We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #73 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must stay!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first stop in Vietnam and they created a fantastic first impression of the country!
Dealing with them before arriving (delayed flights etc) was prompt and easy, a driver picked us up from the airport and took us straight there.
The room was good for the money we spent, could use a bit of a touch up but was quiet and comfortable - just be ready for some stairs! Breakfast was pretty tasty and decent size.
The great young staff were very forthcoming with recommendations for street food, bars, attractions etc, even sitting us down once we were settled and going over the Hanoi map for us.
We must have seemed pretty high maintenance, because through the staff we:
- booked transfer and tour to Halong Bay (can definitely recommend Opera A class cruise)
- left phone on bus and arranged pickup
- booked train to/from sapa
- booked taxis around hanoi
- booked train to danang
- cancelled train to danang after realising it was a 15hr trip!

All of this with a smile on their face the whole time!
Also, we planned to fly to Danang after Sapa, but our train from Sapa arrived at about 5am that morning - the boys at Serenity opened up early, let us store our bags, and gave us a room for a shower/few hours sleep + airport transfer for a small fee!

The team really went above and beyond, again, a great first impression of lovely vietnamese people!
Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bagnacavallo, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Initially we booked 3 nights, but ended up extending our stay to almost a week. The staff is very helpful and really friendly, they went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. Since we were visiting Hanoi for a culinary/cultural project, they were so kind to help us get in touch with some local people as our project requested.
Apart from an awesome staff, the hotel is in a great location, the room was very clean, cleaned every day. Our deal included breakfast as well which was generous, freshly made if not a little repetitive.
The only negative aspect was that standard rooms have no windows, and even with ac on the air can get a bit stuffy at times.
Finally,make sure to notify the staff well in advance, if you wish to extend your stay, as they are often fully booked and you might, as happened to us, end up being transfered to a different place (not as nice). This is the only reason why I don't give it 5 points.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candivisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Basic but well located with the nicest people we met in Hanoi. Willing to spend time to help you and genuinely want to help and for you to enjoy your time there. For $5 a night in the centre of bustling Hanoi I really think you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameswilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgo Valsugana, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I booked one night in the hotel, a double room and a single room (we are a couple and a guy), when we arrived there they said that they had problem so we needed to stay in a family room, which is fine for one night.
The day after we went to Halong bay but we booked 3 night for when we get back, again a double and a single room but when we got back they told us (again) that we still need to sleep in a family room!!! so brace your self having a booking will not guarantee you a room!!!
On the other hand the staff is friendly and the location is good!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is located in the Old Quarter and easy walking distance to all the sights. Breakfast is great! We stayed here twice (a trip to Halong Bay in between), so we had 2 different rooms - 201 and 501. Both rooms were the exact same layout just on a different floor, and I would definitely recommend these rooms. They have large windows along one side of the room which overlooks the street behind the hotel. Not noisy at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As others have said there are some rooms which do not have windows, so if this is an issue be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lislym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In Hanoi for a few days in november 2013.
Stayed longer than expected in the north (thanks Haïan!). During all the stay at the Serenity hotel, felt very well... You're close to the old city of Hanoï but the room are quiet enough.
Good rooms with more than you need to have a "sleppy" night, "healthy" stairs (yes you'll have to climb a little but it's worth it !). Breakfast are simple but good. All the staff is very friendly.
If you need anything, everybody here will do their best to help you. Spent really good time here and will come again next time in Hanoi !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at serenity hotel for only two nights. Emily and the team were amazing, especially considering our arrival date changed due to a missed flight. They rearranged accommodation and our ha long bay tour with no fuss. On arrival we were greeted with friendly service and they arranged a cake, flowers and a bottle of wine as it was our honeymoon.

Breakfast was also fantastic with good food and good service.

I loved our stay here and would not hesitate returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CParkesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#123 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#130 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Diamond Hotel
Serenity Diamond Hotel
#27 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing