We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Ha Noi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #73 of 591 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Ha Noi”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We discovered this gem in March during our epic motorbike ride down the length of Vietnam to Sai Gon. Given such a great stay last time, we had to stay there again this October. The hotel is clean, spacious and well located on the edge of the Old Quarter which means you can get a good night's sleep without the fernetic noise and bustle of Ha Noi at night. Breakfast is provided in the tariff and cooked fresh while you wait. The stairs are a challenge but the staff will happily carry your bags.
Mr Son who manages the hotel is also a gem. He will happily book you into any excursion that interests you. He and his staff are very friendly and approachable and go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidUral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here when we first arrived in Vietnam.. And returned again on our way back through Hanoi after Sapa. Would highly recommend this place to travelers as the rooms were clean, location was great and the staff were extremely friendly. The lady behind the counter was a great help- recommending places to stay in Sapa, booking us flights and organising our day trip to Halong Bay. The only negative I have is that or room was on the 8th floor, and with only stairs, the climb was the last thing you felt like after a hot and tiring day of sightseeing... So maybe ask for a room on a lower floor!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Also very knowledgeable and planned out or limited time in Hanoi very well.

Rooms were good but not remarkable.

Breakfast was great. Had banana pancakes every morning.

Had room on 6th floor which was a hike to get to. Staff carried bags up and down so no problem there (no building lift).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeSamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is not a five star, ultra-modern, flashy hotel. However, what it is, is an amazingly good value, well run, pleasant hotel in the heart of Hanoi. We stayed here for several nights, first of all on our arrival in Hanoi for a couple of days or so, and then on our return both from Halong Bay and then Sapa. What makes this hotel truly unique from many other places is the staff who are always available to provide excellent travel advice and book any excursion or trip you may want to take in and around Hanoi. The hotel is run by Son. He is a great guy to talk to, friendly, and reliable. Son and his friendly staff were instrumental in booking us a trip with Indochina Sails on Halong Bay, and then organising a trip to Sapa using the night train. Both trips were good value (not the cheapest, but the extra few bucks were definitely worth it in that Son allowed for the use of a hotel room and all amenities upon our return at no extra cost - that is where the service stands out from everywhere else). Nothing is too much bother, from his staff collecting us at the railway station in the very early hours of the morning, to leaving flowers in our bedroom as a recognition of us being on honeymoon. We even enjoyed a last day lunch with all the staff before leaving for the airport - truly unique hospitality, and great home cooked food!

The hotel itself is pleasant. The hotel does not have a lift and the stairs to the top are a climb, but all good exercise. Rooms are clean, large, and provide a simple, comfortable sleep. Our room had its own computer for internet access. The shower provides plenty of hot water. Hanoi is a noisy city, but the hotel does a good job of muting most of the noise form outside. Breakfast was good. It is not a lavish buffet, but provides a good start to the day with a choice of bread, eggs, meat, and jams, all freshly cooked. The location is excellent. All around the hotel are markets, exciting side roads, and lots of frenetic movement! Taxis are very cheap and freely available. Son will always call you a taxi to prevent any scams/overcharging. The people in Hanoi are great. At no time did I feel unsafe, but like anywhere I go, took the necessary precautions with money, camera etc.

It is hotels like this that encourage me to write reviews in the hope that other people will read and ultimately enjoy the same experience as we had. Hanoi has so much to offer and is a great starting point for some truly amazing places in Northern Vietnam. For about £25 a night, you really can't better this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriminologyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We spent quite a bit of time at Serenity hotel as we were in Hanoi for just over 2 weeks. We started off on the 6th floor (the hotel has no elevator...) and the room was well maintained, had an excellent view and was generally really good. We got moved down to the 3rd floor, and the window didnt shut properly and it rained and leaked into the room, there was burn marks from cigs on the remote and the computer that we had in our room was really slow! I would recommend rooms higher up because they arent as used, and so are in better condition the rooms lower down I wouldnt recommend so much. The staff however made the stay well worth it. They were always really helpful and if we had an issue they would sort it quickly. They were always ready to help us which was wonderful. The price for the hotel was very good. However the location was not so good, it was in the Old Quarter but in the industry section so you had to work further to get to what you wanted. Overall it was an average stay, but the staff made it worth it and the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonde_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The first impression one gets when entering this small Hotel is the excellent staff. The room on the 3rd floor was very comfortable and large for a solo occupant. There are 6 floors and no elevator so be prepared. The complimentary breakfast was very reasonable and the laundry service the cheapest anywhere. Son and his staff are the best I have encountered anywhere in the world. I have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel whenever I return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsAussie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casino, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had four nights here with 13yr old twins and for the price and time we spent in our room it was perfect. Sun and his family/staff put us in a connecting room with queen bed in one and twin beds in the other, along with two bathrooms and a common hall which locks the mad world of HaNoi out. Beds were good, shower hot and above all we felt safe. Only two words if warning- some rooms are quite a hike upstairs so if that's a problem request lower floors,

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#125 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#137 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Diamond Hotel
Serenity Diamond Hotel
#27 of 591 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 591 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing