We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly clean and charming hotel with ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #14 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Gland, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfectly clean and charming hotel with ideal location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife (a native vietnamese) and myself spent a few days in the Elegance Ruby, (Hoan Kiem disctrict in Hanoi). As we quite often travel in Vietnam and we therefore can compare different hotels. I must say that in the Hoan Kiem Elegance Ruby, we simply did experience the very best service we had in Vietnam, (rooms small but perfectly clean totally calm and fully functional - a laptop at your disposition in each room). Breakfast simple good and without waste of food. Location perfect if you want to experience the old Hanoi. But overall, a charming and fully professional staff able to help you in all matters (in particular organizing simple trips to places of interest) and this without charging large fees, (prices in Vietnam are not always very transparent and in Hanoi Elegance, you may feel confident with the proposed offers). While the manager is a great professional of the type you might perhaps expect in five stars, he is not deferential just simple, discrete efficient and utmost he and his staff are perfect ambassadors of the welcoming tradition that many vietnamese naturally have.

Room Tip: The double bed rooms are truly small - ideal for honey moons and young persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxolivier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    241
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
505
1,524
206
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When we stayed here, the hotel was relatively new. We found it to be spotlessly clean, including the bathroom.
The room was certainly one of the smallest we've ever found, but it was a pretty small hotel after all - in the old Vietnamese style.
The staff were super efficient, helpful and friendly. Small breakfast room with about 5 staff crowded in! Food was basic but good.
Hotel is in the middle of the Old Quarter so there's plenty to see just by wandering around. Go over to the big lake and take a stroll with the locals or join in morning exercises.
Anything you want to know, ask the staff. So helpful. Trust them also to help you book value for money tours to Halong Bay etc.

Room Tip: All rooms were much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank maryannupright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The lovely people here absolutely made our trip in Vietnam! The staff are exceptional and incredibly friendly. Vietnam Air lost our luggage and the wonderful team at Hanoi Elegance Ruby followed up with them on our behalf to locate our luggage and then stored it for us while we were on our way to Halong Bay. The rooms are clean and modern and because the hotel is quite small, they know everyone’s names and really take the time to get to know you and provide an exceptional service. The hotel is right in the hustle and bustle of the city centre but it is so quiet in the room you forget that you’re in the heart of Hanoi! We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, it is very spacious so would recommend staying in one of these if you can! Unfortunately our cruise was cancelled (see my review on Paradise cruises) but the hotel staff kindly found us a room despite the last minute booking and were so honest in that they offered us a very reasonable rate even though they could have so easily capitalised on two desperate tourists! We stayed in a ‘standard’ room and this was just as good as the suite albeit a little less spacious and more ‘cosy’. For the other nights that we had originally planned to be on the cruise, the Hanoi Elegance Ruby team found us a room at their sister hotel “Hanoi Elegance Emerald” (see my review on this) as they were fully booked. I cannot fault the team here at all and it’s some of the best customer service I’ve ever received (even in my 5 star hotel experiences!) they were so willing to help and sorted everything out for us in an otherwise stressful situation. I HIGHLY recommend staying here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SymJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

You can't go wrong booking this hotel. The staff are incredible. Friendly, helpful, the room was really lovely, in the heart of the old quarter but I still kept getting lost but that's hanoi for you :-) I would not hesitate to stay here again, superb little hotel with a fantastic team!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mupp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was probably the best hotel in our entire Vietnam trip!
I would definitely stay here again.

Pros:
- The location is great
- Very nice breakfast selection
- The staff is uber friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable The service is really exceptional and they are great at anticipating needs. After our stay, we went on a cruise to Halong Bay. Not only did the hotel store our bags, but, when we returned, they offered us a private lobby with a shower and clean towels for us to freshen up, as they knew we were going to catch the night train to the next destination.
- Cheap for the service and facilities they provide.

Cons:
- Can't think of any.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarianellagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This boutique hotel is one of three Elegance Hotels in Hanoi. It provides a shuttle service to and from the airport, which is a bonus. We stayed for four nights (three nights in a suite, and then one night in Room 201 as a stop-over on the way out of Hanoi). The hotel is perfectly located in Hanoi's authentic old quarter, within walking distance of everything! As it was our wedding anniversary, we booked a suite on the seventh floor which had a balcony overlooking the narrow lane and great rooftop views. The rooms were fresh, clean and comfortable. We are so appreciative of the fact that the staff went out of their way to decorate it for our anniversary (rose petals, chocolates, swans etc!), providing a fresh fruit basket, wine and a congratulatory card. The rate included daily breakfast, which has something for everyone. It's amazing what they could produce out of a teeny-weeny "kitchen" in the dining room on the ground floor. The reception staff were lovely, and very helpful in making recommendations, calling taxis etc. They really could not do enough to ensure our stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face onto the narrow lane at the front of the building. Room 201, which is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZimKiwiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed four nights with this great team. Made us very welcome every minute of the day and night.
Breakfast was fantastic Cooked and cold were available along with great juice and fresh fruit.
Front of house reception was extremely efficient. Booking desk had all the info you needed. Maps were supplied and the team had a great understanding of where you could get most things within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. We had the 8 floor with a balcony (worth the extra $) for the extra space and light. The hotel has a fantastic location right in the middle of the old quarter BUT is very quiet unlike other hotels in this busy area. The pick up and drop off at the airport are great worth the money. Sooo easy. Thanks Ruby Elegance for our great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony's are great. But not essential. we were on the 8th floor looking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REXNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#12 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing