We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mindblowing Service & the Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #73 of 592 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mindblowing Service & the Rest”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Here's our story. Remember this is a budget hotel ($20 double/twin incl breakfast).

We arrive (all 11 of us) at the ungodly hour of 5.45 am from the Ho Chi Minh Train. Mr Service, the Manager of the Serenity, Mr Nguyen Vu Son, gets up early and asks his staff to give us a free complimentary and excellent breakfast (as we are booked that night we are not due one till the next morning). He then asks his staff to prepare a room so we can store our luggage for free until our rooms are available. Receptionist Vu Thi Huyen is also all over us with her hospitality.

Rooms - immaculate, comfortable and the triples have a free internet computer. Location - minutes from the centre of the Old Quarter and the lake.

As we have an 80 year old with us, Mr Nguyen personally adopts her as his grandma, helps her in and out of taxis and rearranges the rooms so she is near the bottom. He then upgrades everyone to the brand new and more expensive Rising Dragon III at no extra cost for 3 nights.

Vu Son then offers to organise all tours which I initially don't accept. That is a mistake as when I do accept the tours are consistently excellent, well priced, with professional drivers and guides. This includes Halong Bay where we had a discounted private junk using Serenity's agent, Vietnam Charming Travel, organised by the charming Bui Xuan Phuong of this company [--].

I let Vu Son buy our puppet tickets, train tickets and much more (all at cost of course). This is a find on this trip, the Tripadvisor most highly rated budget hotels hook up with the best travel agents and you can rely on them for organising excellent trips at good prices. They know their reputation depends on it.

We were invited to a free buffet dinner/drinks at the original Rising Dragon. We've had free transfers, free baggage storage multiple times and used a room until we left late for Sapa and Hue at not cost and so it goes on (so much so I can not remember all the helpful/kind deeds). And grandma received a shawl as a present when we left.

I have been to many countries in my time and many hotels but the service is as good as it gets and is equivalent to a five star.

Stay here. Period.

Serenity Hotel (Vu Son's email): [--]

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colostomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Newly renovated hotel with nice interior and flat sceens + WIFI in all rooms. Very friendly staff who did everything to help us around the city and telling us where to go and what to do. When my husband got sick they even offered to cook something for him and the girls where so sweet and helpful.
The only "downside" with this place is that the staff here are a bit to pushy on selling you trips to Sapa, Halong Bay, Perfume pagoda and so on, I wish they would relax a bit on that part. When that said, we still ended up booking a wonderful trip to Halong Bay with them, the Amigo Boat. Very recommendable, and we spent two days wit a lot of nice people. We would definitly stay at Serenity hotel again, we had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights initially and they picked us up from the airport, they were there waiting for us. We went on to Ha Long bay for one night and when we came back to the hotel, they insisted on offering us an upgrade to a much larger room for the night for no extra cost. They also offered other couples we had been to Ha Long bay with who had also stayed in the hotel, a room to have a shower in and to wait in until they had to get their flights. They didn't charge them either.

The room is clean has a comfortable bed & free wifi, you can hear the traffic (you can hear the traffic everywhere though) but its duller overnight. The bathroom is small, all in one room. All these things are not a big deal if you can get a decent nights sleep though which we did.

There's a TV in the room but we haven't used it. Good Location, walking distance to everything you might want to see. If you want a taxi they will happily call one for you. There is no lift, so if you have trouble with steep winding stairs ask for a room on a lower level. The bonus of being higher is the traffic noise is less.

Staff are super friendly and very helpful, always smiling and full of information, they even got up at 4am to check us out on the morning we left! They speak english very well and they recommended quite a few things for us to do in the city.

They recommended a Ha Long Bay cruise with Amigo Cruises - it was great. It is one of the things I recommend you arrange through them if you have struggled with the troves of Ha Long Bay offers. The food was amazing on the cruise too!

Overall - The hotel was fantastic. I couldn't be more pleased with the service, breakfast in the morning (banana pancakes rock) or the location... anything. It was simply amazing.

Well worth a stay there - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Alright so for $25 usd you are not going to get the ritz but the serenity is great value for money. Here's why. The hotel is in the old town close to all the action. So you can walk almost anywhere. The rooms are fine, not fancy. Quite basic but clean and great flat screen tv and wifi. Breakfast was fine, pancakes or omelette and fresh baguette. Bu best of all was the service. I felt ill on arrival and the staff couldn't have been nicer. They bought me vegetable soup to the room (no charge), Ginger tea (again free) and they let me stay in the room til my train at 7pm. It was really appreciated. We booked our sapa and Halong bay tour through them too. Am sure we could have saved a bit but didn't want to go around lots of travel agents. Both tours great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Like most of the rest of the reviewers, I was impressed with the service here. The staff was friendly and helpful, and really made me feel at home. I stayed here four separate times, coming and going from Hanoi on various side trips, and it felt great to be welcomed back like a member of a family each time I returned. I had 3 different rooms, and they were all very comfortable and clean. Great Englsh TV selections, a fridge, fairly quiet location (for Hanoi). This is the only hotel I would stay at in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ststephen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

They really looked after us at this guesthouse. The rooms were very clean and the staff were superb. Top value for money. We arranged a trip to Halong Bay through the hotel which was also excellent.
We had complementary pc in the room with internet, free breakfast and wifi throughout the building so we could use our iphones too.
Staff offered advice on restaurants, attractions and arranged taxis with very fair rates.
I think we paid about £13 a night and it was amazing value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djus667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I stayed there with 3 friends recently and cannot recommend this place enough.
The owner Son and his staff were fantastic and constantly went out of their way to make the stay and good as possible. They booked our trip to Halong Bay and our night train to Hue, and at less than the standard price. Everything was done perfectly and left us to just enjoy the crazy city that is Hanoi. Their recommended restaurants were also top notch.

The room we were in was spacious, comfotable, clean and had it's own PC (triple room). There were also pc's in reception for free internet use. Free Wifi is available throughout the hotel.

In all, this is a budget hotel, in a great location, and it gives comfort and service well beyond what you'd expect for the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#126 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#136 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Diamond Hotel
Serenity Diamond Hotel
#27 of 592 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing