We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #77 of 647 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were traveling around Northern Vietnam and using Hanoi as our travel hub. This meant that we spent over a week at the Serenity Hotel. We stayed in three room during our time there. All of them were very comfortable. Furthermore, the hotel had an absolutely amazing breakfast with free/unlimited coffee and tea served all day which were both excellent. The internet was reliable and the location was ideal for anyone wanting to explore the Old Quarter.

The staff was absolutely wonderful and accommodating. When we arrived back from our trip to Sapa at 6:00AM, they served us breakfast and moved things around to put us in a room quickly so that we wouldn't have to wait in the lobby. This was incredibly kind and unnecessary since we had not done early booking.

We greatly appreciate their service and help throughout our time in Hanoi. Would greatly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adgonzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

really nice hotel for exploring the old town of hanoi. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is a good start in the day :-). and the location is perfect to start exploring old town hanoi. thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel staff are lovely and very helpful! They speak excellent english. Our baggage was lost and they helped contact the airport several times. They told us several local places to eat which we did and were all good. They also arranged a trip to Halong Bay and helped us exchange currency. Breakfast is good with several options available. The rooms are clean and towels are changed daily, Air conditioning worked fine, although was loud during the evening. There are plenty of stairs although I imagine that goes for most hotels as they don't have lifts anywhere. The only negative was that one night, it rained heavily and although no water came into our room, we heard lots of water pouring down into the corridor outside which leaked a little under our door. By morning however it was all cleaned up and gone! Location is good, it's about 5 minutes walk to the main part of Hanoi and therefore far enough away from all the hustle and bustle. Overall we loved it and would definitely return should we ever go to Hanoi again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dudette_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I spent nearly a week here, and the staff was very kind. The breakfast choices were all good, but the banana pancakes were beyond belief!!! The internet was fine, the room was small but very clean, and the price was great, as was the proximity to everything. The only downside to the hotel was the lack of elevator, which made staying on the 5th floor a little intense.

Room Tip: Higher rooms avoid some traffic noise, but add a lot of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KarenTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant accommodation. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Will arrange all your outings. Left behind my tablet. They had it for me when I returned to Hanoi a few days latter. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We checked in here for three nights as we couldn't extend our stay at the Lucky Guesthouse 2. The first room we moved in to, 302, the air conditioning wasn't working properly. We thought we'd leave it and see how it was when we went out, it was no better (blowing air so weakly you couldn't feel it, whilst standing under it). We went to reception and reported it, so they sent a guy up who pressed a couple of buttons on the remote, said "is okay" then walked out.

We then went downstairs and asked if we could move to a different room, so they gave us the key to room 603. We checked it out, it smelt a bit musty, but the AC was working more effectively so we moved all our stuff (up three flights of stairs with no elevator) and tried to settle in. Lo and behold, after flushing the toilet, the smell of backed up drains filled the entire room. It honestly smelt like a vegetarian's flatulence, a nasty smell of rotting plant matter. The bed was also very uncomfortable, rock solid mattress and the bed frame was damaged.

So we moved back to room 302 for a sweaty night's sleep before leaving the following morning.

They clearly know about the problems as they didn't bother asking why we were leaving, and it will ultimately end up costing them business. A plumber and an air conditioning repair man surely don't cost much!

Room Tip: Room 302: Broken AC. Room 603: Smells like a compost heap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mike_Ehrmantraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hanoi can feel pretty chaotic when one first arrives so we were so thankful to have found this spot. We stayed for a total of 6 nights. We stayed in both the superior (which is very spacious), and standard (which is a little smaller) rooms both were very clean, with typical Asian bathroom, and decent internet connection (there is a cafe right next to hotel that one can visit for faster internet-signal actually picks up in some of the rooms). The highlight here was were the English speaking staff who were very kind, knowledgable, and were able to help us with anything we needed. The location is also ideal for exploring Hanoi. Must stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacavacova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#61 of 600 in Hanoi
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 600 in Hanoi
2,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 647 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £22 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing