We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it :)”
Review of Club De L'Oriental

Club De L'Oriental
Ranked #213 of 2,524 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Elegant design with high-ceiling Hue Imperial style dinning rooms, Club De L'Oriental is a part of a veritable empire of mostly upscale authentic Vietnamese restaurants. The restaurant is sectioned into several dinning rooms with distinctive features -decidedly romantic and luxurious for intimate dinning for two, or business parties, or big group's celebrations. The charming courtyard and upper balcony sections are ideally preferred on hot Vietnamese summer evenings.
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As this place was close by, we dropped in for a quick drink and snack, and found the staff really friendly and accommodating, which isn't always the case in Vietnam. Really clean, great food and nice decor. It's fairly well priced, considering the efforts they gone to with the finish and food they serve. Can't comment on the atmosphere too much as we were quite early. Really would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Viks07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneAsia, Manager at Club De L'Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Dear Viks07,

Xin chao,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our location, our food and specially the assistant of our staff.

We do understand that the accomdating of service is as important as food, drinks and other factors in a F&B outlet. It is a huge encouragement to know that you have enjoyed every moment with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Cluc De L'Oriental

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went as a family of 4, my children can be fussy but loved their honey chicken sticks with the rice and the eat of the meal was superb....with many fresh flavours. The service was first class and restaurant is a big gem tucked away with so much to see and ambience.
Definitely worth a try for anyone

1  Thank tanya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneAsia, Manager at Club De L'Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Dear tanya l,

Xin chao,

We are happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed every bit of the dining experience at Club De L'Oriental. We will not miss to share your compliment to our team.

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of dining. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Club De L'Oriental.

Sincerely,

Club De L'Oriental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved this place. We were looking for something different. It was an accidental find. So great we went back for our last Vietnamese meal.
Their food was simply original, not weird but deliciously original.
Have the spring rolls... I watch them make the net pastry... never seen anything like it. There were six of us... everyone was stunned and the experience.... service 10, food 10, atmosphere 10.
I've dined around the globe in some fantastic places and this is in my top 10... globally.
If there are two of you... dine at the food bar and watch the kitchen.

1  Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneAsia, Manager at Club De L'Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Dear winequaffer,

Xin chao,

Thank you for so many kind and heartwarming words to us. It is our priviledge to have you and your friends, family with us.

Your words have been the greatest compensation for a long working day toward our entire team. Thank you for your highly recommendation and evaluation with Club De L'Oriental.

Compliments as such are our greatest motivation to keep up the good work. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back with us at your next visit.

Sincerely,

Club De L'Oriental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I have never had a vegetable spring roll so amazing in my life! Six pieces were served in a toothpick stuck into a pineapple that was carved with a lit candle inside. Loved it! My beef with noodle dish was delicious too. My husband loved his duck and fried rice. It was so good that we returned the following night. This time we tried the other vegetable spring rolls which were delish and came with a cashew but sauce which was a first for me. I love peanut sauce but this was a true find. We were told they also own two restaurants in hi chi Minh city which we will try in a few days. This was right around the block from the Sofitel metrople where we were staying.

1  Thank MarcelleMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneAsia, Manager at Club De L'Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Dear MarcelleMiami,

Xin chao,

Thank you for highly confidence at Club De L'Oriental and other outlets in our chain.

We have passed on your compliments to our kitchen team specially so that they know their effort has been paid well off. We hope that you have had a great trip in Vietnam and we are delighted to know that we have contributed to your great impress with our country.

Thank you again. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Club De L'Oriental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Situated neat the top hotels in French quarter and very expensive compared to other local places of same upper western tourist standard. Probably double other prices.

Food is ok but you expect better. Only good thins was the crab spring rolls, duck served was hard and dry.

The place was also nearly empty as other reviewers have noted, no atmosphere at all. Many more staff than customers.

The Ly Club nearby and Club D L' orient are both miles better than this place.

Give it a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneAsia, Manager at Club De L'Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

Dear peterah,

Xin chao,

Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. Our property has been known for its location, architecture, decor which are also part of the costing of our product. We can assure you our price is competitive.

Regarding to the food, as you have commented that the duck was hard and dry. We agree that it was unacceptable with our standard and we would really appriciate if you could give us your feedback right there and then, hence we can make adjustment and meet your satisfaction. We also sincerely apology that our service staff had not asked for your preference.

We truly sorry that you had left unsatisfied. At CLub De L'Oriental, we give our best effort every day to meet our guests satifaction and further. We hope that this will not impair your confidence at us.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back and change your mind regarding to the unwated incident.

Sincerely,

Club De L'Oriental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Club De L'Oriental also viewed

 
 

Been to Club De L'Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing