We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lowbudged - hotel. Very helpful staff (boattrips, operatickets etc)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #76 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel 5 days, the service was just superb. They helped us with everything we wanted. And to practically no extra costs... Valerie & Åge (from Norway).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AageB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

May husband and I travelled for our first proper holiday to Hanoi with our 3 month old baby and we stayed in Serenity Hotel after reading all the reviews on trip advisor. We were very happy with our stay there as not only were the staff the loveliest friendliest people, making our whole holiday very enjoyable, but they went out of their way to ensure that our stay was a good one. We were even allowed to use our room until the evening on the day or our flight for no extra cost which was a great help with a baby. It is an old colonial townhouse though, with some rooms up high with many stairs so its not so suitable if you have issues with climbing stairs. It is a budget hotel though, so rooms and breakfast etc are pretty basic, but totally adequete especially for the price. Altogether it was a pleasure to stay there, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwajeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Great hotel, great price, fantastic service and people! We had a wonderful stay. Nice rooms, clean, but not like western hotel rooms. Had to walk stairs. Computer in room, free internet. Nice breakfast included and always teas and snacks. Mr. Vu was polite and helpful without being intrusive. It was my impression that my experience was more important to him than making money. He literally gave me (lent me) the jacket of his back for an excursion I took up North to Sapa. He let me and my wife us a room and shower for a few hours several days after we had checked out for no charge. Wonderful stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I found the staff at Serenity to be extremely helpful, accomodating, and kind. I ended up booking my Sapa trip through them. I was a little nervous at first because of all I've read about the hit-or-miss nature of these tours, but it was WONDERFUL. We had a great hotel and guide.

When we got back from Sapa, there was a mix-up with our reservation. I thought that we would have to find another hoteel ourselves, but the staff was amazing. They booked us at their sister hotel, Rising Dragon, for the same price that we paid at Serenity.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flutterbyfica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Me, my wife and our 3 children, stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Like I mentioned, this isn't a top class hotel and it has certainly some flaws, but the service we got was unequaled!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent 2 nights here in Hanoi in early August 2010. We arrived stupidly early, at around 5am where we were told we couldn't check in because they were full (fair enough, check in is from 12) and we could stay in the public lounge of their other hotel. We were kindly offered showers and food as well as the chance to rest and we were allowed to check in at the still brilliant time of 8:30am!

We were told we'd been upgraded to a room with a window, despite the fact that even their basic rooms (which we'd ordered) had windows. You haven't been upgraded! Just getting the room you pay for!

The room is large and spacious with TV and nice bathroom. It was a little dusty in places, and could have been better cleaned in that respect, but wasn't dirty! The location is also very good, about a 10 minute walk from Hoan Kiem lake in the old quarter which is very nice. There is also a pretty good clothes market just outside the hotel and a nice bar which does excellent fruit shakes next door. It's in a good location in the heart of Hanoi.

The service, well these guys couldn't be any friendlier. The breakfast was great, the hospitality of the staff and their help in organising everything and anything was great too.

To top it off, they paid for our taxi to the train station!

We had an excellent stay there and if you are on a budget or like a personal touch to your stay rather than just being assigned a room and to sleep there, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tclstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We are a family with 2 young children. We had booked the connecting rooms. When we arrived the room was not available and, after having tried to sell us a smaller family room instead (which we refused), Mr Son, the friendly-yet-pushy manager offered us a connecting room in a other (better) hotel 2 minutes away.
We decided to come back at the end of our trip, spent 3 nights there in the connecting rooms. Be prepared for some exercise as there is no lift ... Rooms are cleam and ok sized. Breakfast is in line with budget prices.
Booked private tours and train tickets at reception with very efficient, smiley and friendly lady at the desk. Overall good experience of this budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#62 of 600 in Hanoi
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing