We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Halong Bay - Calypso Crusises”
Review of Amazon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amazon Hotel
Ranked #331 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My partner and I stayed for 1 night on the Santa Maria junk crusing around Halong Bay. This was the highlight of our trip. We kyacked to a cave which was spectacular.

The rooms and food were amazing!! The food was so good it was the best I had on the trip!!
The staff were so kind, helpful and fun. This company is the only one that emplyees local staff from the Halong Bay area. Noone knows the area like the locals!
This is a must do ...once in a lifetime trip I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice whilst in Hanoi, before and after trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. The room was big, clean, bright and had a great little balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ok and the laundry service was good. Location is great, in the old quarter, a short walk to the lake. There are heaps of bars, restaurants and shops right outside the hotel door. Travellers should be aware that the hotel has changed it's name (I don't know when), but it is now called the Century Hotel. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobandvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Not only because of the location was the Amazon hotel simply great . Ant the staff was amazing - no problem to do reservation, no problem to book for you tickets to Sapa or ha Long Bay. We were in 2 times, for the second time we had room without window. But after one month in Vietnam I can honestly say, that this hotel is clean and you can trust to the stuff :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VZB042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My partner and I had a lot of trouble within the first 48 hours we were in Vietnam. Between being ripped off by taxi drivers and scammed by a man trying to take us to another hotel, we found that not many people were unwilling to help us (which is part of the Vietnam experience) when we first arrived. Then we stayed at the Amazon hotel in Hanoi, and they were absolutely wonderful. The rooms were tidy, clean and simply furnished, we didn't need anything too flashy, and the staff were friendly and always willing to help. They took us out for a local meal, suggested other great local restaurants, things to do and gave us advice that we could trust. In regards to location, the hotel is in a busy area and you should be prepared for the city noises at night. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake and Ngoc Son temple, with some great little restaurants and boutique shops just around the corner. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenextgemfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Having already stayed for 4 nights at a mini hotel in Ho Chi Minh City (and been rather disappointed), the Amazon was a wonderful surprise. Set in the Old quarter the hotel was stylish, luxurious and a real haven from the rush and bustle of the city. Having been booked into the Deluxe we were upgraded to a suite in which, having read earlier reviews, we were initially concerned about but turned out to be perfect. The room was immaculate and extremely comfortable whilst being full of character.

Having checked in mid-afternoon we went to the bar to order a late lunch and were met with “chocolate heaven”, the most extraordinary selection of everything chocolate. Whilst I’m not normally that into chocolate, I couldn’t resist and it was amazing.

Their restaurant was also a real feature of the hotel, particularly in the evening, when the whole area is lit with fairy lights.

The staff at the hotel were fantastic; great service and all done with a lovely smile. We really enjoyed out time in Hanoi in generally and in Amazon Hotel specially.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0p_Eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

US$25 including a great breakfast. Staff very nice. No window, quite big room but we had Wood bora in the picture hanging above our bed which kept us awake.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed in Amazon Hotel for 2 nights . The service has been incredibly nice, helpful and welcoming. We arrived very early in the morning and had the opportunity to leave our bags in a storeroom and to benefit from a early check in. Both day and night team have been really keen in providing us tips on the best things to see in Hanoi, where to eat Vietnamese special foods and also practical tips (how to reach the train station, which taxi compagny shall we use, etc)
We have incredible memories from the friendliness of the staff and would recommend to anybody that want to feel almost home to stay in Amazon Hotel. The rooms are really confortable (we tried both superior and de luxe), you have broadband wireless internet connection in the room and tea & coffee every day.
Definitely when we come back to Hanoi, we will stay there again .
Thanks a lot to Amazon Hotel team and warmest greetings from Singapore!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunKun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Hotel

Address: 23 Bat Dan Street | Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £22 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early opening in 2009, Amazon hotel is offering 30 well furnished rooms including suites and deluxe. All rooms are well designed with both modern and boutique architecture. Furthermore our friendly, professional and enthusiastic staff will make you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amazon Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing