staff is more than happy to call them for you. I found almost everywhere in the city actually quite walkable. Even West Lake is about a 30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#8 of 586 in Hanoi
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 586 in Hanoi
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing