We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place I stayed at on my year long trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #70 of 557 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Canada
1 review
“Best place I stayed at on my year long trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

I could write about how nice it was, how clean, what a great value (wifi, internet, good breakfast) but what makes this place so exceptional is the service and staff. All the staff here were genuinely pleased to serve you, without any monetary expectation. The hotel manager helped us out a lot, made arrangements for us. I think the shining example would be that we were due to be back in Hanoi in the afternoon after a long trip up North and would take the overnight train in the evening. The hotel manager offered to give us a room for one hour to take a hot shower (which we did, at no cost). Even gave us towels and toiletries.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rim2rim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
62
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Geez, I can't believe it's been almost a month since we got back from Vietnam. There are already several new posts on the hotel since my return! We stayed at the Serenity for two nights in late November. The Serenity was the only hotel we booked in advance as we like to travel independently. Since it was our first time in Vietnam, I didn't want to deal with the hoards of taxi vultures at the airport so I arranged for someone from the hotel to pick us up. Believe me, it's well worth the $15 if you're not used to navigating your way through a sea of touts trying to hook you before you set foot outside!

The Serenity manager (Mr. Sun) was very accommodating. The basic, twin room we shared was at the back of the hotel so was quieter than the street facing rooms. I highly recommend bringing ear plugs to Vietnam (if you're a light sleeper) as noise is prevalent everywhere at all hours of the night.

Sun helped us book our trip to Halong Bay on the Hanoi Opera junk. He made sure that my vegetarian friend was taken care of. We were originally going to book with the Kangaroo Cafe. The Hanoi Opera was only $10 more and included both kayaking and a hike up Titov as well as visit to Surprise Cave. Kangaroo offered either kayaking with cave or the hike with cave. You had to chose one option - couldn't do both.

The bus trip to Halong takes about 4 hrs - the scenery between Halong and Hanoi is rather ugly and didn't give a good impression of the country. Fortunately, the Hanoi Opera experience exceeded our expectations. The young Vietnamese guide (can't remember his name) who accompanied us was professional and knowledgeable. He knew when to guide and when to step back and let us do our own thing. I hope he is well taken care of by the company. The food was great and entertainment was provided in the form of cooking class and tai chi !! They also provided a movie for night time activity as well as night fishing. The weather in late November was fantastic. It was warm and sunny but not too hot/humid. The water is quite cold for swimming at this time of the year so not recommended unless you're immune to that sort of thing. When we got back from our trip, Sun let us shower in one of the rooms so we could freshen up before our trip to Sapa (that's another review).

I had a great time in Vietnam and will add additional reviews for some of the other places we visited. I'll also post some photos of the Halong trip. One thing to note, the hotel operators can be quite persistent in helping you book all your trips in the country. Since we like to travel independently, we had to be firm in our plans (i.e. self booking rail trips, hotel, etc) otherwise we would have ended up having our whole trip organized by someone else.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericka98125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecoker
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

I've just finished a month long stay in Hanoi at the Serenity hotel. This hotel has made my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are modern, spacious, very clean and well equipped. They are much welcoming than the typical dark wood/formal decor of many of the hotels in hanoi.
The staff were of great help and assistance, recommending food, shopping and travel. They even went out of their way to help us celebrate the festive season!!
The breakfast is wonderful and provides a lot of choice.
Overall, this is a wonderful cheap hotel. Of course Hanoi is noisy, the showers are different from our western style and water pressure isn't perfect- but that's the beauty of Hanoi!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

I have just finished working Vietnam for month. I stayed in two 5 star hotels and several rustic, rural, joints. I extended my official trip with a few days exploring the Hanoi Old Quarter and some friends recommended the Serenity.

It was perfect! An extremely clean, basic hotel on a quieter street right in the Old Quarter. Mr Son, the manager was extremely helpful, including storing my luggage while I took a one night tour to Ha Long Bay. He also recommended the Hanoi Opera for this cruise and it too was fantastic.

I recommend the Serenity for professionals on vacation and backapackers alike.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

This is an excellent value for money hotel situated in walking distance of old Hanoi and its charming bustle. Son and his wonderful team were unfailingly supportive, helpful, honest and reliable. They were always there to provide information, organise high quality trips and visits - all with a friendly smile. Nothing - however small - was too much bother for them. The trip to Halong Bay and Cat Ba they set up for us was a real highlight of our holiday.

The rooms were clean, WiFi reliable, breakfasts simple but adequate and we found it impossible to carry our own bags up the steep stairs due to the vigilance of the staff team!

This was our first visit to Vietnam and the family atmosphere at the Serenity Hotel provided an ideal base for our memorable 4 nights in Hanoi. We will be back....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

I stayed at this hotel for just one night when traveling through Hanoi. I booked it because of the great reviews on trip advisor.

My friend and I arrived in the morning and while our room wasn’t yet ready they offered a room for us to shower in as well as breakfast. They have coffee and tea throughout the day and breakfast from 7:00am-11:30am. I got the banana pancake (which was more like a banana roll) but very good. They also have egg dishes available.

The free internet was great. We first used the two computers downstairs. the left computer had a bad keyboard (space bar doesn’t always work) but is connected to the free printer. The right computer has a great keyboard but isn’t connected to the computer.

We booked a double room on the 3rd floor (yes, there are a lot of stairs) and it was beautiful. Very clean and a mini refrigerator, computer and bathtub all in the room!

We then asked for a cab to the Ho Chi Minh Museum and the hotel called one for us. We asked about how much it should cost (she said 50,000VND) but when we arrived at the museum the meter said 27,000VND. The taxi driver quickly shut off the meter as we handed him 30,000VND and he demanded 50,000VND. We told him the meter said 27,000VND and he just laughed as we got out. I have no idea if this was a scam or the hotel really thought it should cost 50,000VND, but something to watch out for.

One complaint was we never had hot water. It wasn’t freezing, but definitely was never hot (we took showers at different times of the day as well).

We took a trip to Halong Bay and when we returned they offered us a room to shower and a menu to get dinner (I think they ordered it from another hotel). The meal was excellent and then we took their hotel car back to the airport (prebooked for $15). Our flight left at 7:00pm and she kept saying we should leave at 5:00pm. This made me a little nervous and I explained rush hour but she said it was fine and she would call the drive at 5:00pm. However, at 5:30 we were stuck in traffic (people were waiting out of their cars). I think it might have been an accident, but our driver was on the phone with the hotel to get us motorbikes. Long story short, the hotel called motorbikes to take us to the airport and we literally made it JUST in time.

It is THAT kind of service that I really appreciate. I am sure it cost them more to do this..but that service is what the hotel is all about. I really would recommend this hotel to ANYONE (just ask for the lowest room).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

I stayed at the Serenity Hotel for three weeks and highly recommend it. The staff were helpful and friendly - they even invited me to one of their staff evening meals - and helpful and the rooms were clean. There's no extra charge for the cooked breakfast or the tea and Vietnamese filter coffee throughout the day. The room had its own bathroom, bar fridge and cable TV. The only drawback was the intermittant wifi connection in my room. There are also many stairs and no lift, but that's pretty standard in Hanoi. The location is also on the edge of Hanoi's old quarter, so slightly off the beaten tourist track - which can be an advantage or a disadvantage depending on your point of view. I have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morningespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#122 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#53 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#127 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#74 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#66 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#50 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing